We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the fleas ”
Review of Bay Horse Inn

Bay Horse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Totnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #14 of 27 Totnes B&B and Inns
Hastings
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shame about the fleas ”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Visited this pub after hearing great reviews but were disappointed.
Not a very good atmosphere. Felt out of place as we were not local.
Great live music but a shame about the fleas biting and crawling up our legs.
Staff were friendly enough. Dog friendly just watch out for the cat!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Poncupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob A, Manager at Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
We strive to make this pub comfortable for both visitors and locals, singles, couples and groups, and we pride ourselves on being inclusive. We cannot imagine what made the atmosphere bad but would need to know more detail on that score. As for fleas, I am afraid you are mistaken. We have never, ever had a flea infestation in the pub and we have regular certificates from our pest control provider to prove that there has been no problem with this or any other pest in all the time we have run the pub. I am certain that our many dog-owning customers would very quickly notify us if we had. Could it be that you were being bitten by midges or mosquitoes? They are becoming increasingly common with a warmer, humid climate and we do have a large beer garden and open doors in the Summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamps
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The rooms are currently being refurbished but Kathy kindly let us stay in the coach house which was a lovely size and has a fab bathroom . Breakfast was lovely and the local cat FB is happy to keep you company while you tuck into freshly cooked goodies plus yogurts cereals and fruit. It’s a very lively and friendly pub with live music on many evenings , best to bear this in mind if you are seeking an early night much better to join in with the fun below . No need to get up at the crack of dawn to pay for the car park as Kathy will happily top up for you if you leave your money and car keys . Tea and coffee facilities in the room including a cafeteria and some extra luxuries such as fluffy white robes , large comfy bed and masses of interesting reading material will make you feel spoilt and relaxed

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firefly2280
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. We had a warm welcome and room and the staff were all so friendly. the room was quiet despite being above a pub and the breakfast was delicious! would highly recommend. Will stay here again when we next come back to Totnes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firefly2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with friends and would recommend in the summer. Warm welcome but I have never had such a cold room! Had to pinch the old mans shirt to sleep in and kept my socks on brrrrr. We also picked a beer festival so the place was very busy and no food was being served as a barbecue was being done in the garden, which looked great but wanted a proper dinner so popped down the road to another pub for food. Breakfast on the other hand was lush, loved the hot fruit option and lovely well done bacon and perfect poached egg. Perfect location at the top of the town with car park opposite, this was chargeable with a pay and display which is from 8am so had to get up and run over to the car first thing Sunday morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lez24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were steered to this pub by the BITE website and weren't disappointed. 5 ciders on tap! Good choice of ales, and well-prepared food for our lunch. It's an easy walk from any of the parking areas, and is in fine upkeep, and pleasant atmosphere. Close to Totnes Castle and High St. shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,146 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

i was visiting totnes for the first time, got off the bus and walked around the town untill i got to the end of the main st, citern st, then i saw this lovely old inn the bay horse inn so i stopped and went in for a drink it was sunday they were getting the roasts ready.it was only 12oc midday so just had some beers and sat in there lovely garden,they were setting up tables for outside dinning, the staff were friendly and the beer very good ,the next time i am in totnes in 6 weeks time i am going to eat there,well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob A, Owner at Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello and thank you for the lovely review,

Just to clarify, I believe you must have visited on the August public holiday weekend when we always run a beer festival and an outdoor BBQ. Due to the small size of our kitchen and the limitations of the pub interior, we don't do Sunday Roasts. In 2014 we are hoping to run BBQs every Friday and Saturday evening but otherwise from 1st April we are operating a simple lunch service Tuesday to Saturday, 12 to 3.45.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinan, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed in the Coach House room for one night, single-occupancy. It's a beautiful room, spotlessly clean, with a comfy bed. I did have a beer but didn't have an evening meal as I was in Totnes to visit friends. The breakfast was outstanding, very generous, and well presented and perfectly cooked. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this pub whether your passing and feeling thirsty or need to stay, thank you Kathy and Rob.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.4 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
4.9 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#8 of 27 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 27 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Horse Inn

Property: Bay Horse Inn
Address: 8 Cistern Street, Totnes TQ9 5SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Totnes
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the top end of the historic market town of Totnes, the Bay Horse is a traditional yet cosy establishment offering beautifully conditioned ales, excellent cider, lager and wine, as well as a good quality, locally-sourced lunch menu (served Noon-3:45PM). With a stone floor, fireplace and low beamed ceiling, the main bar brims with character. The adjoining piano lounge is a comfy welcoming area, leading through to a cosy snug bar with leather sofas perfect for enjoying the ample supply of games and books. The real hidden gem is the huge outdoor space were a paved patio leads through to a lovely walled garden.Hosts Rob & Kathy maintain a relaxed, happy atmosphere ensuring a welcoming pub for all, including being both family & dog friendly. In keeping with Totnes’ artistic sensibilities, the pub transforms into the ‘After Eight’ Jazz Club every Sunday evening and other regular music sessions on Monday Night (folk), Wednesday Night (traditional Singing) and Thursday (Eli's Open Session). Another highlight is the pub’s annual beer festivals, with a full Ale & Cider event held in conjunction with the Totnes Festival (August Bank Holiday weekend) and a mini-fest every Easter.The inn offers fine B&B accommodation with two double en-suite rooms, the pick being the spacious coach house suite with its garden outlook and luxurious bathroom. It is an excellent base for exploring the area and Kathy (a qualified tour guide running heritage walks of the town each Thursday morning) can offer plenty of handy information and is available for private bookings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Horse Inn Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing