We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience! ”
Review of Mount Stuart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Stuart Hotel
Ranked #23 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome experience! ”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Greeted with a smile, all the staff were very helpful and very hard working! All the rooms were nice and the beds were comfy too. To top it off the breakfast was banging! Highly recommend this place and I will be coming back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    58
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
27
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a great weekend with 10 other mates. Friendly staff and cracking breakfast. Cleaners worked hard and bar staff facilitated late nights. It's close to the beach and only a walk in to town for bars, restaurants, clubs and casino etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milzee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a party of 7 girls staying for my sister's hen do. I was a little reluctant with booking this as it was through a package site specifically for hen/stag parties and I really didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. On our arrival we received a cheerful welcome and were quickly checked in. The rooms although not huge comfortably fit all of us. We had a quad and a triple room. There were some double beds in the room which were a treat for the ones that won the coin toss! The bathrooms were modern and clean and there were plenty of towels for us all. The one downside I would say was that given there were 4 girls in one room and 3 in another, there were not nearly enough mirrors!! The breakfast was more than adequate and just what was needed after a night on the tiles, served by friendly, accommodating staff, even for some of the fussier members of our party. It was close to everything we needed for a fun packed weekend, and easily walkable into town and the beach, with it's own hotel parking if required. It is obviously not the quietest hotel in the world, but we were not expecting it to be given who it caters for, so I would not recommend for a quiet, romantic getaway but it's absolutely ideal for groups looking to have fun by the seaside!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is generally very friendly and are always trying to please. As part of a stag party I did not expect much for the money paid, but the owners do their best to make it worthwhile. The bar was open at a wide variety of times which suited us. The car park is small but if people cooperate then it is not so much of a problem. The charge was unnecessary (website needs changing as it says parking is free!). I was in a room of four which was cosy but then how much time do you spend in the bedroom on a stag do. One small complaint was that the toilet had not been cleaned under the seat, not very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have just returned from this hotel following a 2 day stag party.

There was 11 of us in total, sharing 3 rooms.

Car Park
Is very small and you will probably be asked to move your vehicle during your stay

Rooms
Basic but did the job, always hot water available for showers. We had room number 12 and the lock was a bit tempremental as you needed to flick the bolt across to lock it. Our room keys also opened room 11! worrying if you are not in the same party.

Bar
Pretty much always open and well priced.

Breakfast
Poor quality food, cheap sausage and bacon. Plenty of juice, cereals, tea and toast.

Overall we can't really complain for the price we paid as it did what we needed it to.

Would not recommend for anything other than stag or hens!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 308SteveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex littlehampton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

On arrival all was good, car park a little small but was parked up and started our weekend hen party.. Check in was good, room was amazing :-) there was 6in one room wasn't cramped at all.. En suite in room was just right for us.. Was told to park infront of each other's would save room.. (Not a problem) thought that was a good idea..Popped out for some dinner back to hotel for drinks.. Was all good slept very well.. Woke up Saturday morning looked out the window one of the cars (my friends car) and it wasn't there.. (Panic set in a little) went down to check and it had been moved.. (Not sure on how this happened) nothing was taken and car wasn't scratched but still a mystery.. Went to speak to the owner who was obscenely RUDE and obnoxious said "I moved it I went into your room got your keys out of your bag and moved the car I had no choice"
Now a few things we would have accepted..
1)he had a friends number as she booked the hotel a simple call would have been fine..
2) a note would have been acceptable to just say sorry he had to do it
3)to tell us on our return to the hotel..
4)to ask for our keys on check in case as the car park is a major issue it's very small..
But all of the above he failed on and a simple apology was never heard of...
Was not impressed.. As this is classed as theft, violation and rudeness..
But not letting this ruin our weekend away.. We carried on to enjoy ourselfs..
Just don't eat there £5.00 for breakfast is a joke.. Small cold, and not filling up enough for a days adventures..

Room Tip: Choose another hotel unless on a stag or hen doo :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jadeybabey250311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Family of 4 holiday and we arrived at MSH where we received a very warm welcome from Matt. Excellent value for accommodation and location we desired. Breakfast was top notch and prompt. Well done MSH, no fuss or issues and staff very friendly and we look forward to vising your 'wee beauty' in the very near future. Thanks again for the relaxing stay, just what we required.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#18 of 132 in Bournemouth
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#12 of 132 in Bournemouth
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tregonholme Hotel
Tregonholme Hotel
#50 of 132 in Bournemouth
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#55 of 132 in Bournemouth
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#19 of 132 in Bournemouth
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Stuart Hotel

Property: Mount Stuart Hotel
Address: 31 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mount Stuart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Stuart Hotel is a family run business with 27 year's of experience. We are ideally situated being 5 minutes walk from the Bournemouth Town Centre, Golden beaches, Conference Centre and night-life. We provide good quality accommodation for all types of customers - we do have stag and hen groups at weekends but also cater for School/College groups, cricket/golf tours and families/couples during school holidays. We have a friendly bar - open late at the weekends and can provide Dinner for groups when requested. There is limited car parking at the rear of the building and Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Freshly prepared Full English breakfast is served in our modern Dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing