We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stag”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carisbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carisbrooke Hotel
Ranked #59 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Dover
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekend stag”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from a two night weekend stay at the Carisbrooke hotel and was very pleasantly surprised.
I was part of a group of 16 guys and didnt hear anyone say a bad word about the place.

We arrived fairly late Friday to be greeted by what i assume was the proprietor.
He laid down the house rules in a friendly but no nonsense manner so we all understood the score and then promptly got us checked in.
The shared room i had was very small and quite warm but was spotless as was the very small bathroom.

The staff were always friendly both in the bar and at breakfast. Breakfast was cooked to order and pretty standard, it was certainly better than some 4star hotels i have stayed in! Orange juice was a bit nasty though.

A great stay in what i assume was a two star hotel.

Rather than writing another review on Bournemouth I'll add some comments here as it may benefit some or hopefully be seen by those concerned.
Bournemouth is very much promoted as a hen and stag destination however if you are a group of 4 or more just you try and get past the door staff. We did what guys normally do on stags but didnt cause anyone any problems at all.
Door staff LEARN SOME MANNERS we were polite and decent despite the alcohol, yet pub after pub made it difficult for us to stay together.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    65
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
43
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Welcoming staff breakfast inclusive to the price free car parking close to major attractions and clean rooms for £55 iam going again.

It was my second visit to carisbrooke and both the stays were comfortable and the staff is the gem rooms are ok as we were out most of the time.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UdayMotakatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was also part of the hen party in the previous review. My friend and I shared a room on the first floor on the front of the hotel. It was very spacious and newly decorated with crisp clean bedding. The en suite bathroom was also clean and modern but on the small side.
This is not The Ritz, but a very comfortable and friendly 3star hotel.
We were made very welcome by the friendly staff and they were also helpful in recommending places to eat etc.
The breakfast was well served, but I must admit, I missed having any form of fruit. Even tinned grapefruit would have been nice.
The hotel is well positioned for the beach, the shops and the evening bars. So it met our needs very well. Thank you.
PS. Not been to Bournemouth since the children were little, but really enjoyed walking along the promenade, visiting the park and even pretending to be young again, on the dance floor, alongside my two daughters, my future daughter in law, her friends and my best friend! LOL. Sue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Myself and 15 other ladies stayed here for a hen weekend. The staff we're very polite and helpful with good places to visit and directions, the hotel was really clean and was ideal for our occasion and really nice cooked breakfast too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natiliehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for the Easter weekend, we arrived Thursday evening and was greeted by a very nice receptionist who gave us lots of information about Bournemouth. Room was a triple room very clean, the on-suite was tiny but adequate it could do with a power shower due to being on the top floor. Breakfast was very nice and the staff very friendly and helpful they didn't mind if you changed your order around a little and would offer you more tea, coffee & toast. This is a lovely little hotel and defiantly would stay here again as it met all our needs, clean room, helpful staff, local to beach, shops,bars and a bonus they have free parking. Only one tip take your hairdryer as not supplied in room but think can borrow from reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend with my son and eight of his friends. Fantastic staff on reception, the manager was as helpful as you could get allowing the boys to order pizza to be eaten in the lovely little bar, the night porter was a great guy. The rooms were very clean and well presented with nice little on suite bathrooms. Breakfast was good with " thankfully unlimited coffee" all in all for the price I would highly recommend this friendly hotel and will be back to stay soon.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterj632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studland Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

found hotel on booking.com, reasonably priced. my partner and I often go to Bournemouth for the night and stay in a hotel as it is cheaper than getting a taxi home..Hotel staff were all very polite and hotel is very clean and looks newly decorated. the room we had was again clean, the bed was comfortable, the only down side was the size of the bathroom but as only there for 1 night it met our needs, . Breakfast was pretty good with a choice of cereals but no fruit, but the full English did the job and kept us going til lunch time. would recommend.

Room Tip: room 23 looks out the front but is not too noisy/
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonnington Beach Hotel
Bonnington Beach Hotel
#119 of 132 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregonholme Hotel
Tregonholme Hotel
#47 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#29 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#46 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke Hotel

Property: Carisbrooke Hotel
Address: 42 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrooke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly hotel superbly located within a short walking distance of the beach, Bournemouth International Centre and the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Carisbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing