We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

The Water Garden Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Water Garden Hotel
Ranked #63 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I have just had an enjoyable two night stay at the Water Garden.
Pro's: Owners were lovely and welcoming, nothing too much trouble - nice clean room and en-suite shower room, attractive communal areas, nice ambience, perfectly adequate breakfast for the price, lovely garden. Short walk to Cliff top with nice walk down to beach. 15 minute amble to town. Secure free car parking, the owners allowed us to leave our car in the carpark after we had checked out so that we could spend some more time in Bournemouth before travelling home pm., very kind.
Con's: Our room was at the front facing a busy main road, lots of traffic until the wee small hours plus fellow guests on Stag weekend and other generally 'lashed up' members of the public (vocally)wending their way homewards, ensured I was awake until about 4.30am. My husband slept through the lot! If your're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back. If you don't want to share with Stag or Hen guests, ask before you book.
The owners have two lovely (large) dogs which were lovely and friendly, no trouble at all but if you don't like dogs, steer clear.
Overall, we had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay, felt very welcome and well cared for and this hotel offers excellent value for money for a budget holiday or weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper. Lots of stairs (4 flights) if you are in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
29
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

nice welcoming, helpful staff, clean room, good breakfast, although i prefer continental because of a more healthier choice. we spent a long weekend here with our 3 year old and it was one of our best beach breaks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzana2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a stag weekend. On arrival the oweners Paul and Brenda were extremily welcoming. The hotel is in a good location, just a few minutes walk from the town and beach. I have stayed at other hotels which host stag parties and have found them terrible, however this was the total opposit. Very clean, looked after and well presented. Rooms are comfortable. Breakfast was lovely- fruit, cereals, toast etc and full English, however the owners were happy to make changes to what was on offer. There was a little bar and a lounge and a little garden to have a drink in. The oweners do have 2 Doberman dogs, which were rarely around however both very friendly. We had a great stay and were very happy with the accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madras00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed at the Water Garden as part of a stag party, having been on a few was expecting a hesitant welcome, so was surprised by the smiles that greeted us all. This set the tone; the owners are wonderfully welcoming and helpful, even going so far as to supply us with suncream (being a bunch of idiot blokes we had brought none) and fleeces when it was cold, and really looking after one of our party who was taken ill, making sure the rest of us could enjoy the weekend.

The rooms were spotless, choice of breakfast was wide and the advice, welcome, and nothing-is-too-much-to-ask attitude of the owners make this a top, top place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Just stayed at the Water gardens, the owners are very welcoming and see to all your needs including maps and local info.
If you don't like dogs! then stay away as the owners have two large one's, who are friendly but may frighten people who are timid.
The rooms are small but nice and clean tea and coffee in the room, lot of road noise at the front.
Heard alot of reviews about large breakfast but did not find it! flakes and juice first and breakfast one of everything!
So if you ask for bacon and egg! expect 1 bacon and 1 egg, my wife does not like sausage or hash browns(yes you guessed right) she ordered them extra for me!!!greedy.
Bar only tins at £2-50 and bottles/ shorts, area only small and full of contractors must nights so did not use.
There is a wonderful up market Cantonese next door and the food is fantastic, you will need to book at w/ends.
Lots of food on menu we had not seen before, started with 1/4 Cripsy duck £11-00 cooked perfect 3 pancakes each.
Followed by Mongolian Lamb Hmmmmmmmmmmmm this is cooked in fine sauces, meal with drinks for two around £40-00 worth every penny!!
There's a pub just up the road 3mins walk Layton Court, next to the premere inn so best to book a table as busy most nights.
We stayed mid week and each night there was plenty in the food area, food very good and very good prices.
Received a free bottle of wine on second night for dining two nights, lots of food choice fairly new so nice inside.
If you wish there are lots of other pubs but towards the town, so around 15/20mins walk away.
Local buses stop outside hotel so you can ride into town/ poole/ boscombe/christchurch and leave the car at home.
Plenty of safe parking in hotel car park, if you like wildlife then visit Monkey world what a fab day.
We spent 6 hrs there it was so much fun, plus the live talks on each type of monkey great day out.
Enjoyed our stay vey much sadly the weather let us down, Poole is lovely try to visit lovely cobbled street and great shopping area.
The coast line (jurassic) around Bournemouth is lovely but was not keen on Bournemouth
would stay in Poole next time.
Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

What a lovely little hotel. Couldn't be in a better location. 10 minute walk to be and shops but far awy from main roads to be able to sleep. So easy to find. Welcoming hosts and lovely facilities. Excellent value. Thoroughly reccommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonksie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We enjoyed three nights in The Water Garden Bournemouth, we received a very warm welcome, there was secure parking for our motorbikes, breakfast was excellent and walking distance from the town and shops. Keep up the good work, Thanks again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_mansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#10 of 66 in Bournemouth
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
612 reviews
1.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Water Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water Garden Hotel

Property: The Water Garden Hotel
Address: 40 Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 3PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Water Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Water Garden Hotel prides itself on offering high standards of customer service and cleanliness, including a gold-standard kitchen. There is a fully stocked bar offering a range of drinks at reasonable prices, as well as the hotel’s award-winning gardens and the patio area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Water Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing