We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, average prices.”
Review of The Watermans Arms

The Watermans Arms
Ranked #21 of 95 Restaurants in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A quintessential 17th Century Inn, located in an area of outstanding natural beauty, at the bottom of a steep valley next to Bow Creek and bridge. Hidden away at the bottom of a steep valley, the Riverside tables are perfect for savoring a pint of the fine Palmer's Copper Ale. Our Lunch, Evening and Sunday lunch menus are sourced from local suppliers and can be enjoy out by the river, or in our bar and restaurant. All our Dishes are made fresh to order so you can get the full taste from every bite. The Inn attract foodies from as far away as Exeter and Plymouth. We have two separate dining rooms, on three different levels, seating no more than 35 people in each, they have been recently updated and are now bright, airy and as modern as a 17th century inn can be! Lunch is served from 12.30 Till 2.30 Everyday. During June, July & August we serve evening meals from 6.30Pm till 9.00Pm
devon england
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Average food, average prices.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely view, hoped to feed the ducks, but customers dogs took over the river. Gave our order in just before 12.00 as we wished to have an early lunch, they explained that lunches were not served until after 12.30.

Sat patiently until customers who ordered after us, were being served first. I mentioned this fact to the waitress, she explained that the bundle of orders are handed into the kitchen at serving time, no point to ordering early !!

When the food arrived my husbands prawn ciabatta and my bacon & chicken ciabatta were replace by baguettes, good start. The coleslaw absolutely reeked of stored onion and when tasted, very strong, not to be recommended.

For a pub with a view, it is a pity that the service and the correct order is not taken, had the owner been there, when our food arrived we would have commented our disappointment to him.
We have eaten the same choice at local pubs in the area, better sized prawns and general presentation, at less money.

This visit only confirms other comments from friends who live in the vicinity, it may be alright for passing trade but it could be much better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    58
    21
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Probably the best pub lunch I have ever had!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I called at this lovely old pub just for a bit of peace and quiet and discovered what was certainly one of the best soups I have ever eaten (mushroom) and a tremendous steak and ale pie. We have all probably had similar type of food at one time or another, but today was quite exceptional. The service was a joy, attentive but not 'pushy'. All of the staff that I spoke to were lovely, polite and looking as if I was the one customer they most wanted to see! Prices were completely fair and normal for the area, and just a smashing, if brief, experience for me. I think this pub truly deserves to thrive. Good luck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_WatermansArms87, General Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the soup of the day and our homemade pie! Both made in house with the finest locally sourced produce around!

Thank you for your comments on our helpful staff! We pride ourselves on our friendly but efficient service, making sure everyone feels comfortable and has the best possible time when here at the Waterman's!

Again thank you for all your kind words and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service In A Pretty Location”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We visited here last night (a Saturday) as a group of 6 for a birthday meal.

The staff were all really friendly and attentive.

We all agreed the food was excellent, we had tuna steak, crab salad, homemade beef burger, fish & chips and the pie of the day.

My tuna steak was cooked perfectly! !

The new potatoes were really delicious....I don't know what they did to them but two of us said we hadn't had potatoes like them before. They almost tasted abit coconuty.....

We all had a lovely time and would definatly recommend this pub for it's great food and staff!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie52589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_WatermansArms87, Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed dining with us as part of a birthday celebration!
We pride ourselves on our efficient and friendly service, making sure everyone has the best time here!

it's great to hear that you all enjoyed your food! As for our new potatoes, I am afraid we can't give away our secret recipe but we are happy that you enjoyed them!

We hope to see you all again soon! And thank you again for writing such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, but that's about it”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Had eaten here years ago when they were rightly famous for their food. With such a lovely location and sunny evening surely we would give a high rating for our visit but the the food was not good. Partner's steak was exceptionally tough, even though the inside was almost uncooked. The outside very well done led us to surmise it was cooked from frozen. The chips were obviously frozen coated affairs. Whitebait also far too 'coated', and my burger thick, dry and tough despite being told 'excellent choice'. There is too much competition around for this poor quality of food to continue. It would only take a few tweaks to get it right and you would have an absolute gold mine. Also very confused that some guests were turned away from ordering food at 7.30 when most tables inside and out were empty and stayed so until at least 8.45 when we left. You can't rely on the river location alone. We are not visitors but locals and will have to hear what the grapevine says before returning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank concertjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant dining experience with us.
But if you can bring yourself to try us again, and make yourself know, there will be a free meal for yourself and your partner waiting for you.

Due to the amount of tables having been booked in advanced at various times during the night, who naturally expect to be fed at the time that they have booked. This limits us to the amount of walk-ins that we can take at any time.

So it is always advised to book in advance.

We hope to hear from you

Kind regards
The Waterman's Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south devon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dont know what to make of it”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We visited this pub a few weeks ago to be told that they were not serving food until 7pm, visted a few weeks later to discover that they were serving food earlier than 7pm. Upon discussion with the man behind the bar we were told that they would be serving food early during the holidays, But what weeks and months do they class as holidays? It would be helpful if they could put up their serving times somewhere outside so that we know what is going on. On a plus note the foold that we had was very good and we thought a very good price.
Visited again on the 18th June. Arrived at just before 6.30pm, bought two drinks and then asked for the menu. Told that the pub was fully booked and that they could not cope with any more people than they already had, even though almost all of the tables both inside and out were empty. If we had know this before we had bought the drinks then we would not have bothered. Another sign would be useful before entering the pub to say that all tables that night were fully booked. We drove past the pub an hour later and saw that most of the tables outside were still empty, we really could not understand what was going on. Since we have to drive quite a distance to get to this pub it really does seem hard work to actually get the right time or the right night, So we have decided to give up, which is a pity really because the food does look good and the river side spot is lovely when the weather is nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kittycat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at The Watermans Arms, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We do apologise for the confusion of when we start serving food in the evenings.
During June, July and August food will be served from 6.30pm in the evenings, with last orders being at 9pm.
During the other Months service starts from 7pm with last orders at 9pm.

Sorry to hear that you were unable to dine with us on the 18th June. Being one of our busiest evening with the live music on, we were fully booked within the restaurant and could not take any more orders at that time.
We would advise to ring ahead and book a table and avoid any disappointment.

Thank you for your suggestion about having a sign out to tell people of our serving times. We shall be putting up more signs stating what times we serve food and at times.

We hope you will give us another chance at giving you an enjoyable evening!

To book call 01803 732 214
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watermans Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Watermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing