We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel in Bournmouth”
Review of The Hop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hop Inn
Ranked #67 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bucks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel in Bournmouth”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter weekend as we were going to a party 5 mins walk away. A friend booked it and when I checked the reviews on TA I was bracing myself for a rough and ready B&B with typical stag / hen type goings on!

We arrived in the reception (which is actually in the bar showing football on big screens), the bar lady / receptionist was very friendly and polite and pointed us the right direction then a friendly cleaner told us where out room was.

I was pleasantly surprised with the room. It was a decent size for a budget hotel in a popular destination and everything was in working order and clean etc. The bed was big and comfortable.

We came back from our party at about 3.30am and if there were any stags/hens they must have passed out by now because it was nice and quiet! I would recommend taking an eye mask as the blinds let in the light in the morning.

We had a good breakfast of eggs / bacon etc, coffee juice and again the waiter was polite and friendly.

I would recommend this hotel is you need a budget base in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: I would recommend taking an eye mask as the blinds let in the light in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    52
    21
    11
    21
See reviews for
12
52
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend were in this pub couple of weeks ago as we live locally. One of the barmaids was rude and over all very stuck up with her attitude towards me and my girlfriend and made her feel very uncomfortable so we left and went to a pub just down the road. The next day we decided to give it another chance as we did like the atmosphere of the pub we had lunch in the restaurant and was served by a bloke didnt manage to get his name, he was polite and seemed at ease his attitude towards us and others in the establishment was brilliant both me and my partner agreed if it wasnt for that bar maid we would make it our regular. Some of the staff need a refresher of good customer service. We Would only return if this barmaid is not on shift

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAndrews84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Read a lot of the reviews, both positive and negative, on here about the Hop Inn since arriving back from Bournemouth after my stag do last weekend, as we stayed here.
I agree with both sides of the comments. Great for a stag do if you don't have any additional needs (i.e. can't climb stairs to a room, vegetarian breakfast needed, struggle to sleep around a 'drunken environment', offended by stag-do language!) However, if you have any of those issues, I can see it being a nightmare.
Completely agree with the comment about the night porter - how rude! Didn't believe we stayed there. Why would we be that far out of town, knocking on the door if we didn't!? He did serve us glasses of water though! The bar was serving alcohol at 9am - for another group of lads, not us - not that hardcore!
Beds were comfortable. TV signal was fine. Friendly bar staff / waitresses (even if they didn't agree with the way us south easterners pronounced 'toast'!)
Two issues - as others say - no drinking water from en suite bathroom taps? Very strange. Although one of our party ignored that and he seems fine.
£500 deposit was understandable - stag do parties can be rowdy. But 5 days after our return, I am still chasing my refund as it has maxed out my credit card.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I came to stay on the Saturday of a two night hen do. Upon arrival the 'carpark' consisted of three spaces. So 45 minutes later with no help or direction from the staff I managed to park. Walking in to the hotel, there is no reception to great you, the bar staff gave a snooty look as I tried to carry my bag through the busy bar.

Finding the hotel room I was greeted by the hen in tears over the hotels actions. Accusing us of defacing the hotel... the girls had stuck up photos (with easily removed blutack) in the room... had refused to give clean sheets to guests and to top it off... SHOUTED at a member of our party when simply asked. It put a real dampner on the whole day.

Later we returned, got ready and went to the bar for drinks. We could only stay for one as there is no where to sit and the bar staff again where so rude ot was unsettling.

The morning breakfast was served, when asked for fresh milk the bar maid nodded and carried on talking. The milk didnt arrive and didn't want to risk asking again...

Packing the room up we met the lovely house keeper who was also in shock we were not given clean sheets, the fact worsened when she admitted the landlord had LIED. She offered to replace them, the landlord said we didnt want them.

Such a shame as we choose Bournemouth frequently to stay, but will never consider the Hopp Inn again and will relay to anyone never to stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank familyfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A large group of us stayed here for a hen party. Between us we paid over £2000 over the two nights.

Upon arrival, the first guest to check in was asked to give z deposit of £500 on her credit card (when we had already paid the deposit for the group!).

There were 5 people sharing my room (1 bathroom), and the hotel knew that over the duration of the weekend there would be girls staying for 1 night, then new people staying the second night. The hotel knew this, and had received a full list of names from us.

When we asked the bar staff if the sheets could be changed, the staff were so rude I couldn't believe what I had witnessed. The man shouted and said no - then proceeded to accuse our party of drawing on the pool table with red chalk and said we would get charged for this. As you can imagine, then hen was distraught and upset that her friend would get charged for something we did not do.

When we came downstairs for breakfast I pointed out to the bar staff that I am veggie, and pregnant - and asked if it would be possible to divert from the full breakfast to have something suitable. Well, you would have thought if asked for the earth what with the rolling eyes and unimpressed reaction from the staff.

I stay in hotels and b&bs on a very regular basis for work, and all in all, this has to be the worst hotel I've stayed in and I would never go back - I would recommend the travel lodge just a few buildings down (it's worth it!!).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is ideal for stags . Went on a stag was perfect didnt stay in so couldn't tell you about the old farts moaning about the noise level as was out after 12am all I could say it was lively atmosphere warm up for going out and I couldn't hear the noise when I went to my room. Bev was excellent during our stay very helpful keep up the good work be back soon

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago with friends whilst in Bournemouth,great location close to town & beach.
Was told up on booking residents late bar would be available but when we arrived back a horrid,rude,confrontational night bar man told us we were misinformed by the management & the bar shuts at midnight to everyone. But it was his decision as he was in charge of the bar & kitchen. He refused to serve us even a soft drink so we went to bed very unhappy & unwelcome & i was very upset with his attitude. Clearly needs customer relations training. That's a lot of money to be missing out on behind the bar. Also i may add we were not drunk,all very sober in fact. Luckily he wasn't there in the morning & the breakfast staff were great. When we asked about the late bar they replied saying he should've served us,he wasn't the manager,just the cook covering the night shift!!
The room was really nice,rest of the staff were lovely,hotel & bar nice & clean. We would stay here again if we assured there would be a different night porter!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liza Inn
Liza Inn
#50 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hop Inn

Property: The Hop Inn
Address: 6 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hop Inn is a bustling pub with 12 rooms located in the heart of the Westcliff. Our rooms are spacious and modelled in a contemporary style. We have pocket sprung handmade beds for a good nights sleep. Every room is ensuite with tea/coffee and flat screen televisions. We have a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and serve home cooked food all day. We have some parking on a first come first served basis but there is more free on road parking surrounding the property. We are just minutes away from the beach and town centre. We have live music on a Saturday night please check our website for details. We have a facebook page and more reviews can be seen on other sites such as laterooms. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hop Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing