We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay was made very welcome”
Review of Carisbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carisbrooke Hotel
Ranked #77 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for the Easter weekend, we arrived Thursday evening and was greeted by a very nice receptionist who gave us lots of information about Bournemouth. Room was a triple room very clean, the on-suite was tiny but adequate it could do with a power shower due to being on the top floor. Breakfast was very nice and the staff very friendly and helpful they didn't mind if you changed your order around a little and would offer you more tea, coffee & toast. This is a lovely little hotel and defiantly would stay here again as it met all our needs, clean room, helpful staff, local to beach, shops,bars and a bonus they have free parking. Only one tip take your hairdryer as not supplied in room but think can borrow from reception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for the weekend with my son and eight of his friends. Fantastic staff on reception, the manager was as helpful as you could get allowing the boys to order pizza to be eaten in the lovely little bar, the night porter was a great guy. The rooms were very clean and well presented with nice little on suite bathrooms. Breakfast was good with " thankfully unlimited coffee" all in all for the price I would highly recommend this friendly hotel and will be back to stay soon.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Peterj632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

found hotel on booking.com, reasonably priced. my partner and I often go to Bournemouth for the night and stay in a hotel as it is cheaper than getting a taxi home..Hotel staff were all very polite and hotel is very clean and looks newly decorated. the room we had was again clean, the bed was comfortable, the only down side was the size of the bathroom but as only there for 1 night it met our needs, . Breakfast was pretty good with a choice of cereals but no fruit, but the full English did the job and kept us going til lunch time. would recommend.

Room Tip: room 23 looks out the front but is not too noisy/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here with family over my graduation in Bournemouth. The hotel were happy for us to park there well before our check-in time and made an effort to book us taxis when required. We had booked a combination of room sizes but were all given large family rooms.

My room was freezing through the night and in the morning, but apart from that it was clean tidy and very comfortable with a good sized bathroom.

The staff in the morning did a great breakfast and were very helpful and catered to our needs. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and myself stayed in this hotel for two nights (9th & 10th of November 2013)
The staff were pleasant, chatty & very helpful. The room was clean and adequate for our needs. Not too spacious but enough room to move around without falling over each other. We only needed it as a base so it was just what we needed. The bed was comfortable & we were on the first floor at the front. We did not experience any noise or disturbance from this position.
Breakfast was good with unlimited tea/coffee and toast, the full English had some items on that I am not a fan of (Hash browns & grilled tomato) I asked for these to be withheld and was asked what I would like them replaced with.
On the minus side ... The car parking spaces are very tight I am a size 8/10 and it was a squeeze to get in and out of the car without the door touching the car at the side of me. They do not serve fruit at breakfast. The bar of the hotel was quite expensive . This probably account why no one uses it very often.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie-Dawn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends for one night on a Saturday. We were all impressed with the location of the hotel and warm welcome we recieved. The staff were more than happy for us to use the free parking at the hotel before and after check in/out times.
Our room was spotless and cosy, and breakfast was really good.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisapoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel for 3 nights which tuned out to be a bad move. We arrived on a cold wet Wednesday afternoon and were given a room which slept 3 persons but the beds were pushed so close to the door that you could not open the door fully. Dont know what would happen in the event of a fire! We then found that the room radiators were turned on but stone cold. They remained off morning, noon and night until our last day! The shower room had been refurbished but the shower tray would not drain away. Also, we had only a bath towel each with no hand towels (not good for drying the wife's hair), and there was only a small piece of soap provided, no shower or hair wash. There was'nt even a glass to rinse your teeth. The bed was comfortable enough but the only thing with plus points was the staff and the breakfast.
We would not recommend this hotel for a short stay in Bournemouth when there are so many more to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muchacho_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHotel, Owner at Carisbrooke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is such a shame that you didn't let us know about any of these issues during your stay as things such as the radiator, shower tray and towels could have been easily rectified and we hope you would have then enjoyed your stay with us more. As many other reviews here and elsewhere online show, our staff are always keen to help and resolve any issues - this ensures that the majority of our guests (as confirmed in other reviews) do enjoy their stay - I am sorry that you did not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonnington Beach Hotel
Bonnington Beach Hotel
#114 of 134 in Bournemouth
384 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#40 of 134 in Bournemouth
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#25 of 134 in Bournemouth
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cecil Court Hotel
Cecil Court Hotel
#42 of 134 in Bournemouth
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liza Inn
Liza Inn
#53 of 134 in Bournemouth
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke Hotel

Address: 42 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £25 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrooke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly hotel superbly located within a short walking distance of the beach, Bournemouth International Centre and the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carisbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing