We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Waves In

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waves In
Ranked #27 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, me, my husband and our 2 & 3 year old.
It was lovely!
Val made the weekend break so stress free, she told us places we could go to, where we could eat and what we could do.
Breakfast was great.
The room was beautiful, really high ceilings, lots of light from the huge bay window and plenty of room for the 4 of us in the one family room.
We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

It was lovely to meet you and your family, and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
41
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Had a great stay here for 2 nights this week with my daughter and 9 yr old grand daughter who now wants to redecorate her bedroom to match the family room we stayed in!. clean, very welcoming and great breakfast. loved all the little seaside touches around the place.Would have preferred the en suite to have been directly accessed from our room instead of across the hall, but it didnt spoil the stay. Great location and really handy for a walk through Boscombe Chine ( really pretty and well kept) straight on to the beach, which is much better than crowded old Bournemouth.Plenty of free parking in the road in front of the Hotel. Host Val, greeted us by name and tea/coffee supplies were good.. including ground coffee not just the usual instant. Nice supply of books and DVDs available too.

Room Tip: view from room 2 good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your grand daughter has taken inspiration from our decorations.

It was very nice to meet you all and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just back from 2 nights at this delightful B&B. I stayed in the family room with a double and single bed. I was a little apprehensive about how cramped the room might be with taking a toddler and all the stuff that goes with it but was pleasantly surprised. The hostess Val was very accommodating of my 2 year old, the bedroom was nice and the separate bathroom across the hall (for our sole use) was compact but laid out well enough to be able to bath my child with ease. Breakfast was fresh and good quality, the home made bread was a very nice touch. Not 5* for décor throughout at the moment but the owners are clearly making improvements all the time and have only been there a year so I think this place is an up and coming little gem. I couldn't fault the place for cleanliness of bedding, linen and bathrooms. Off road parking at the back was easy to find and safe, easy to walk round the back of the hotel if you have a buggy or can't manage the steps at the front. Location very good in my opinion, out the way enough to be quiet but within 3 mins you are at the main road where you can catch a bus to Boscombe centre or Bournemouth and 5 mins walk through lovely Boscombe Chine gardens straight to the beach at Boscombe Pier. At the pier you can catch the little land train along the sea front to Bournemouth which was my toddlers highlight. Over all I would definitely recommend this as a good value, clean place to stay. My only requests would be a bigger bin in the bathroom for nappies and a box of tissues in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1, ground floor so you can leave your child to sleep with the window open and be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are in the process of decorating and replacing items, but with the high season, we have had to put a stop to that for now!

We have taken note about bigger bins for the family rooms and we hope to be putting them in place soon.

It was very nice to meet you, your mum and of course your little boy. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the friendly hosts, much appreciated drinks were offered after a long drive.
We stayed in a family room with En suite, recently decorated and having everything we needed. King size bed and 2 single beds, very clean and comfortable. Fresh bottled water, teas and coffees,(ground coffee with cafetiere) hair dryer, toiletries and towels, Tv with freeview and DVD player. A selection of books and DVDs were available to borrow.
The Breakfast was fantastic with a good cooked breakfast and plenty of choice of cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit.
The hosts are allergy aware which was great as I have Coeliac Disease and have to eat a Gluten Free diet, I had forgot to mention when booking but this wasn't a problem as the hotel caters for dietary requirements, nothing was too much trouble.
Excellent location close to the beach, shops and nightlife, we had plenty of relaxing nights without being disturbed.
There is a lovely garden to sit and relax at the front of the hotel, and free on site parking.
My children were made to feel very welcome and didn't want to leave.

We would very happily recommend this hotel to anyone, couldn't ask for a nicer stay. We will be booking again next time we make a trip to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmoojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Jo it was very nice to meet you and your family, especially your two boys James and Luke.
Thank you very much for your great comments. We are aware that many people have dietary requirements, which is something we try to accommodate as best we can. We are even now offering home made bread and I am trying to perfect my gluten free bread, so next time you come to stay you will have home made bread!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very nice and friendly hostess (Val) who together with her son and daughter in law owns and runs the hotel. The service is high, the rooms are clean and the food is good. The hotel is close to a very nice Beach - though closer to the city of Boscombe (which also is a nice town) than Bournemouth. You can easily go to Bournemouth by bus or simply by walking along the Beach.

Room Tip: The Family room is small so dont count on spending a lot of time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daviddrengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
David it was very nice to meet you and your family and we hope you have enjoyed the rest of your holiday in England.
Thank you for your great comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry the size of the room was not quite what you were expecting, unfortunately the room layout is hard to change, but the two single beds can be put into chairs which we could of done for you and then when you went out for dinner we could of made them back into beds ready for when you came back in.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed last week. Received a cool drink on arrival, which was most welcome. I stayed in a single room, which had a double bed and was next to another single room and shared bathroom. If I stay again, I would request the end room as the bathroom can be busy. I also had breakfast, at an additional cost, but included a selection of yoghurts, cereal, fresh fruit and juices and also a choice of 'cooked breakfast' (I had the vegetarian option and pleased to find they were able to offer veggie sausages). Fresh coffee or tea was also available. There was also a hospitality tray in the room which included ground coffee and the important cafetiere and a large bottle of water, so I was very pleased.

Room Tip: Choose single room at end of corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cressida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Thank you for comments on this room ( as not having stayed in this room I didn't know it could be noisy), When we come to decorate this room as well as the bathroom next door and will put some sound proofing in both rooms.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just stayed over night at one of the most nicest hotels I have been to for a long time, from the moment you arrive you are greeted by smiley faces and staff who seem genuinely interested in why you are staying in the area. The rooms are very clean and outstanding and the little touches made our stay even more special.
The bed and pillows were so comfortable I could of stayed in bed forever! But when we went down to breakfast we were quite fussy with what we wanted but nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was amazing and set me up for my day ahead.
I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.
Well done guys, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkH0tel, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Amanda is was very nice to meet you and your fiancé, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for the great comments.

We wish you all the luck with your wedding next year, and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#18 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Bay Guest House
Sandy Bay Guest House
#32 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#41 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#42 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#7 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves In

Property: Waves In
Address: 14 Knole Road, Bournemouth BH1 4DQ, England (Formerly Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves In 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves In ( Formally known as The Park Hotel) is ideally situated, with being 800m from Bournemouths famous sandy beach and 1 mile from the town centre. The family run hotel offers clean, simple rooms at a competitive price. With its array of single, twin, double and family rooms all can be catered for. A hearty breakfast and packed lunches are available everyday as well as evening meals Sunday - Thursday. We are on the doorstep of the O2 academy, and many bars and restaurants, or you can relax in our small licensed bar. The B&B offers all guests a V.I.P. discount card which can be used in over 40 local venues. We are ideally situated for the recently developed Boscombe Beach. This 1 1/2 miles of beachfront offers, a surf school, beach bars and bistros and beach volleyball courts can be used here. We have a car park for guests use and can store boards, wetsuits and bikes if required. Whether coming for a relaxing seaside break, the surfing or the nightlife and entertainment we can offer you the perfect base for your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Waves In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing