We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous five day stay at the Beach Lodge. We have stayed here before but this was the first time we have been here since Martin and Faith have taken over the place. They have made some fab improvements and I love the new decor! Our one and two year old children loved it, especially the homemade cake waiting for us after a long day building sandcastles on the beach! Nothing was too much trouble when it came to breakfast, the room was spotless and Martin and faith made us feel very welcome. The fab weather just topped it off!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Emily
Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review - we really appreciate it! We are so pleased you and the children approve of the changes we have made. We hope to see you again!
Thank you again,
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
107
184
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beach Lodge is the best Guest house we have ever stayed in and we have been to quite a few over the years we went to see our Grandaughter who is 8 months pregnant ,also to see the Bournemouth air show .
we have been to Beach Lodge once before and Faith and Martin just seem to be just as accommodating as ever we are also going back when are great grand child is born
We have had a a family room each time we have been and it has been really comfortable with plenty of room with en-suite shower ,
Breakfasts are to die for , plenty of choice, cooked to how you want it Beach Lodge is extremely well equipped with plenty of space with a seperate tv lounge on the ground floor
Beach Lodge also has its own parking which is a good thing ,due to Beach Lodge being about 150 mts from the cliff top walks and the beach

Room Tip: we have only been in the two front two bedrooms as family rooms my rating for these two rooms is exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Tom
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a 'brilliant' review. We really enjoyed having the two of you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when your great grand child is born in a few weeks time!
Warm Regards,
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I took my 4 year old away for the weekend to have a girlie weekend while daddy was away on business! We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely time. What a beautiful B&B! The house itself is lovely and the room we were in was clean and fresh (so I assume the rest are too). My daughter enjoyed the cake we found in our room each day. She assured me it was delicious, I didn't get a crumb of either piece! She was even given a homemade treat to take on our journey back home. The breakfast was just right too, a good tasty selection, with a thumbs up from my daughter. We were both impressed with the games selection in the sitting room. The location is perfect and since being back my daughter keeps asking when we can take Daddy to the Bed and breakfast. She loved it!!! It has the best atmosphere of any B&B I have ever been to. We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tildasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Tildasmum, Thank you for writing us such a great TripAdvisor review. We are so please you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us at Beach Lodge. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you two (and Daddy) soon.
Many Thanks
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was the best B&B we have stayed in. Faith & Martin gave this B&B their personal touch from outstanding service through to finishing touches in the decor. A very efficiently-run place, without neglecting the basics of how to be genuine.

All areas were spotless and very well maintained. There was a lot of room for us (being a family of four we normally have to tick this box). My children loved returning after a day at the beach to Faith's home-baked cake.

We were recommended to stay here by one of our friend's (CARMEN!) who stayed in June. She sang their praises, and we echo this too. We've already recommended some of our friends to keep this one in mind! Look forward to seeing Faith and Martin again.

Agnelo

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnelo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Agnelo,
Thank you for the 'Excellent B&B' review. It was great to meet you and your family and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beach Lodge - almost as much as CARMEN ;-)
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Warm Regards,
Martin and Faith
PS Faith liked the 'Thank you' notes so much, they are stilled pinned up in the kitchen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were apprehensive about where to take our 5 month old son on his first holiday but our concerns melted away when we arrived at the Beach Lodge. We were greeted with such warmth that we knew it would be a home from home for our stay.

Our room was comfy, spotless with a nice personal touch, everything had been thought of to make our stay that bit more special and heads above any other B&B we have stayed at.

Nothing was too much trouble for Martin and Faith and their knowledge of Bournemouth and the surrounding area helped us make the most of our stay.

What a wonderful first holiday for us all as a family and we will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Becky
Thank you for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor review (we know how busy you must be with the baby), it is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy your first holiday with the baby. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you all again next year!
Kind Regards,
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

From the moment we met the Hosts, Faith & Martin, we felt at ease. Nothing was too much trouble, for example we asked Martin for some information regarding the local area and he went away and returned with a google map even though it was during a very busy period for him. Everything was exceptional the food, the room, cleanliness but above all the extra little touches which they provide (who could forget Faith's daily cake which we returned to in the room each evening).An outstanding b&b which we are looking forward to returning to in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Roger
Thank you for writing us such a glowing review, its really kind of you! We enjoyed having you and the family stay with us last week and we're so pleased you all enjoyed it too. We hope to see you all again soon.
Many Thanks
martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

What a lovely b&b, well deserving of its 4 star rating. The room was clean and welcoming and the beds very comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, without being overpowering. The breakfasts were fresh and tasty. Not everyone caters so well for vegetarians! Highly recommended as it is truly only a few yards away from the sea and the shops with a variety of restaurants just a short walk up Grand Avenue. We will definitely be going there again. Parking is also no problem. Even a small fridge was provided for my husband's medication. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure our comfort.

Room Tip: We had the twin room on the first floor with en suite shower. Nice and quiet as it is away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Melody
It was lovely to meet you and your husband and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor review, it really is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you both again soon.
Many Thanks
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
3.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#3 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge

Property: Beach Lodge
Address: 61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our guest house you are assured of a friendly welcome, its family run, well decorated, comfortably furnished, clean bedrooms all with en-suites, white towels, hospitality trays, toiletries, hairdryers, Free Wi-Fi and Freeview colour LCD TVs. We have an excellent choice of an English breakfast freshly cooked to order and/or a Continental, free parking with public transport close by. We are less than five minutes walk from Southbourne's Blue Flag Beaches, shops, pubs, cafes and cliff top walks; from Beach Lodge you can explore the New Forest and Jurassic Coastline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing