We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House and Setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn.

The Old Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The Old Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris P
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful House and Setting”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well, the first thing you'll think when setting foot into the hall and looking left and right is "wow". Such a lovely place! The barn itself remains full of character despite being recently refurbished to a high standard, and includes such niceties as underfloor heating downstairs, and a lovely log burner for those cold evenings! The kitchen too is beautifully fit out, with a great range cooker, fitted appliances and a large dining table and sofa - definitely enough room in here for a large group to socialise without feeling claustrophobic. The way its decorated means although there's traditional low ceilings and exposed beams, this place doesn't have the feel of being small because the rooms are so big! The lounge with its log burner and some games in the cupboard is a lovely place to spend an evening socialising and relaxing too.

Upstairs there's also 4 large bedrooms big enough for adults, and two of which en suite. Well fitted out and comfy beds too.

As for the setting and location, it's in a quiet village which is great for relaxing. It's equally not too far (5 min drive) from some large shops, and only 15 mins or so drive to lovely beaches (and if you drive down to the Broadway, a long dog friendly beach!). The New Forest is also on your doorstep, and if you were adventurous I'm sure you could get a bus to Bournemouth to spend the day there too.

If - like us - you have a dog, there's a nice country walk on your doorstep that goes along side the river - great for giving them a good run around off the lead. There's also a hose outside to shower them off with all the mud - great!

We had a lovely stay here, well worthwhile a visit and we're already looking at going back in 2017. Made a lovely location for my Dad's 60th with the family, caters for young and old equally in a super location. Would certainly highly recommend a visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large spaces - kitchen a top place for socialising!
Liked least: Smallish garden, but who needs a garden with all the countryside on your doorstep!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Hi Chris,

Thanks so much for your lovely review, I think the Barn is a bit like a Tardis, the rooms are larger than you expect from the outside but it certainly makes entertaining family so much easier! Im so glad that your Dad had a lovely birthday. I really hope to see you all again soon.

Regards
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalHorn
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a stunningly beautiful property. Comfortable and luxurious, the kitchen is very well equipped,the husband now wants a coffee machine! The bed was particularly comfy to the extent we want the same mattress. Correspondance before was very good and everything was dealt with timely and in detail. I would highly recommend the property to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Hi there,

Thanks for your review, Sammie was our first ferret guest, if you have any pictures of him at the Barn, please let me have them, I'd love to put them on my website!! I'm so glad you all had a good stay!

Kind Regards

Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at the old barn with family for a long weekend. Every possible detail has been thought about to make our stay that much more comfortable. Beautiful rooms and beds. Spacious and relaxing. It was ideal for the numbers we had including 3 small children. Good location about 15 drive to beach. The perfect break for the whole family. A great place to stay. Thankyou Claire. Will definitely come back at some point. Paul

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Hi Paul,

Thank you for your very kind review, I'm so glad the Barn made your stay just right, so hope you can visit again! Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous-Wonderful-Excellent------The best Rental accomadation we have had.”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Can not praise this rental enough. Claire was so attentive with all our needs. The pictures don't do it justice.
The minute you walk in the door you just keep saying WOW...
If you are looking for somewhere special then this is the place.
We dident want to leave.
Beautiful bedding, fluffy towels, luxury toiletries and even a nice bottle of vino to help us relax.
The attention to detail is outstanding.
We will be back........

Thank you so much Claire for letting us share your wonderful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: It was all fabulous
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Hi Susan, we spent so much time renovating The Barn that it makes it all worthwhile when we read all the amazing reviews we've had, thank you so much for taking the time to write this and it was lovely to talk to you yesterday. We so look forward to hearing from you again.

Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Barn & Surroundings - A* Destination”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the Barn for a week at the end of May 2016. Upon arrival Claire went the extra mile to make sure we felt welcome. It's in a great location and is in a beautiful setting.

The Barn is furnished to a high standard and double bedrooms are the perfect size for couples with huge beds.

We had a few cars as we had travelled separately but found other spaces nearby.

I would highly recommend visiting and we'll be looking to return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Hi Joe,

Thanks for your lovely review, I'm so glad that you had a good time at The Barn, we hope to see you again!!

Kind regards

Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMC96
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully renovated barn in peaceful location”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for a weekend at The Old Barn, and wished it could have been longer!
The Barn was well equipped, clean and very comfortable. It was also really spcious. It's close to local amenities, and easily accessible for beaches, and New Forest.
As we were able to bring the dog along too, it made for a much more relaxed short break! She loved the local walks (even in the rain!) and happily settle in with the rest of us!
We hope to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Hi Claire,

Thanks for your lovely review, we're so glad that you had a great time, we'd love to see you come back!!

Warm regards

Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing