We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT RECOMMENDATION!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West End, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT RECOMMENDATION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were recommended to stay here by very close friends after their visit last year, and we were looking for somewhere to take my Husband's Mother for a trip away to revisit Bournemouth from her childhood.
We were welcomed by John shown to a beautifully clean rooms and offered freshly baked cakes and cold still and sparking water and fresh milk in the fridge as soon as we arrived.
The rooms were very tastefully decorated with every attention to detail down to floss in the bathroom, the towels smelt divine and everything was spotless.
We were given our own key so we could come back at any time and were given a wonderful recommendation for an evening meal by Chris which was outstanding at The Reef in Christchurch.
The next day our choice for breakfast was wonderful with a daily Specials Board to choose from as well!
I had the best hollandaise sauce I have ever tasted and as ever their hospitality over breakfast was so warm and welcoming.
My Husband and I cant thank you enough and we will definitely be back as a couple so that we can walk some of the beautiful coastline of Bournemouth and enjoy some more amazing hospitality.
Thank you Chris and John.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
244
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

They are a lovely couple...their home is beautiful...they ve thought of every small detail and have it covered....breakfast was delightful...can t wait to go back next week...x:) The rooms are comfortable...temperature and access to fresh air great...the furnishings stylish...the facilities comprehensive... the beds supportive and the pillows perfect.....need I say more ....heavenly when you have a busy week. ..ps complementary homemade lemon drizzle cake next to your bedroom was seriously good for the soul even if bad for the waistline.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollerau
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed two days, we must plan to go longer next time. Chris and John run an exceptionally comfortable and friendly B&B with an excellent breakfast. Special attention to small details make the stay even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sianenderli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gravesend
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

On our 2nd visit this year we were greeted by Christ & John the most friendly charming couple you could wish to meet. Our room was spotless and welcoming with beautiful fresh roses and a jar of home made rocky road cake, also other home cooked cakes for all to help yourself to. Breakfasts are amazing and so much to choose from all served in a delightful area looking onto a beautiful garden. This wonderful b& b could show a first class hotel how guests should be treated. Thank you for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Originally we were going to stay in a hotel to visit the Bournemouth area. We decided though to try a quality B&B instead to get the personal care offered. This place certainly gave us that with such a high attention to detail being delivered in all areas. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MandySteiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just spent the best long weekend away here! Chris and John are amazing hosts and they truly have a home away from home here. It is right by the beach, but you are not in the centre of the town, it is such a lovely quiet spot in Southbourne! Chris makes the most unbelievable sweet treats for their guests, every day something new and different! They really take care of you and you feel like home all the time.
Their breakfasts are the best, with smoothies included and specials of the day! I took some pictures, but it doesn't do the BnB any justice! We were so happy there, away from everything for a few days! Thank you John and Chris for all your hospitality!!
Maria and Shahin

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maribel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A fantastic B&B run by a friendly and welcoming couple. Lots of little extras like free home made cake and proper milk in the fridge for tea in your room! A very short walk to the beach (2mins) and local restaurants/shops/takeaways. Huge choice of food for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear look over the lovely garden full of wildlife and birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
3.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
2.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Guest House
Beach Lodge Guest House
#2 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Property: Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Channel 4 'Four in a bed,' We are superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing