We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of a large group.
Room was lovely, very warm but that wasn't the hotels fault and we were provided with a fan.
Room was very clean and had everything we needed.
All staff we encountered were polite, friendly and efficient.
Dinner was served in the library and was served appropriately and I thought the food was excellent. Again at breakfast both food and staff were great.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again although Totnes is not my kind of place, very hippy-ish and LOTS of smokers!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MossyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our rooms, all of them are individually designed and we have now had air-con fitted in several rooms to make the stay even more enjoyable next time you visit!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having read the reviews on this site I readily booked a 3 day stay at this hotel, what a disappointment. On arrival we were met with a less than friendly receptionist shortly followed by a climb with our luggage up some steep and uneven stairs to a second floor room and this followed by two first floor rooms in the middle of a building programme! that is installation of air conditioning (still charged full price for the rooms though despite a query about this).This hotel is definitely NOT for the infirm there is no lift.
The rooms are basic and very noisy despite secondary glazing. The food was priced for a better fare and did not live up to expectation. White wine was served hot and the portions whilst overly sized would have benefitted from being smaller with more quality.If position is what you require and not comfort this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are positioned on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit.
We are a town centre hotel with rooms on 3 sides of our historic building, with all having been individually designed and all are varying sizes due to the original building.
Please accept our apologies that you did not receive our normal warm welcome and we will look into this as we offer luggage taken to all rooms.
We offer locally sourced, seasonal menus and take great pride in all of our dishes, so please be assured that we do concentrate on quality and consistency. All 3 of our bars have wine fridges offering over 20 wines by the glass, so please accept our apologies if your wine was not chilled enough, we will always offer a replacement if it is not correct.
We hope you will visit again and assure you of our continued commitment to quality and service. Your comments will be used in our staff training sessions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Staying a week in totnes and this place is in the middle of it all really good wine and beer we had a cheese bored witch was very nice with a glass of wine was a bit over priced but then again you get what you pay for inside it is beautiful you can really see the detail that has been made to make this place we will be back thank you

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jackman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We only stayed for one night, we justwanted to get away from our stressful jobs. We only live in Paignton so did not have far to travel. We stayed in a superior room, and it was lovely, relaxing and clean. All of the staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. We are planning another night there at the end of the summer season, and I am looking forward to it!

Room Tip: We stayed in 20. There was a large bathroom with a bath and a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rykerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second stay at this town centre hotel in Totnes. There is so much to like about this hotel which has a comfortable,homely feel,great location and offers great service throughout provided by a friendly helpful staff. Breakfasts are well presented with great choice and the Sunday Carvery deal is well worth taking up.
We stayed in a premier room which was spacious with comfortable king size bed but as it overlooked the front of the hotel we did suffer from late night noise from the local drinkers using the seating/tables on the pavement below. Our stay coincided with a particularly warm spell of weather so the the noise problem was probably at its worse.
Totnes is a lovely interesting town which is well placed for visits to Torquay, Paignton and Brixham while the Dart river trips down to Dartmouth are superb.
After a day exploring its good to know that you can return to the hotel for a good meal and a drink to end the day.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel probably quieter in summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ideal for a stay in Totnes. Right by the River Dart and the shops. Also good centre to get around by train, bus or boat, all nearby.

Small car park, but you can double park and leave the key with the reception.

Well maintained and in a style suited to the age of the building (built in 1660). Lots of interesting pictures and ornaments around the hotel. And the hallway is wonderful (see photos).

Large well run buzzing bar frequented by locals and visitors. Spoke to a couple with a beautiful Bichon who pointed to a painting on the wall of their pooch!

Compact, but comfortable and pleasantly furnished room, with small but good shower room etc. Everything looked clean.

We ate in the main restaurant as couldn't find anywhere else that appealed in town (especially as I'm vegetarian). Husband happy with meal. My vegetarian was a lentil burger I seem to remember, served with a potato mash and tomato coulis - good try, but bland and uninspiring - needed some seasoning and a green vegetable to create more interest on the plate. But staff all delightful and helpful.

All in all pleased we stayed in he hotel. A little different from other hotels. And expect Americans, and other nationalities wanting a English experience would love it (as long as they are aware this is more an inn rather than luxury hotel!)



Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just had a lovely weekend staying at the Seven Stars.. We booked the Brasserie for a group of 20 and stayed overnight. The service and food were both excellent. The hotel itself was spotless and well maintained and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. A lovely hotel with a friendly laid back feel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
7.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
6.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
14.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Seven Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range: £95 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Seven Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal 7 Stars Hotel
Royal Seven Stars Totnes
Royal Seven Stars Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing