We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spyglass and Kettle
Ranked #117 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very friendly helpful staff. Lovely cup of tea and good value menu. The club sandwich was very tasty. The rest of the menu looked equally good judging by the fare the rest of the lunchtime crowd were enjoying.Nice garden at the front of the pub looking out to sea from the top of the clifftop.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tracie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    32
    50
    29
    41
See reviews for
75
66
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

once again had lunch fish and chips mushy peas excellent as always 2 for 10 pound
sat outside in the sun with our dog friendly staff great food will be back again soon been here 5 times now great food every time

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wittywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2nights over the weekend and used the room as a base. We paid £45 per night which included breakfast for both of us, meaning the room was technically £35 for the night. Rooms are basic, a little outdated but you have everything you need. En suite facilities, clean bedding and towels, wardrobe and TV, plus tea and coffee facilities. For the money we paid we didn't expect the Ritz, like some people expected. The cups were slightly dirty in the rooms but the staff were all lovely and couldn't do enough for you! The food was lovely, both days at breakfast and an evening meal. Typical pub food at good prices! Lovely location right across the road from the cliffs overlooking the sea and great for walking. We would definitely stay again next time we visit the Bournemouth area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulus1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Six of us went for a meal last night - overall the food was okay (5/10) but the pork escalopes looked like they had been reheated and the vegetarian risotto was really bland. It took nearly 2 hours to have a two course meal the service got worse as more people arrived which is a pity.The tables looked like they could do with some soap and water and where we were sitting, the carpet needs a clean and hoover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 449ABourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

came here last summer, a bit late leaving review sorry. Food was OK but the place could do with an upgrade in a few areas. Not sure whether it is busy all year but was busy when we visited.
outside space was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Staff were friendly and accommodating but I count that as a basic. Coffee cups in room dirty, room a bit grubby around the edges and not particularly comfortable. Food quite bad. Breakfast burnt and greasy. Disappointing all round.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We live locally and visit regularly but I'm afraid to say it will be the last time we eat here. We popped in today for lunch. We have found on our last couple of visits the food has been disappointing but today is the last time we will eat here, the menu is quite appealing but presentation and quality are not there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaitlinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
3.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southbourne Grove House
The Southbourne Grove House
#56 of 66 in Bournemouth
35 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#52 of 132 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#32 of 132 in Bournemouth
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass and Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass and Kettle

Property: Spyglass and Kettle
Address: 25-27 Stourwood Avenue, Bournemouth BH6 3PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass and Kettle 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Spyglass and Kettle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass And Kettle Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing