We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Great" place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Great Grubb Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 27 Totnes B&B and Inns
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A "Great" place to stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Found this on Trip Advisor, and can only agree with what everybody else is saying about the Great Grubb!

Friendly service, comfy room, great breakfasts. What more would anyone want more from a B&B?

Yes, the room's are slightly on the small size, but it's not if you are going to spend all day cooped up in the room, and if the weather turns funny, there's allways the communal room, with tv, dvd's, games and books to keep you occupied

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    25
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
51
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I looked for a b&b in Devon as we wanted to visit Agatha Christie's house. What I found was a b&b with an unusual name, which matched it's title, all the food was locally sourced and tasted fantastic. Shirley and Darrell were excellent hosts.
We had a flexible itinerary which allowed us to go where we wished including Agatha Christie's house. We opted to go by boat which took us on the river Dart, Lovely views of the beautiful Devon countryside. We dined in Totnes the best meal we had was at the Waterside Bistro, The Plains, Totnes. For taxi transport we used Alpha Cars who provided good inexpensive transport. I'd go there again.

Room Tip: Lovely double rooms quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A short stroll from the main part of town, the Great Grubb provided a quiet retreat. The bed was enormous and comfortable (room 3) the shower wonderfully hot and the breakfast large (and vegetarians no problem). Nothing was any trouble, and the welcome was warm (unlike the weather unfortunately). I can thoroughly recommend the Great Grubb. It was handy for the station and while it was on what looked like a main road, it was very quiet (and we were at the front). In nice weather, it would have been lovely to sit out in the back garden and enjoy the calm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marley74London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowden, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Planning a visit to my oldest friend who lives in a village 3 miles away, I asked her to recommend some accommodation in the area. Travelling to the West Country frequently with two children at school in Somerset we are used to staying in the usual Premier Inn type establishment. After being told by my friend that whilst there were no such chains in this area, she recommended The Great Grubb as a first point of contact as it had a good reputation. It is easy to see why.

We're in the throws of a freezing cold March and having frozen on the sidelines of a school netball court that afternoon in Somerset, it was lovely to walk into the very warm, clean and welcoming atmosphere of The Great Grubb some 90 minutes later. We booked 4 double rooms and all were of a very high standard. It didn't matter that some rooms were larger than others, they were all very homely and a far cry from the clincal atmosphere that may suit some in the larger chains. The rooms were very clean, very cosy and all with ensuite facilities and I was delighted to find they came equipped not only with a TV but also a hairdryer as i'd left mine at home. The bathrooms are excellently equipped with towelling and also a generous supply of toiletries which I did not expect. They have some other lovely touches including tea and coffee facilities plus hot chocolate and mints all drunk out of pretty cups which was perfect to warm up to in a hot bath after a freezing cold wet day out on the road, not to mention the filtered water and the vacuum flask that you are invited to take out on journeys during your stay. Breakfast was a very generous full English and served in a very cosy dining area. We were only staying one night but I couldn't help noticing other touches like books available to read and DVDs available to watch - just like staying in somebody's home. There is a sign in the dining room that says 'Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend' and I think that the owners go a long way to try and make their guests feel this way. We had a great nights sleep, a great breakfast and are fit for a day in Devon - albeit cold and raining :) There is no doubt about it we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Our initial disappointment at the rather cramped room was offset by the comfortable bed, well equipped bathroom and overall cleanliness. Breakfast was as good as we have had anywhere including 4* hotels. Not cheap given location and room size. overall well done the Grubbs!

Room Tip: Probably not ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred261051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just returned from a short break in Totnes and can highly recommend the Great Grubb .
nice room with a very comfy bed . the breakfast was very good, full english/cerial/toast/yogurt and as much tea/coffee as you want .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_daviesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnersh, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you're into feline gymnastics, then this place isn't for you, but joking aside I wholeheartedly recommend this little B&B. Although small, the rooms have everything you need for your stay. We stayed 5 nights and had no real complaints other than that the room was too hot, so I turned down the radiator. As far as facilities go, there was always hot water for the shower, the wi-fi worked well and the breakfast was freshly cooked and hearty. The owners were very friendly seemed like nothing was too much trouble.

Five-star luxury, it isn't, but nor is the price. It is slightly out of the way, but only a 5 minute walk from the top of the hill - walking back up after a night out can be a chore :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.8 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
2.6 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#9 of 27 in Totnes
145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pig & Whistle
Pig & Whistle
#1 of 1 in Littlehempston
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Grubb Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Grubb Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Great Grubb Bed and Breakfast
Address: Fallowfields, Plymouth Road, Totnes TQ9 5LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome at The Great Grubb B&B -Accommodation that reflects the unique flavour of Totnes. We use local produce to create excellent breakfasts. All rooms are ensuite. We have free private parking and free wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Great Grubb Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Grubb Bed And Breakfast Totnes, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing