We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT ALL ROUND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for DBB. Lovely room, very clean, well decorated with a spacious bathroom. The 3 course carvery dinner was just right and the breakfast Fayre terrific with excellent service. Have stayed at the sister hotel in Dartmouth and this matches it. Lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Had an evening meal in the bar recently. Whole bar and eating areas were busy, but fast friendly service. Will be visiting again when in Totnes. The TQ2 Bistro is also a very pleasant meeting place with friendly staff and seats outside when weather allows. An asset to Totnes

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great beer, great food and a wonderful atmosphere. I have never been there at Christmas but I imagine it would be great too. Never had a bad meal here during all of my many Summer visits so give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RodButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Royal Seven Stars is a beautiful old Inn at the "gateway" to Totnes Town. It is a warm and atmospheric establishment, where we often stop for a drink, and occasionally to eat.

We visited yesterday, with friends, to celebrate my wife's birthday, and as always it was really pleasant experience.

The food choices were Burger, Chicken Burger, Curries, and Caesar Salad - all of which was absolutely superb (unanimous conclusion, I didn't eat them all!)

The service is exceptional, equalled by the quality and presentation of the food. Oh, good ales as well!

Whilst the prices are reasonable, if you consider the outstanding quality (and quantity) of the food, I would rate as excellent value.

I would thoroughly recommend, you won't be disappointed. If the weather's nice, sitting outside is very pleasurable. However, at times, you'll be very lucky to bag a table outside - it's very popular!

Oddly, although I think of the Seven Stars as an Inn/Restaurant just as much as a Hotel, there doesn't seem to be a Trip Advisor Restaurant category for the place, only Hotel - hence reviewing under "Hotel"

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GarrySH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and our food and drink! We offer a range of menus in the bars and in TQ9 Brasserie and source our ingredients carefully to create great modern British dishes and always try to showcase Devon produce at its best! The Autumn menus will start on September 24th!
We are passionate about great food, drink and service and pleased you like our ale selection, all again chosen for their quality and range, look out for 2 superb Christmas ales coming up soon!
Thank you again for taking the time to add a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I seriously dont know where to start. Thr royal seven stars is hard to beat when it comes to celebrating your wedding!
Helen the co-ordinstor was superb right from the word go! The ballroom was stunning and a huge pretty blank canvas to create your dream day!
Oh my lord, the food, was to die for. Thr presentation was top class, food hot and mouth watering and the service was 5 star! the barman never let a guest have an empty glass either and they were all so attentive and friendly.
The master or ceremonies, Robin was also top class. His whole persona was amazing. He made everyone who was doing the speeches so at ease and gave them the heads up when they had 5 min before the big speeches!!
we had a hog roast for the evening buffet and it went down a treat, such a stunning meat and sides to accompany it. The rooms were all individually decorated and the character shone through! The honeymoon suite was superb, the bed lovely and comfortable and the room was spotlesly clean (apart from the best men decorating it with confetti and rose petals) :)
The breakfast the next morning was delicious. All cooked to order and in a timely fashion!
Over all i cannot thank the Seven stars enough for everything that they have done and provided for us. I wouldnt go anywhere else now for future celebrations as they cannot be beat!

Room Tip: All rooms lovely. Agatha Christie room is the honeymoon room. Bath with jaccuzi and 4 poster bed. Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are so pleased that your day was made so special by the team here, we always aim to make every event memorable from booking through to the day and its so great to hear your comments which we will pass on to all of the staff! We have a dedicated team to look after weddings & events with Helen and Robin so its lovely to hear that they made your wedding day so stress free and so good to hear that our bar team looked after you so well.
We are really proud of our food whether for 2 people or for weddings we take as much care and time and source the ingredients carefully so we are so pleased that you all enjoyed the menu and our Hog Roast which is proving very popular with weddings this year, you cant beat the crackling!
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon, and of course for your anniversary next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It's a case of good service - pleasant, knowledgable but not overbearing staff - spankingly fresh and mainly locally sourced ingredients (Brixham fish, wine from the local vineyard), cooking that showcases the wonderful natural flavours without so mothering them and attractive presentation. We ate: for starters, goats cheese and walnut salad and crab and beetroot tian. For mains, mushroom risotto and grilled hake. For afters, no puds this time, but espresso and two glasses of amazing Devonshire Apple Brandy (an orchard in a glass). An historic inn that has expanded since we last visited to encompass a champagne bar as well! The Seven Stars does bar food too. Well recommended, but I suspect you would be well advised to book on weekends.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MiriamWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We are so pleased that you had such a good time in TQ9 Champagne Bar & Brasserie! It is a modern dining room which offers the best Devon produce and with a passionate team in looking after guests whether for a cocktail or a meal. The Devon Cider Brandy is wonderful, and such a great way to end the meal!
Thank you for taking the time to add a review, we will be starting the Autumn TQ9 menu from 24th September with some great local Game and Brixham fish along with some exciting new flavours, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Totnes is always beautiful but in the rain it had lost some of its charm. We sheltered in the hotel bar and ordered a Mediterranean Platter for two. It was magic, in fact so magic that when we left the sun was shining. The staff were very obliging, even though we couldn't make up our minds where to sit. Although we were being a pain, we were still made to feel welcome. All in all an excellent experience

Room Tip: I only went to the restaurant but Trip Advisor only have this establishment listed as a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsevenstars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that we could even make a rainy day special for you! We are very proud of our food and service so its great to hear back from you that we got it right on the day.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
7.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
6.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
6.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Seven Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range: £94 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Seven Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal 7 Stars Hotel
Royal Seven Stars Totnes
Royal Seven Stars Hotel Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing