We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Great Court Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Totnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Court Farm
Ranked #11 of 27 Totnes B&B and Inns
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This B&B is well worth staying at. There are so many little extras that make it a pleasure to stay there, such as the welcome tea and cake on arrival, and the hot chocolate sachet in the tea/coffee tray, with fresh milk available if requested. The hostess (Janet) was willing to prepare a vegetarian evening meal for us on the first evening, which was a great help just after we'd arrived, having travelled for many hours. There are plenty of extras, such as shower cap, tissues, hairdryer etc and both room and bathroom are very large. Although the bathroom is not en-suite, it had a large bath and very nice shower, with very nice bath gel, shampoo and skin lotion bottles, and we were provided with a dressing gown in case we'd not packed one. Breakfasts were excellent, including home made jams and marmalade. The location is perfect, one mile from Totnes centre, yet in a countryside setting, and very handy for NT places such as Greenway and Coleton Fishacre, both well worth a visit. All in all, first rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briandobbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for writing a review and the lovely comments. It was a pleasure to provide the special evening meal you required so you could relax and enjoy your holiday. I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our first week for this year, we are returning in July and September. Splendid welcome from Janet with tea and cake. A few new touches to our lovely room; A beautifully cooked Breakfast fortified us for the day. Had a great week with a Jubilee Pass on the Dart Pleasure Craft. If you like sailing and trains with an open top bus thrown in, this is for you, no need to use the car and a great deal of money saved, Bargain!.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for another review and glad you enjoyed the improvements to your room. Looking forward to seeing you both again in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed at Great Court Farm over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend. My wife and I were immediately made welcome by Janet and offered tea and biscuits as a nice welcoming gesture.

There were excellent facilities in the large, spacious and airy room. Complimentary Dressing Gown; Hair Dryer; Tea & Coffee Facilities; Flat Screen TV and so much more.

The choice of breakfast was very good and varied and the portions and quality, fantastic.

We had stayed in a top London Hotel the week before and in all honesty the standard at Great Court Farm was equal, if not better and much more down to earth!

The location is ideal, because the farm is set in tranquil countryside, yet only a 5 minute drive from Totnes Town Centre. And it has such a relaxing atmosphere.

Anyone looking for a relaxed, comfortable and peaceful stay in the South Devon area, should look no further than Great Court Farm.

We will go back there many more times in the future.

Rod & Lori, Berks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex uk
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed on this farm for bed and breakfast - the room was very clean and comfortable The views I had over Totnes and the fields were great.
The food was very well presented and cooked to perfection, with plenty of it.
I was welcomed at the start - and felt very comfortable all through the stay. I would go there again, and would recommend this place, to all.

Room Tip: I had the room overlooking the fields at the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I am glad you had a nice relaxing break. It was a delight to have you to stay, and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

From the 1st time we stayed until our most recent stay in September this year the consistency, quality and personal attention has always been excellent. Why else would we keep going back to stay with Mrs Hooper.The facilities have always been as advised and we have always had genuine personal welcome and felt able to come and go as and when we wished. We have stayed in farmhouse B & B's in Britain over many visits and when visiting Devon, Great Court Farm has and will always be our stay of preference. Great Court Farm is quite obviously a working farm and that should and does, in our opinion, enhance it's desirability.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are much appreciated.
I always enjoy your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just spent a very enjoyable week at Great Court Farm. We have stayed many times and always find the friendly personal attention from Janet most acceptable, but not intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble. The private bathrooms are very close to the respective bedrooms and therefore do not present a problem. The breakfasts are second to none, with something for everyone. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I certainly enjoy looking after you. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just spent our 2nd visit this year at Greatcourt Farm B and B, The experience was a delight from begiinning to end. . Breakfast menu was extremely varied and perfect in every way, served up by Janet who is the perfect cook and hostess. Accomodation at Great Court Farm is brilliant with large bedroom with all facilities and adjoining large bathroom together with a walk in shower for those who prefer showers. The whole experiece felt like home from home, We were able to walk to Totnes and go on a boat trip to Dartmouth for the day and return via Steamtrain back to Paignton and then bus back to Totnes. Unfortnately for us the week at Great Court Farm went far too quickly. Nevermind we shall be back without fail next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review which is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to look after you and I look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Totnes hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
1.7 mi away
Pig & Whistle
Pig & Whistle
#1 of 1 in Littlehempston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dartington
860 reviews
0.7 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#8 of 27 in Totnes
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Court Farm

Property: Great Court Farm
Address: Weston Lane, Totnes TQ9 6LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Court Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Great Court Farm Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing