We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B! Best breakfast and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Forge at Totnes
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B! Best breakfast and perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Me and my partner stayed here late last year when we were visiting some family in Totnes and it was absolutely lovely. We had a king size double en-suite and it was absolutely spotless, the room was very comfortable and the bed was also very comfy! A very important part of the B&B experience. We stayed for two nights and on both mornings we were greeted by a very friendly host. We were served a delicious breakfast, probably one of the best breakfasts i have had at a B&B. The hotel is in the perfect location as it is just tucked behind the road so really quiet but a very convenient walk from the town and the station. The hotel has a very lovely garden situated at the back. The hotel is lovely, its spotless and cosy. The hotel also has its own car park which is VERY important in Totnes and completely meant we didn't have to worry about our car the whole stay. We will definitely be staying here again when we are visiting family again and we would definitely recommend this lovely B&B to anyone who is visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahcary4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    34
    24
    19
    7
See reviews for
21
71
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with character!
Have just spent a very pleasant
Four nights here,with my sister.
Lovely warm,cosy room with
Every comfort.Breakfast very good
And plenty of choice.So nice to
Have quiet,unintrusive owners,but
On hand if you need anything.
Love the old doggie! Would certainly come back,maybe in
Spring.Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nong Khai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked a 2 night stay and was most pleased. Room a little small but quite adequate, and well appointed. Conveniently close to the town and excursion pickup point. Very good breakfast options, excellent WiFi. Charming property would revisit if back in Totnes.

Room Tip: If you prefer a twin room. #7 overlooking the garden is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakaidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife an I spent 3 nights here and had an enjoyable time. The property is very convenient for the town with parking which can be a real problem in Totnes. We were able to leave the car at night and walk to restaurants - a real bonus. The accommodation has to be judged in the context of what it is - converted old buildings maximising the possible space for accommodation.; so our room was smallish but very comfortable with an en suite which provided limited privacy. I must say the shower was one of the best we have had - hot & powerful, & the toiletries are excellent. The room & en suite were kept spotlessly clean & a nice touch was the provision of bottled water as well as the usual tea/coffee making facility. One negative for us was the noise at night that could clearly be heard from the room above. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and all hot requests were cooked fresh. The breakfast kept us going all day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely food, nice area and easy to access town. Interior looking a little tired now and in need of an update. Not sure about the spa bath behind a screen in dining room? Had a small but compact room and it was lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familyswim, Owner at The Old Forge at Totnes, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Since we bought the Old Forge, seven years ago, we have had an ongoing renovation programme and all our rooms have had new carpets, furniture, bathrooms and soft furnishings are replaced regularly. The property is 600 years old.
To put other guests minds at rest, the hot tub is in the conservatory, not the dining room. It is screened off by a trellis and plants. We use the conservatory for breakfasts in the summer months and the majority of our guests enjoy eating in there. It overlooks our pretty garden and is very pleasant.
Once again, the hot tub is not in the dining room!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night last weekend, great place to stay- after booking I looked here and was dubious and did take ear plugs that I did use (I slept absolutely fine!).
The rooms are small as others have said but very well appointed and perfectly liveable.
The Old Forge was beautifully clean and had thought of everything - they even provide cotton wool and cotton buds which I'd never seen provided anywhere else.
The breakfast selection was the widest variety I've ever seen on offer - very yummy too :-)
Thanks very much for a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Laydee_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We came down to Totnes recently for a family wedding. The hotel was very busy but this just added to the lovely atmosphere.
I must admit, i was dubious about staying here because I had read the recent reviews but I had nothing to worry about. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly.
Our room was quite small but had a king size bed and was spotlessly clean. The toiletries were of a high standard usually found in a quality hotel, lovely. There was a lot of coming and going but that was because the hotel was busy, the good weather and people coming back from parties. It didn't worry us at all.
Breakfast was excellent, we had to order our food which took around 10mins but that gave us time to have toast and cereal.
All in all we had a very comfortable stay, would come again if we ever came to Totnes again.

Room Tip: Go for a king size room at the back as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary19612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.2 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
4.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#7 of 26 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge at Totnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge at Totnes

Property: The Old Forge at Totnes
Address: Seymour Place, Totnes TQ9 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Forge at Totnes 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Forge at Totnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge At Totnes Hotel Totnes
The Old Forge Totnes
The Old Forge At Totnes Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing