We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel, highly recommended”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A couple of hundred metres back from the busy main cliff top road this hotel is a relaxing haven with very polished service and delivery. The Cliff House hotel has apparently not been open for long but there were no teething issues apparent when we stayed. The staff were very welcoming to the point that you really start to feel at home here. The food platters they serve in the bar were exceptional and very good value. The breakfast was superb, never had a Full Dorset breakfast before, it was great. The staff really seem to have thought about everything, we even had a choice of no less than 8 different shampoo and bath gels. White fluffy bath robes and Nespresso machines in the room add to the feeling that this place is a cut above the rest. I've added it to my list of favourite boutique hotels around the country and will definitely be back. Thanks to everyone at the Cliff House for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 furthest away from the bar and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff_house2014, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you and do come back and try the Full Dorset afternoon Tea - its a fabulous indulgence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

After a busy week at work I headed to Bournemouth for the weekend and what I just needed was somewhere to crash out. When I got to Cliffhouse hotel I was not only nicely surprised by the magnificence of its building but also by the friendly welcome at the reception. A drink seemed a good idea to unwind and I sat in a very comfortable sofa overlooking the gardens in a high standard decorated area of their bar. The room was very comfortable, had a flat screen TV, wifi Nespresso coffee machine, soft towels and the mattress was a dream. The breakfast was beautifully presented with a Michelin standard quality. I was deeply impressed and Cliffhouse hotel is now my first choice hotel whenever I go down to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff_house2014, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Please visit us again soon, we enjoy welcoming back existing guests and have added a few extras to the menu and drinks - Sunday lunch also available from July 6th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Cliff House Hotel promised to relax, revive and refresh and it certainly did. We arrived on Saturday afternoon, the welcome was warm and the staff extremely helpful. The weather was amazing so we headed out on the short walk to the beach. When we returned to the hotel the sun was still shining so we took advantage of this in the beautiful gardens with a G&T! The food was excellent with great choices of light bites, lunches, afternoon tea, dinner and sharing platters on the menu - we would certainly recommend the fish platter, all locally sourced too! The rooms have been decorated to a high standard and very comfortable, the Nespresso machine was a real hit. We would certainly recommend this hotel and will be visiting again with family soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff_house2014, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

We are so pleased that our Hotel strap line lived up to its intention - we have added Summer cocktails and additions to the menu too. Looking forward to welcoming you with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were most impressed by the high standards of this hotel which is a quiet location within easy walking distance of shops, seafront and beach. Our room was very comfortable, the food excellent the staff and management were very helpful and obliging. We would certainly recommend this Hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: We had ground floor room No 2 which was quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff_house2014, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased to have met your expectations - please do not hesitate to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

When I arrived at the Cliff House Hotel, I was welcomed by very friendly staff. That's when the good impression started. I then walked into this beautifully done up bar/lounge area – a perfectly inviting place for a relaxing drink after the drive down from London and before going to the room. From the conservatory area of the lounge, a view of the grounds. I was tempted to just stay there but I was too curious to check out my abode for the Bank Holiday weekend. I opened my room door and as I scanned the room my eyes were attracted in different directions: the fluffy soft white bath sheet, the flat screen smart TV, the Nespresso coffee machine (yes!)... I was very pleased. The breakfast menu catered for all tastes – from Continental breakfast items to a variety of hot stuff. By the way, the dining room features two amazingly impressive infinity mirrors! I forgot to mention that the bar menus (drinks and bar food) will not disappoint. Anyway, I knew I had to get out and visit and explore some sites in Christchurch/Bournemouth, so my stay at The Cliff House Hotel felt too short. That can only mean one thing: I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff_house2014, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

We all look forward to welcoming you back - we have some new additions to the bar food and Summer cocktails and the garden is in full bloom with music on some evenings too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This new hotel in Southbourne Dorset was personally recommended to me, what a recommendation! I was lucky enough to be one of the first guests to stay here... From the decor of the hotel right through to the Nespresso machine and choccies in my room, my stay was fabulous. Had a great nights sleep with one of the best breakfasts I have had, one word porridge! You have to try the honey option oh and the full dorset, a huge thanks to Tim and his wonderful team. Roll on my next stay in June, thank you again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff_house2014, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and delighted that you enjoyed the recommended Honey Porridge option. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fifipops65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff_house2014, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
3.2 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
#1 of 131 in Bournemouth
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 131 in Bournemouth
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 131 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Urban Beach Hotel
The Urban Beach Hotel
#15 of 131 in Bournemouth
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: 13 Belle Vue Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £74 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is seasonally closed for the winter. It will reopen 2nd April 2018. Cliff House Hotel is a unique, must-stay destination for anyone who wants to truly experience the beauty and history of the Dorset coastline. Nestled in the idyllic town of Southbourne, a relaxed yet still bustling location not far from lively Bournemouth, it's the perfect location to soak up the natural richness of the South.With the stunning New Forest, the exclusive beaches of Sandbanks and the dramatic Jurassic Coast just a short drive away, there is no better place to base yourself while in Bournemouth.Cliff House Hotel enjoys a warm atmosphere with a fusion of interior design styles blending historic charm with modern refinement. When you walk through our doors you'll feel immediately at home, leaving you at ease to enjoy everything we have to offer. Our charming boutique hotel is managed by an award-winning team, dedicated to offering guests a professional service. Our large landscaped garden, terrace and bright indoor lounge area lend themselves perfectly to enjoy a relaxing breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea and all have the warm atmosphere that we've become so well known for. Also open to non-residents, our bar and lounge area has a warm and gently bustling atmosphere and serves delicious food from 10am to 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing