We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd wonderful visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
gravesend
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2nd wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

On our 2nd visit this year we were greeted by Christ & John the most friendly charming couple you could wish to meet. Our room was spotless and welcoming with beautiful fresh roses and a jar of home made rocky road cake, also other home cooked cakes for all to help yourself to. Breakfasts are amazing and so much to choose from all served in a delightful area looking onto a beautiful garden. This wonderful b& b could show a first class hotel how guests should be treated. Thank you for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
244
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Originally we were going to stay in a hotel to visit the Bournemouth area. We decided though to try a quality B&B instead to get the personal care offered. This place certainly gave us that with such a high attention to detail being delivered in all areas. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MandySteiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just spent the best long weekend away here! Chris and John are amazing hosts and they truly have a home away from home here. It is right by the beach, but you are not in the centre of the town, it is such a lovely quiet spot in Southbourne! Chris makes the most unbelievable sweet treats for their guests, every day something new and different! They really take care of you and you feel like home all the time.
Their breakfasts are the best, with smoothies included and specials of the day! I took some pictures, but it doesn't do the BnB any justice! We were so happy there, away from everything for a few days! Thank you John and Chris for all your hospitality!!
Maria and Shahin

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maribel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A fantastic B&B run by a friendly and welcoming couple. Lots of little extras like free home made cake and proper milk in the fridge for tea in your room! A very short walk to the beach (2mins) and local restaurants/shops/takeaways. Huge choice of food for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear look over the lovely garden full of wildlife and birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here as one of my old friends in the area was celebrating his 60th birthday. We found the accommodation superb with very comfortable beds, the best breakfast I have had anywhere in the world not forgetting the little treats in the form of home made cup cakes etc. which were put out just to help yourselves. Still and sparkling water in the room as well as tea making facilities with fresh milk from the fridge in the corridor if you wanted it. John and Chris are certainly the hosts with the most. I would most certainly stay here again anytime I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ULRICH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

John and Chris thank you so much for a lovely 36hour escape -everything was perfect.
On arrival a chilled bottle of Prosecco and an anniversary card so so thoughtful thank you.
Chilled in the garden with said Prosecco watching playful squirrels so relaxing, our host John kindly took us to our Dinner venue a good 15mins drive away, so kind. Breakfast was truly amazing and probably one of the best we have ever had lots of fresh fruit granola followed by Eggs benedict out of this world. Faultless thank you don't change a thing. Oh yes and the Rocky Road mmmmmm fab!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at the b&b by the sea,
On booking over the telephone John was cheerful and Very helpful,

When we arrived, we were greeted with a big smile and a homely welcome, showed to are room, showed the fridge with Fresh milk, still and sparkling water! And a selection of Home made cakes ( I did consider staying in the landing)

Are room was amazing, well presented, extremely clean, and it had everything you could want, plenty of drink supplies, a comfortable bed, two seats, stunning blinds and a great view of there lovely garden and a glimpse of the sea :)

The bathroom was of the highest standard and very modern, again they have thought of everything, even down to ear buds!

Our sleep was great, no external noise, just a relaxing sleep ( def needed )

Once we woke up, we headed down for breakfast, NOW this is a feast!
Pretty much like eating at a hotel abroad! Just make sure you try the home made smoothies!

There really is no faults here, excellent service, stunning rooms, Really nice genuine couple who know how to treat customers.

Thank you so much, we have come home refreshed and relaxed.
We will be returning without a doubt.

Adey and Nicola

Ps: make sure you eat out in Christchurch,

Italian: pico chinos

And the Ship Inn. Both were excellent

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ade p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
3.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
2.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Guest House
Beach Lodge Guest House
#2 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Property: Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Channel 4 'Four in a bed,' We are superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing