We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Mory House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mory House
Ranked #3 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Staff friendly, Breakfast plentiful and delicious, room spacious for 2 adults and 2 kids, hotel clean, parking available, short walk to the beach or the town of Southbourne. Overall excellent B & B, would definitely stop again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mpeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoryBournemouth, Owner at Mory House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Mory House. It is really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you all again soon.
Wendy, Jane & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

I have lost count of the number of times we have stayed at this comfortable B&B. As always, Patrick and Jane made us very welcome and the same high standards as experienced on previous visits were evident. A recently introduced incentive scheme for regular visitors is now in place offering the opportunity to obtain a free night's stay.

Room Tip: The superior rooms offer a little more space, but this does not detract from the quality oif the acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

After recently visiting Mory House again,I have to say that it is like visiting good friends.Patrick and Jane make Mory House feel like home from home.The room was clean and well supplied with tea/coffee etc.The breakfast was superb with a great selection of fresh fruit as well as the usual breakfast delights plus smoked salmon with scrambled eggs-lovely.We have already booked to go again.Location is great--5 minutes to shops etc,5 minutes to the beach-enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 1 on the ground floor is large and spacious--and no stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoryBournemouth, Owner at Mory House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dave & Jan
Thank you for your lovely review. Look forward to seeing you both again in July, if not before! Another few stamps on your loyalty card!
Wendy, Jane & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I spent the weekend in Southbourne, near Bournemouth, for the May Bank Holiday weekend with a friend to visit another friend of ours. The owners were very friendly during the booking stage and enough information supplied about the arrival arrangements etc.
On arrival we were greeted by Patrick who was the face of the B&B as he was the only person we saw, as he also served breakfast. Patrick was friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Now as I have mentioned breakfast.,,,, it was fantastic! You could order pretty much what you wanted and 2 days running my friend and I ordered the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, delicious!
The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. It was cleaned both days.

Location wise, for us, was perfect. The Southbourne "high street" was 5 minutes walk away and the beach the same distance in the opposite direction.

The only thing most B&B's/hotels provide that this B&B didn't were tissues in the room and as the room was such a high specification in the first place this was a little surprising.

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this place, good quality accommodation, breakfast, location and service.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor room is a very good twin room with ample space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilliGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoryBournemouth, Owner at Mory House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hello Gin
Thank you for your kind review. I'm really glad that you, especially, liked our french toast & bacon! Apologies there weren't any tissues in your room as we do supply tissues usually - it must have been an oversight on my part!
Wendy, Jane & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Mory House for 2 nights and had such a lovely time. Patrick and Jane were kind, helpful and very hospitable. We stayed in room 2, which was light and very nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious with lots of option-especially as I'm vegetarian. The location of Mory House is perfect for walking along the beach or heading into Bournemouth or Christchurch. I couldn't speak more highly of Mory House and am planning our next visit already!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debs00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoryBournemouth, Owner at Mory House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our breakfasts! It is very encouraging, to us personally, that you are planning your next visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Wendy, Jane & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We were in bournemouth to view a house and thought we would stay over in bournemouth for the night so searched for a B&B.We came across mory house and made the right choice.Very friendly when we arrived even showed us the rooms first before making any decisions.We have stayed in alot of B&Bs and HOTELS in our time and none of them come close to MORY HOUSE.Outstandingly clean and very bright and airy.Rooms are excellent very nicely done and very homely.
Jane was extremely helpful and friendly and made you feel very welcome indeed.
Breakfast and dining room were excellent great choices of food sadly i was hungry that morning of leaving :( but Host insisted i tried something lol.
Bed and pillows were so comfy i did not want to get up the following morning.
Our only downside was we had to leave the next morning or we would of stayed longer but we will return very soon for longer stay for sure.
Thank you for making us feel so welcome in a fantastic B&B will recommend to all our friends and family for sure.
5* Service 5* B&B 5* All Round
Best Wishes And Regards
Mark And Donna

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and would recommend this room to anyone..large screen tv on wall.Very comfy sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoryBournemouth, Owner at Mory House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Hello Mark & Donna

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's great to hear that you felt so welcome. Look forward to seeing you both again.

Wendy, Jane & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Mory House was recommended by our family who had stayed previously. We were greeted by Patrick who showed us to Room 1 which we had booked for a three night stay. The room was on the ground floor and was next to the dining room and reception area. We were concerned that this may be a "noisy" room and being a Superior room was hoping this would not be the case. We were not disappointed. The accommodation was delightful and immaculate throughout The furnishings/decor were contemporary and stylish. There was more than enough storage space and attention to detail did not go un-noticed. A well stocked refreshment tray was provided as were lovely complimentary toiletries. We arrived just before lunch and were very pleased that we were able to book in at such a convenient time, this enabled us to park in one of the allocated spaces and head straight to the beautiful Southbourne Beach which is a short stroll away!
The breakfast was scrumptious and certainly sets you up for the day! The dining room is light and airy and a lovely room to have a relaxing breakfast in. The quality of the food was superb and cooked perfectly (especially the scrambled eggs! the fried bread is naughty but very very nice!). There is a good choice of breakfast cereal, juice,fresh fruit, nuts and yoghurt. There is an alternative daily choice of cooked breakfast such as bacon, french toast and maple syrup or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The service is very efficient, always with a smile and friendly without being too invasive. Nothing is too much trouble for Jane, Wendy and Patrick and we certainly did look forward to our breakfast each day.
We were enjoying our stay so much that we decided to stay for a further night. Luckily we could be accommodated however we had to move to room 2 (another superior room). This was on the first floor and was just as lovely as Room 1. It would be difficult to choose which one to stay in when we return as they are both extremely comfortable and relaxing.
Grand Avenue is a peaceful treelined road, it is easy to park and is convenient not only for the beach but shopping and eating locally.
All in all we had a wonderful four night break at Mory House. Jane, Patrick and Wendy are lovely people who make you feel very welcome. Wendy especially is very informative and helpful as a guide as to "where to go" in Bournemouth and surrounding areas.
We visit Bournemouth two to three times a year for a well deserved break and we will certainly look forward to our stay at Mory House later this year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Superior Room 1 and 2. Both were large, bright, airy, comfortable rooms with en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eoMooneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoryBournemouth, Owner at Mory House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

What a great review! Made us all smile:) Hopefully see you both later in the year.

Wendy, Jane & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
#1 of 131 in Bournemouth
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 131 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#12 of 131 in Bournemouth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mory House

Address: 31 Grand Avenue, Bournemouth BH6 3SY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £98 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mory House is a small, very personal establishment, neither a hotel, nor a traditional bed and breakfast. Somewhere in between, offering boutique style accommodation with a family run friendly service. Our aim is to ensure you, our guests, feel totally relaxed and thoroughly comfortable during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing