We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”
Review of Waves In

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves In
Ranked #26 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked this B&B in Boscombe, as a solo traveller, after having read some good reviews about it and I'm pleased to say the 'reviewers' were absolutely right. I was greeted by Val who made me a cup of tea whilst I was checking in; I've never had that before, such a nice gesture. Being in a single room I had a shared bathroom, but this wasn't a problem as there are only a few rooms sharing it and I was able to use it whenever I wanted to. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was outstanding - home-made yogurt, lovely bread and a choice of cooked options - you definitely won't starve. It's also very close to Boscombe Chine Gardens, a short walk through which takes you straight down to the beach. I didn't get the chance to meet the other members of staff, or the lovely doggies I'd read about on the website, sadly, but Val was so friendly and welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BevH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavesinbnb, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Hi Bev,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review.

It was very nice to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry you didn't get to meet Des or Donna, but more importantly sorry you didn't get to Charlie & Arthur!

Thank you for the great words about our breakfast and we are so pleased that you enjoyed it.

We hope to see you in the future

Kind regards
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
41
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving we had to phone for parking as door bell not working. Check inn was 1600 not 1400 as stated on paperwork. We only met val who was very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and clean but the shower room is in need of tlc as it was very difficult to adjust the shower temperature to an acceptable safe temperature. WiFi within the room was non existent
The housekeeping was targeted at the tea/coffee and toilet but we had no fresh linen on the beds,including towels that were obviously used twice a day due to the weather over a 3 day period and we're wet!. The breakfast menu was basic but very nice unfortunately some body hair was found in all of our meals throughout our stay and unfortunately on the last day after serving our breakfast someone in the kitchen area decided to smoke and this drifted into the dining area which is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at Waves In. Everything from the personal welcome to my daughter wanting to meet the two Labradors whom she loved. The room was spotless and had everything you could want. We all had a very peaceful sleep and breakfast was amazing, Val even gave my daughter a Peppa pig breakfast set to get her in the mood for our day to Peppa pig world as well as a bag with crayons and sheets to colour in. We really did not want to leave so will be back for sure. Thank you for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawizzy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavesinbnb, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Hi Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and Thank you for your kind words.

It was very nice to meet you, David and of course Alicia. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you enjoyed and had a great day at Peppa Pig world.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wow... What a lovely quirky little guest house. Thank you for making our stay so welcoming.
The guest house is in a great location, 5 minutes from the beach and 20 minutes from Bournemouth.
Val makes a great breakfast, couldn't fault it. Thank you for your recommendations for Poole we had a lovely boat cruise around the harbour. Was our first trip to Bournemouth but not our last, would stay here again. All the best.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kbennett43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavesinbnb, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind words.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just got back from a weekend staying at the Waves Inn, Boscombe and we had fantastic stay. We received a warm welcome and given information about the area that was really useful. The room was lovely clean and well maintained. We would definitely stay here again. The home made bread for breakfast was delicious, a great personal touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavesinbnb, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Hi Vicki,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the future

Kind regards
Des, Donna & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruffec, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very friendly welcome but room hygene not acceptable. I had only looked at the many good reviews, after my stay i looked at the negative reviews......**************************************************

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

You can expect a lovely warm friendly welcome from Des Donna and Val. The bedrooms are beautifully clean and comfortable, with a generous hospitality tray.You can enjoy a tasty breakfast.Great location lovely walk through the park to hit the gorgeous sandy beach.This was my third stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavesinbnb, Owner at Waves In, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Hi Kim,

Thank you for you kind words and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased that you enjoy every stay with us, and we look forward to many more visits from you.

Kind regards
Des, Donna & val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Bay Guest House
Sandy Bay Guest House
#34 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#42 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#43 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#7 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves In

Property: Waves In
Address: 14 Knole Road, Bournemouth BH1 4DQ, England (Formerly Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves In 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves In ( Formally known as The Park Hotel) is ideally situated, with being 800m from Bournemouths famous sandy beach and 1 mile from the town centre. The family run hotel offers clean, simple rooms at a competitive price. With its array of single, twin, double and family rooms all can be catered for. A hearty breakfast and packed lunches are available everyday as well as evening meals Sunday - Thursday. We are on the doorstep of the O2 academy, and many bars and restaurants, or you can relax in our small licensed bar. The B&B offers all guests a V.I.P. discount card which can be used in over 40 local venues. We are ideally situated for the recently developed Boscombe Beach. This 1 1/2 miles of beachfront offers, a surf school, beach bars and bistros and beach volleyball courts can be used here. We have a car park for guests use and can store boards, wetsuits and bikes if required. Whether coming for a relaxing seaside break, the surfing or the nightlife and entertainment we can offer you the perfect base for your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Waves In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing