We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great steak”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 15 September 2011

we stayed on the 11th and 12th sept. booked online as we always do .
£29.00 per night for two adults . large room . bath and shower, hotel had problems with tv reception in some rooms including ours, moved us to another room with working tv. staff work very hard , bar staff run around and make sure everyone is served . waitresses were very quick to take our food order and we cannot fault the steaks , cooked to perfection 1 rare
1 medium . a great base for getting to know bournemouth. you must go to Chez Freds for the best fish and chips.I do not normally eat the batter but did not leave a scrap. THE BEST FISH & CHIPS I HAVE EVER HAD . fantastic stay will be back before xmas. parking not a problem as plenty of room on clarendon road.

Room Tip: we book online. £29.00 deals. be flexible to get best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tysonbruno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Bournemouth, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

I am delighted to read that your experience at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff met your expectations and that you had an amazing stay It is truly wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will certainly share your review with our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,447 - 1,453 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

It turns out that if you book online to stay at this Premier Inn, you are automatically given a 'small double' with a shower rather than a bath. You would not squeeze Lenny Henry into this room!
It seems that if you want a bath in your room, you have to ring the hotel after you have made the online booking and request one!!! I've never had this issue with Premier Inns before. I stay in them frequently for work and have always been given a room with a bath. A bath is an essential element for me for medical reasons, but I don't regard myself as needing a disabled room. I just expect that if I book a room with a bathroom I will get one. As the hotel was full I was stuck with the shower floor for my 'bath'. Not nice and left me in considerable pain.
If however you prefer a shower it had to be said that it was spotlessly clean and had good water pressure.

'Small' is a generous term for a pigmy sized room. There was less than 8 inches between the end of the bed and the desk and that space was partially obstructed by a chair! If you are the kind of person who gets up in the night to use the bathroom you won't want to sleep on that side of the bed!

The curtains weren't the usual Premier Inn standard of completely covering the window to prevent light ingress. Light came in at top and bottom, so take an eye mask.

The heating/cooling system is either 'off' or blowing a noisy gale. On a muggy night it was a choice of cooking or sleeping next to what sounded like a jet engine. Sufficient to say I didn't sleep and got up the next morning looking and feeling like a very grumpy dememtor. Not the best start to my day.

The highly priced breakfast was a disaster. The plate warmer hadn't been switched on, the eggs, bacon, mushrooms were all cold. There were no labels on the juices so selecting one was a bit like Russian roulette. The coffee machine didn't seem to be capable of more than half a cup of coffee and the toaster had two settings - burnt or raw.

On the positive side, the staff we spoke with were friendly, welcoming and polite although the issues with the online booking system had put them in an awkward situation as I was very angry. My mood wasn't improved when it took two replacement key cards to get my daughter into her room.

The hotel was extremely clean and although we were mid way along a corridor, we didn't experience any noise issues from other guests. Parking is an issue but the staff provide a map showing other 'on street' parking areas for guests to use.

So would I use the hotel again. The answer is yes, but I would book directly and insist that I have a room of the type shown in the photos! I would aim to arrive early to get a space in the car park and I would NEVER have breakfast there.

Room Tip: Phone and tell the hotel what you want rather than trusting the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwinkleyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Bournemouth, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

I am delighted to read that your experience at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff met your expectations and that you had an amazing stay It is truly wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will certainly share your review with our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Good location, clean, friendly and great food.
Breakfast is well worth the money and if you are staying with children they eat free.

Room Tip: Very Clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Chester75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Bournemouth, Director of Sales at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

I am delighted to read that your experience at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff met your expectations and that you had an amazing stay It is truly wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will certainly share your review with our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed over the August bank Holiday weekend, it was very busy, but the staff - particularly in the restaurant were very accommodating and cheerful despite the pressure they were under to cope with the large number of families with kids who were staying there. Parking is limited on site - but actually there is ample free parking within 200 metres in safe residential streets.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammerschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Bournemouth, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

I am delighted to read that your experience at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff met your expectations and that you had an amazing stay It is truly wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will certainly share your review with our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Hotel is situated behind large student accomodation so could not open window( very noisy all night ).
The double room was more like a cubicle ( with no bath ).
Restraunt was just a place for noisy people to get drunk ( not a family envioroment ).
Food order kept coming wrong due to foreign staff not understanding what i was saying.
Ratio of 4 rooms to 1 parking space so had to park nearly 1 mile away and walk to the hotel ( in the rain ).
Breakfast horrible, food available was help yourself and when there was actually any there it was burnt.
Overall very very dissapointed and as we stay at a Premierinn at least once every 2 months this has really made us think about taking our business elsewhere.
If you want a good expeience go to the Southsea Premierinn.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a family room even if your on your own otherwise you will be given a cupboard siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated by the Management Team at this hotel. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Not the best, the room was small and cramped, the air unit was huge and noisey, but if you opened the window you had constant road noise, the restaurant where the buffet breakfast is servered is far too small for the hotel, and as it had no windows was like eating your breakfast in a cellar. A long walk to town and a long walk to the beach!, and not cheap either!. On the plus side, it was the usual premier inn high standard of cleanliness and polite staff.

Room Tip: Definately ask for one at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G3KMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here over a weekend with my family and I have to say this a great hotel with its own restaurant downstairs which is great for families.
Situated in a quiet part of Bournemouth and a short walk to the city centre and beach (1 mile max).
Lovely meal in the restaurant and the staff were very pleseant and accomadating.
Rooms very clean and large. Good value for money.
We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI_Bournemouth, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

I am delighted to read that your experience at Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff met your expectations and that you had an amazing stay It is truly wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will certainly share your review with our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,039 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel

Address: Poole Road, Bournemouth BH2 5QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll love to be beside the seaside at the Premier Inn Hotel Bournemouth Westcliffe, near the golden sands of Bournemouth beach. Whether you're building sandcastles or boosting business, you can count on having a great stay. Watch rugby sevens at Bournemouth Rugby Festival, or take five strolling along the Jurassic Coast. See the Red Arrows fly at the International Air Show, or paint the town red at at one of the city's bars or nightclubs. Finally, hop back to the hotel for a wholesome meal at our onsite restaurant, limited (chargeable) parking - allocated on a first come, first served basis - and, of course, our best bed ever. Important info There is very limited parking onsite, which is allocated on a first come, first served basis and is chargeable for 5.00 GBP per day. Alternative free street parking is available nearby on Clarendon Road, please contact reception for details. This Premier Inn will have no air conditioning during the requested period due to the current units being replaced. Fans will be made available. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: At M27 (J1) take A31. At Ashley Heath Junction, branch left. At roundabout take 1st exit onto A338 signposted Bournemouth. At Bournemouth West roundabout take 1st exit (signposted Ring Road, West Cliff). At next roundabout (St Michael's) take 3rd exit (signposted Westbourne) onto Poole Road. Hotel is on the right. Please note there is very limited chargeable parking onsite, first come first served basis. Alternative free on road parking nearby. Transport and local information: Town Centre Square 1 mile Bournemouth Beach, Eye Balloon, BIC 0.5 mile Oceanarium 1 mile Bournemouth Railway Station 1.5 miles Bournemouth International Airport 7 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bournemouth Westcliffe Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing