We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for one night, we had a long four hour car journey and upon arrival was met by the owner who was very pleasant and made us feel very welcome. After being shown to our room(with a sea view) we were offered tea and coffee and homemade flapjack which was a lovely gesture. Room was a good size, warm and very clean. There was a variety of choice for breakfast and the full English was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay here thanks to the owners being so friendly and helpful and would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerryH958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for giving us a Trip Advisor review, it's so nice to get good feedback. It was lovely to meet you both and we're pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us - We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
182
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Château-d'Oex, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

After having travelled around the world and staying in numerous Bed and Breakfasts, this one is above all, the absolute best! The moment you walk in the main hall, you feel at home. There is a magical feeling to this historical home. Lovely and down-to-earth owners, Faith and Martin, make a great team in running this family B&B. Superb English breakfasts, home-made cakes and muffins, lovely rooms, comfy beds, kettles and tea in the rooms, excellent location allowing you to hear the waves and feel the sea breeze at night...what more can I say! Returning for stay number 3 next Easter and bringing my family along! A great place to get away...I am sure that you will love everything about this little piece of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Wow Darcy thank you for your review! You are so kind. We enjoyed having you stay with us so much, you really are a special person - so friendly and chatty to everyone. We look forward to seeing you and your family next Easter. PS We hope your super heavy suitcase didn't cost you too much to get back to Switzerland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

From the very first moment we arrived we felt very welcomed by the owners. We had a twin room over the Easter weekend and despite the weather being very cold for this time of year our room was very warm and cosy. The beds were very comfortable indeed and the room had very good ensuite facilities. The house itself has beautiful Edwardian features and we had use of the lounge downstairs which was very handy to relax and look at the guided information about places to visit within the area. The three best things about our weekend at Beach Lodge was its location, very handy for the beach and other amenities. Secondly the breakfast provided was so good and tasty we purchased some sausages from their local supplier before departing. Finally and the most important point, was the wonderful family (owners) who looked after us, chatted to us during breakfast and was very attentive during our stay. We would highly recommend this amazing B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you girls for your wonderful review. It really was great to meet you both and have you stay with us. You were so both so happy and cheery all the time, it really was a pleasure. We look forward to seeing you again soon and we hope you enjoyed the sausages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Overall our stay was excellent. The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and the proximity to the beach and shops was great! Definitely stay again and would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmDean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

My family & I visited Beach Lodge for a 2 night stay at the end of Feb. As a family of 5 we find it very hard to find hotels/guest houses that will accommodate us all in one room. Beach lodge not only ticked the box but the room (front top right bay) was delightful. Even with all the beds in situ we still had space for a big sofa in the window to see the sea from. Newly refurbished the room was light & airy with gorgeous white bed linen ( always a plus with me) & good size ensuite.
Breakfast was a relaxed affair with nothing being too much trouble for husband & wife team Faith & Martin. They were happy to chat & give us advise on the local area with recommendations for good walks (with kids on scooters) & places to eat.
We will definitely be returning & have already recommended Beach Lodge to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you Joseph for your excellent review :-) We really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us, it was a pleasure! - your kids were so well behaved, and I'm glad they enjoyed the scooter rides along the cliff tops and along the promenade. See you all again for the Bournemouth Airshow in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is a gem of guest house / hotel very near to the cliff-top in Southbourne. Its also a short walk from the local high street in Southbourne and very convenient for access to the surrounding area. It is very quiet with no discernable road noise and parking on the drive available.

The hotel owners could not have been more welcoming and also helpful with setting up wifi for me and advising on a local restaurant nearby on the clifftop - Cafe Riva.

I loved the room and the breakfast choice was fantastic.

Overall, an excellent and charming stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OleanderView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Beach Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We - granddaughter 8, Daddy 50 ,and Grandma 79 - had the most delightful 2nights 3day stay at Beach Lodge . From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a most welcome pot of tea and delectable cupcakes to when, reluctantly, we departed , we enjoyed a most relaxing break. .Our rooms were most inviting , comfortable and pleasingly clean and fresh. Breakfast was a treat! Many and varied choices with good coffee and a very decent tea . We couldn't praise it highly enough .... And the location, the sands, the walks, the excellent restaurants so very near... it reads like a dream , and it was ! We visited Monkey World from Beach Lodge and this too was made pleasurably simple with an excellent door to door taxi service. I can't wait to return....

Room Tip: nothing to add .. couldn't improve on it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuffield_Light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and Beach Lodge and we are thrilled that you have taken the time to write us such an amazing review. It really was a pleasure to have you stay with us last week and we do hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks, Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
3.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge Guest House

Property: Beach Lodge Guest House
Address: 61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our guest house you are assured of a friendly welcome, its family run, well decorated, comfortably furnished, clean bedrooms all with en-suites, white towels, hospitality trays, toiletries, hairdryers, Free Wi-Fi and Freeview colour LCD TVs. We have an excellent choice of an English breakfast freshly cooked to order and/or a Continental, free parking with public transport close by. We are less than five minutes walk from Southbourne's Blue Flag Beaches, shops, pubs, cafes and cliff top walks; from Beach Lodge you can explore the New Forest and Jurassic Coastline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing