We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MG's will travel”
Review of The Watermans Arms

The Watermans Arms
Ranked #28 of 96 Restaurants in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A quintessential 17th Century Inn, located in an area of outstanding natural beauty, at the bottom of a steep valley next to Bow Creek and bridge. Hidden away at the bottom of a steep valley, the Riverside tables are perfect for savoring a pint of the fine Palmer's Copper Ale. Our Lunch, Evening and Sunday lunch menus are sourced from local suppliers and can be enjoy out by the river, or in our bar and restaurant. All our Dishes are made fresh to order so you can get the full taste from every bite. The Inn attract foodies from as far away as Exeter and Plymouth. We have two separate dining rooms, on three different levels, seating no more than 35 people in each, they have been recently updated and are now bright, airy and as modern as a 17th century inn can be! Lunch is served from 12.30 Till 2.30 Everyday. During June, July & August we serve evening meals from 6.30Pm till 9.00Pm
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MG's will travel”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

An excellent lunch in an idylic spot by the river.
Friendly service and good value for money.
Made very welcome

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    60
    21
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great setting and cheerful service”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A sunny Sunday lunch time, sitting beside a babbling stream, a good pint of beer, friendly service... what could be better? Well, the food actually. The menu promised much but the delivery was distinctly ordinary. My wife had 2 starters instead of a main... Whitebait and a feta & beetroot sald. The fish was OK... just OK and the salad unexceptional.

I went for the 'triple roast' to the congratulations of the barman... he's obviously easily impressed. There wasn't a great deal of meat... 3 slices of 3 different meats, as promised, but miserly skinny slices far from what I had in mind when reading the fulsome description of its local provenance. The vegetables were OK but no more than that... OK isn't good enough. The 2 small roast potatoes and couple of bits of parsnip had seen better days... soft and just a touch too greasy. The best bit was the ludicrously large Yorkie and the gravy. But, I'm afraid at £14 for a Sunday roast in a pub I expected a little more.

So... it could be a great place for a summer Sunday lunch , but only if they sort out the food

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eyecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glad we booked”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Location fantastic, staff really helpful, owner great host, food well priced for quality and portion size

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place especially on a summers day”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Have visited this several times in two summers and every time the food is fantastic, the service excellent and the weather also beautiful.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank beenthereOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great pub food”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Have eaten here many times and I cannot fault the food great choice and huge portions if you are dining with children ask for an extra plate something they are happy to do and the portions will be enough for you to share with your child. Great menu of classic pub grub exactly what I wanted thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schmoopieelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watermans Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Watermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing