We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant independent hotel!”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Have just had a great weekend away in Bournemouth with my daughter, stayed at The West Cliff Inn, warm, friendly welcome from the staff, plenty of FREE parking space, free wifi - which pleased my daughter very much! A lovely, modern, fresh room with all the useful things which you do not get in the budget hotel chains, tea / coffee facilities, ironing board / hair dryer - important for girls away from home! and a modern,flat screen TV. Bathroom was clean and of a good size. I would and will be, recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AmberWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for West Cliff Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel booking was made for me by my employer due to it's competitive rates for me to stay in whilst attending a training course in Bouremouth. The hotel is brilliant, I have stayed there for leisure visits to B'mth before and recommended it to my employer for this reason. The hotel is good value for money, has a fantastic bar to relax in after a hard day with very reasonable prices, I am always made to feel welcome by the friendly staff & found the room clean, comfortable and stylish. The free parking and free wifi is an absolute bonus. I will be recommending the hotel to friends & certainly intend to return again soon myself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Vezzerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have stayed at the West Cliff Inn on several occassions and have yet to be disappointed. Me and my partner recently revisited Bournemouth and stayed at the West Cliff Inn, we decided that this is our must stay spot when we come here.

The room is always spotless and crisp, the staff very welcoming and helpful, restaurant produces excellent food and the bar is always well stocked with a relaxed and fun atmosphere.
It is the ideal base to explore Bournemouth being close to the main beach attractions and the BIC, within walking distance of the shops and clubs.

I have stayed at many other hotels in the area and the West Cliff is the only one I have been back to. For all of the above reasons and the amazing value for money too

Overall we think this is one the best hotels in Bournemouth and believe you must come and stay if you want a pleasent relaxed atmosphere

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed two nights at the West cliff inn, could not have stayed any more in a room that size.
The staff at the desk was very friendly. The room was warm.
When you look at the room it was not very clean, the blinds full of dust, windows had mould on.
The bathroom was not clean at all, towel rail was dusty, when you run your finger along it was very very dusty. the bottom of the toilet, was disgusting (see Photo) cleaned the seat before use.

Room Tip: do not go for an economy room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Same as the guy below I too had money deducted from a card they were "holding against my booking".... So unprofessional. Nobody was able to answer my questions. No terms and conditions available to the customer although beware because they will continue to refer you to them (even though they don't exist!).

Do not give them your card details, because despite what they tell you they WILL use them.

Absolutely awful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
5  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Manager at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

We at the West Cliff Inn do not take money from any credit or debit card unless the customer books advance purchase rate which is charged at the time of booking and standard rates are pay on arrival,the customer has a choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Fantastic trip to Bournemouth The Westcliff Inn made our stay very pleasant will definatly be returning!
Booked a Standard Double Room which was much better than expected! plently of room,very clean, modern and just amazing. Beds were very comfortable which was an additional bonus. Bathrooms were fab! decent size, very very clean and clearly newly refurblished.
Onsite parking plently of room. Free wifi. the bar was very reasonablly priced and staff were amazing.
I will definatly recommend WestCliff and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Manager at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Went for stag do and we all had good time. The bar is top notch with cheap and cheerful price. We managed to get 2 beers for £2.90. Hopefully will be returning in the summer for a friend stag do again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 67 in Bournemouth
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#46 of 67 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £39 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing