We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

The Water Garden Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Water Garden Hotel
Ranked #63 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a week. For the price I was paying the hotel was wonderful. Especially the hosts were great, hospitality is clearly a very important matter for the staff in this hotel. Sleep quality could be enhanced with better pillows and windows. Sometimes seagulls really disturbed my sleep but not too often. Option to choose different pillows instead of the standard ones would be great.

Room Tip: Room number 15 had perfectly functional WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juho P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
29
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Tnis hotel was booked as a group hen weekend (party of 10). The rooms were clean and felt comfortable with a gorgeous garden. We were welcomed on arrival by Paul and Brenda, both very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in walking distance of the town, shops and beach. Would recommend and will definitely be taking a trip back to this hotel in the future. Thank u for making us feel so welcome was a fantastic weekend :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel was booked through the Hen company that i used who arranged a fantastic weekend! Our group immediately felt comfortable on arrival at the hotel! Paul and Brenda were extremely friendly and could not have done any more to help us enjoy the weekend! Our hen group had the entire top floor which worked out so well. The hotel is clean and comfortable, we sat outside on the terrace which was beautifully decorated with gorgeous plants. I would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to go back. Easy walk into town/beach! We walked everywhere (even in heals!). Thank you Again for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Average Hotel , friendly and helpful Hotel owner .
One issue is that the place smells of dogs, ok if you like dogs I guess . (I don't and the smell is not pleasant). The upside the place has lots of attractive flower pots in the gardens.
Breakfast is good with a fair selection of options.
The Bed mattress in my room was far past its best and the bathroom had an annoying noisy extractor fan which would remain on for ages.
Overall the Hotel was fine for the money £38 per night in high season (Single room)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peruUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Booked online so got a better deal. Plenty of parking during my stay. Thought man checking me in was not at all friendly and in fact was rude when I asked him to repeat the breakfast times saying "were you not listening?"!! I asked if I could get a drink and was told no despite it only being 9pm and there were others having a drink. The room was fine, basic decor but fine for the price. The bathroom needed a good deep clean. The breakfast buffet was good but when i was asked what i would like for breakfast (no menus) i asked for poached eggs and was told no they couldn't do those! Why ask me what i would like then?!?! The biggest downside to this place were the owners dogs....two huge things allowed to roam free. There are no signs warning you of this and the entire smells of dog. Not pleasant!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dudley
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Recently stayed at The Water Garden Hotel for 2 nights.From checking in to checking out everything was perfect.The hotel is central to everything Bournemouth has to offer.I booked a single room but was given a small double room,an added bonus.As people have said before the owners Paul and Brenda are a lovely couple and seem to go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one.So nice in todays world.I was very impressed that Paul remembered my name when I went for breakfast and always called me by it.A very nice personal touch.So if you are looking for good accommodation at a reasonable price that's central to everything then don't hesitate to book here.
I will definatley be back soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whisper019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this cute little hotel. Was part of our hen weekend package. We had the whole top floor to outselves. The owners are absolutley lovely, nothing is too much trouble. Great breakfasts, beautiful gardens and great prices on drinks!! Great location, we walked everywhere! Would definately go back again! Two lovely dogs too - Prince and Brandy!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Water Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water Garden Hotel

Property: The Water Garden Hotel
Address: 40 Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 3PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Water Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Water Garden Hotel prides itself on offering high standards of customer service and cleanliness, including a gold-standard kitchen. There is a fully stocked bar offering a range of drinks at reasonable prices, as well as the hotel’s award-winning gardens and the patio area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Water Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing