We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy with our stay overall.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Stuart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Stuart Hotel
Ranked #27 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“happy with our stay overall.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

positives were most of the staff were friendly and helpful, good location, rooms were clean, bar prices were great!, and the breakfast was good too (average size breakfast not huge as other reviews suggest) and almost definitely the price VERY reasonable . Negatives were not being allowed to bring our own alcohol (was disapointed that this wasn't pointed out to me before we booked) rooms were small and quite cramped and Carl the barman was rude to some off the girls in our group. To sum it up if i were to go back to Bournemouth i would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    58
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
27
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had a great time at mount Stuart,just stayed for the weekend in november went with friends that have stayed there before . lovely friendly staff,really nice and clean rooms, great cooked breakfast ,good value for money . would recommend to anyone .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount S, Owner at Mount Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear JoyH,

Thank you for such a super review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us
and hope that you will return in the near future.

Kind regards

David, Sandy, Matt and Jon Oliver and Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed Saturday night with friends for a night out. very good location to the town, beach and other sites in Bournemouth. would return to this hotel every time i visit Bournemouth. theirs parking at the back of the hotel which is safe and free which is a very plus in the city center.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount S, Owner at Mount Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Fulham 23,

Lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay - hope to see
you again next time you are in Sunny Bournemouth.

Kind regards

Sandy Oliver
Mount Stuart Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton coldfield
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

2 of us were working in the area, came across the Mount Stuart Hotel, very friendly welcome, parking at rear of hotel, and very good rates, talking to the Managers and Family of the Hotel a lot of hard work has gone into, and still going into the overall presentation and decor, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount S, Owner at Mount Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Jimmy, Thank you very much for your great review and I we look forward to seeing you
again soon. Sandy Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed from the 6/9/13-8/9/13 for my stag do. When we arrived the staff welcomed all of us and showed us to our rooms, the rooms was clean and well decorated also the en suite bathrooms were in great condition. The bar was well stocked and the bar man was a really nice bloke that made you feel comfortable.
Overall we had a brilliant stay and i will definitely recommend to others.
We will be back next year !.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount S, Owner at Mount Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review - we do try our
best for our stag and hen groups so that they have a great time in
Bournemouth.

Hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards

Sandy and David Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Came on a weekend stag do for the weekend and this place couldn't be better suited. Prime location, good breakfast, clean rooms and Karl... The barman/receptionist/bringerOfTheFryup. #Legend couldn't be better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AarTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights
On arrival check in was good and easy
Room 9
The smallest Double we have stayed in - and we have stayed in many
A view of the car park and that's all
TV wasn't tuned
No chair (bed only) 2 bed cabinets
1 with the tea - coffee tray on it
Tea was extremely poor quality
Toilet - shower very small - (mind your head on washbasin if you sit on toilet)
But the worst is left till last :-
The bed is a lot lower at the head end (we slept with our heads at the bottom of the bed)
Oh yes- the full breakfast is very good and the barman was excellent

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curls11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#15 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#23 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#51 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hedley Townhouse
The Hedley Townhouse
#33 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Stuart Hotel

Property: Mount Stuart Hotel
Address: 31 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mount Stuart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Stuart Hotel is a family run business with 27 year's of experience. We are ideally situated being 5 minutes walk from the Bournemouth Town Centre, Golden beaches, Conference Centre and night-life. We provide good quality accommodation for all types of customers - we do have stag and hen groups at weekends but also cater for School/College groups, cricket/golf tours and families/couples during school holidays. We have a friendly bar - open late at the weekends and can provide Dinner for groups when requested. There is limited car parking at the rear of the building and Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Freshly prepared Full English breakfast is served in our modern Dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mount Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing