We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chine Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandie Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (433)
    Filter reviews
    433 results
    Traveller rating
    417
    15
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    417
    15
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsguest housemartin faithb bperfect hostsevery afternoonhomemade jamscake leftgrand avenuemaple roomthe clifffriendly hostshigh streeton arrivalhome from homeexcellent stayshort walkbus service
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    382 - 387 of 433 reviews
    Reviewed 7 August 2013

    Our family of 4 did our yearly pilgrimage to Beach Lodge guest house this July with a teeny bit of wonder if it would 'be as good' as it has recently inherited new owners. Worry not! We had the most fantastic experience. Life at Beach Lodge continues with the fabulous high standards of the previous owners but with Faith and Martin's own spin on it. They have thoughtfully put their own stamp on certain areas and I look forward to seeing their further tweaks in our next visits.
    These guys aim to please. It is lovely to witness. We received yummy cakes on arrival and cake turned up in our room the next afternoon too!! Much appreciated by hungry teenagers. The facilities are spotless and the breakfasts were - let me say - a little bit better than previously and that is fabulous because they were always good, they are now super-fabulous quality.
    My request for non-dairy milk did not freak them out which is really refreshing as sometimes it becomes a bit of an issue.
    I loved the Bournemouth 'old style' beach posters and the lounge was very comfortable if you wished to use it.
    We stayed in 'Oak' and our kids were in 'Ash' bedrooms. We have now stayed in 4 of their rooms and you will not be disappointed with any of them.
    Fab time with a fab couple. Thanks guys. See you soon.
    Roberts and Shaw

    Room Tip: 'Maple' and 'Holly' are family rooms and face the front of the building. 'Ash' and 'Oak' face the back garden (and are a little overlooked)
    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank shawruth
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to do us a TripAdvisor review, we really do appreciate it. It was lovely to meet you all and we're glad you approve of the changes we have made to Beach Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again next year. Kind Regards, Martin and Faith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

    We stayed here for 2 nights as visiting friends from Christchurch and had a lovely weekend. Firstly, the location of the guesthouse was superb - a 1 min walk to a beautiful , long sandy stretch of beach- just gorgeous! The guesthouse itself was lovely , very modern , fresh and spotlessly clean. Our room was a family room and was large and very comfortable with a spacious bathroom. The couple who run the guesthouse were very friendly, professional and made us feel very welcome - little added small things like the cake slices in our room and lovely fresh coffee at breakfast were a lovely touch too. Martin was very busy one morning with breakfasts but we didn't wait long for anything- very professional! I will be visiting again and recommending this to friends and family.

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Kmilsom
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

    Dear Katie, Thank you for the excellent review! It was lovely to meet you both and its great to know you enjoyed your stay with us so much, thank you! We hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks, Martin and Faith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 July 2013

    We have just returned from a lovely break at Beach Lodge in beautiful Southbourne.
    After a long journey, we received a very warm welcome on our arrival and this continued throughout our stay. Beach Lodge is a wonderful B & B and Martin and Faith are great hosts. The breakfasts were delicious as were the lovely home made cakes provided by Faith each day!
    The whole place was spotlessly clean, very quiet, and everything you could asked for was catered for.
    We will definitely visit again!
    Sharron & Jerry

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Sharron H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

    Dear Sharron, Thank you for taking the time to write us a great Tripadvisor review. We enjoyed having you both stay with us and its good to know you enjoyed it too!! We hope to see you at Beach Lodge again soon. Many Thanks, Martin and Faith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 July 2013

    Beach lodge is a wonderful example of a child/baby friendly B&B (a rarity I've learned!). My husband and I stayed here with our 1 year old son and Martin and Faith couldn't have been more helpful. They provided a travel cot and bedding in our room, booster seat and tableware in the dining room, and a fridge for us to use. Perfect!

    Our room was lovely, up on the top floor in Silver Birch. It had everything we needed, and the homemade cake and bottled water each day was a great touch. Breakfast was plentiful and I was delighted to find a vegetarian cooked breakfast on the menu! Delicious!

    Southbourne has a beautiful sandy beach just minutes from the B&B, accessible via a zig zag path or the cable lift. We also did a day trip to Corfe Castle, Lulworth Cove & Durdle Door which was incredible. Highly recommend the ferry from Sandbacks to Swanage if visiting this part of Dorset.

    All in all the perfect break for us, thank you Faith & Martin!

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Vicki C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

    Dear Vicki, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us., we really appreciate it. It was lovely to meet the 3 of you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many Thanks, Martin and Faith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 July 2013

    We received the warmest of welcomes on our arrival at this delightful guest house. Our room was newly decorated and well furnished with a window over-looking the garden. The beds were the most comfortable we have slept in. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room and every day home-made cake was provided, a very friendly touch from the nicest couple you could wish to meet. Martin and Faith served an excellent breakfast with a choice of cereals and fruit in addition to your own choice of cooked breakfast.
    The house was lovely and located only a few yards from the beach. We had a great four night stay and will definitely make this our first choice when we return to Bournemouth.
    Thank you both for a lovely holiday, Ann and Peter Baxter.

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Peter B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

    Hi Peter and Ann
    Thank you for the amazing review!! It's really good of you to take the time to write one. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us last week, it was really lovely to meet you and have you stay with us. The cakes have become a big hit, everyone is mentioning them on TripAdvisor, its so nice to know that the little extras are appreciated.
    Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
    Kind Regards,
    Martin and Faith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews