We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

More than recommended!!! Excellent location, 5 star breakfast.
One of the best B&B we've ever been.
It's a no brainer to be back if we visit the area again.
Beautiful house with large modern rooms. The superb breakfast in the conservatory is
just icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ivasivka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for one night at this superior b&b. What a fantastic place! Excellent room, very tasty and well presented breakfast, brilliant service, everything you could ask for! Would highly recommend it & definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We are very happy to recommend Bed and Breakfast by the Beach. We stayed 4 days and in that time could not find fault with anything. Chris and John are most thoughtful and cheerful. Breakfasts are superb with a fantastic choice. My favourite was the fresh fruit and smoothies (different each morning) and the eggs benedict.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and homely with just about every comfort one could wish for (the jar of rocky road especially nice touch for me and there was even a gluten free alternative for my husband) and the attention to detail is immaculate. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

B&B by the beach sets a high standard and is one of the best we have stayed in. The owners are welcoming and obliging, they are clearly passionate about their business and the hotel trade. Our room was furnished and equipped to a high standard, everything had been thought of. Little touches like a fridge on the landing with fresh milk, rather than one of those annoying mini fridges rattling as it turns on and off in your room. Breakfast and the breakfast room make breakfast a delight. Superb choice of fruits, yogurts etc (even Vegemite for those of missing their Aussie food fix!) , followed by a multiple choice of cooked items. Peaceful location, near Christchurch and only 10 mins from centre of Bournemouth. Off road parking. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoosaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I booked the b&b for me my dad and his friend for two nights in October for short break away, WOW it beat our expectations of a B&B, John and Chris are fantastic hosts, so warm and welcoming, nothing is too much for them, The rooms are beautifully decorated and the en-suites are a great size, the breakfasts in the morning are amazing, we had fruit and yoghurt and then John and Chris make a wonderful hot breakfast. There is a beautiful breakfast room and a beautiful garden. We couldn't have asked for more on our trip away. We will most definitely be going back again in the Spring :)

This B&B is Fab if you like a home from home feel

Thank you John and Chris

Room Tip: If you are looking to stay somewhere quiet and out of the town but near to the beach, this is the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank naidene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

To emphasise what other reviewers have said, this is a very special place to stay within a couple of minutes walk from the quiet and unspoilt beach of Southbourne. The service is consistently outstanding in every respect. John and Chris remember a guest's individual preferences and take and interest in their daily news. Breakfast is incredible - better than any 5 star hotel. Rooms are spotlessly clean, brightly decorated and modern with comfortable beds and quality linens. There is every amenity you could need including umbrella, torch & range of glasses for wine, water etc. Plus the fresh flowers throughout and yummy goodies on the hospitality tray. I particularly like that the rooms are serviced immediately when guests leave for the day so you don't come back around lunchtime to find your room still unmade as in many hotels. Overall, coming to stay feels like a second home. It is equally perfect for solo travel as well as for couples. This was my third visit within 3 months because staying here makes me want to spend all my leisure time in Bournemouth. Thank you John & Chris

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have now had our second trip back to this truly superior Bed & Breakfast,It did not disappoint us it is just like home from home,Chris & John are so welcoming & friendly .There are all the little touches in the rooms that make this place "Outstanding ," with fresh flowers in the bedroom each day ,as well as so many other little things,even a little umbrella popped in a drawer,Very thoughtful on a showery day..Lovely crisp white bedlinen, comfortable beds,spotlessly clean,,Fantastic choice of breakfasts you are truly spoilt for choice and not rushed or made to feel you are being a nuisance,Each request is served with a beaming smile from Chris or a bright and friendly quip from John !.
We had thought of buying our own little property by the sea ,but why do that when we have found such a truly fantastic haven ..Please visit here ,you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are furnished tastefully and always very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 131 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 131 in Bournemouth
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#5 of 131 in Bournemouth
798 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
#6 of 131 in Bournemouth
682 reviews
4 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#8 of 131 in Bournemouth
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. Voted by Tripadvisor reviewers as 5th best B & B / Inn 2016 UK & 13th best in the world 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast by the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing