We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!!!”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never again!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had pre-booked and pre-paid to stay at the West Cliff Inn for two nights whilst attending a friend's wedding in a nearby hotel. All I can say is 'never again!!!' The room was small and cramped, although I had previously read that rooms were small. Rooms were not that clean, although the linen was. However, when I investigated the mattress it was far from clean!!! We were directly above the bar and on the main road. When we arrived at 5pm we could hear a couple arguing in the room opposite, At 5am the argument was still ongoing! The noise from the road outside was dreadful, with clubbers passing by shouting abuse. Whenever anyone went to the toilet in the surrounding rooms you could hear everything. The man next door obviously had no problems sleeping as his snoring was quite apparent in our room. By 5am we had had enough having had no sleep whatsoever!!! needless to say I was on my phone booking a room in another hotel, for our second nights stay, far, far away from this dump - in fact this 'hotel' had more of a hostel feel to it. By 8.30am we had packed our bags, checked out and escaped from our nightmare. In fact when we handed the key in, the receptionist wasn't even aware that we should have been there for two nights, I was so pleased to be leaving that I didn't even stop to inform them of our dreadful night and that we had lost our money for the second nights stay. Had I been staying at this hotel alone, I would have been scared to go onto the corrider at night to go and complain at reception due to the variuos arguments taking place outside our door and in surrounding rooms. This whole experience spoilt what should have been a pleasant weekend in Bournemouth. Thankfully the next B&B couldnt have been more hospitable and allowed us to check in at 9am the following morning!

Room Tip: Don't choose any of their rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Heather
I am so sorry to hear your stay was so unpleasant. We appreciate your comments and will take them into account to improve our service.
However, I wish you had informed reception about the noise and how bad a night you were having, so we could have changed you to a quieter room.

Thanks for your comments

Rocio
Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    98
    61
    44
    45
See reviews for
25
195
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

As the PRO for a Barbershop Chorus I recently organised for the chorus to stay at the WestCliff Inn Hotel, over the May Bank holiday 2013. As a group, with partners, we were 42 strong. All of those who I arranged to stay wish to pass on their thanks to Mansoor, his brother and their staff. Rooms were very comfortable and with just a short walk to the centre we found it ideally placed for the BIC and shops. Car parking was not an issue as the hotel has reasonable front and rear car parking spaces along with off road parking to the rear. The breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard. The Bar was well stocked and very reasonable in pricing. Would we stay again? There is no question about that as there was a big yes from my chorus members. Thanks again from Solent City Chorus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.
It was wonderful having you here and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rocio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Was a pleasant stay, with friendly staff on reception who were very helpful. Single room was narrow but enough room to move, bathroom and sleeping area very clean and tidy, bed comfortable, all basics supplied inc hair-dryer, ironing board/iron etc. Breakfast was absolutely fine. The room was at front next to main road so some traffic noise, but not too bad. Would definitely stay again and found it to be great value on a very busy bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lewis6203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rocio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Well what can i say but fantastic, fun and highly recommend..
Stayed at this hotel for 3 days and had exceptionally good treatment from the owners.
Their service was above and beyond any hotel i have stayed in..because of 24 hr reception they also kept the bar open for us til we went to bed.. They recommended takeaways and supplied us with plates and cutlery at no extra cost..
The rooms are clean and tidy, not far from the center of town..
I would definately stay at this hotel everytime i go to bournemouth just for the hospitality alone..

Room Tip: rooms to the back are quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nov000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy your stay was pleasant and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rocio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I went here for a birthday weekend and had an amazing stay. Honestly great value for money one of the best hotels I have visited in the price range. Staff were friendly always smiling and very welcoming. For the value of the room I was surprised at the room as it was decent and I was expecting less when I originally booked. Cleanliness was very good also i had no complaints what so ever. Location is ideal, short walk from town center/beach everything was more or less in walking reach. Will be back again as I was very impressed indeed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dom_black12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I have just come back from 2 nights here ... there was a lovely welcoming man at reception upon arriving and to be honest he was there most of the time he was very helpful and very friendly later on in the stay another ( larger ) man with glasses appeared he was very rude wouldn't speak and when we asked for more milk he said if its to hand you can have it if not then im afraid not..!!! this man weather hes the owner or not needs to stop working there as if it wasn't for the friendly man this would be a poor rating .. the room was ok nothing special but I got it on a late deal and got it cheap and it was the economy room I certainly wouldn't pay full price for it though , the on suite was fab lovely shower and very tidy ... we didn't eat here though so cant comment on that .. plenty of parking and only short walk into town and to the beach , there is also a lift but there is only steps into the hotel and once getting out the lift theres a couple of steps so no good for disabled people .. when checking out the miserable man was on reception watching something on a device or telly we gave they key back and said thank you very much he just took they key and went back to watching telly we said do we need to sign anything he replied no and put his head back down , there was no thank you for your stay or nothing I wish I got there names and the skinny man was fantastic very friendly

Room Tip: don't go for economy unless its a young ones drinking weekend away as they wouldn't notice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I arrived on tuesday night, the hotel was suprisingly busy and was greeted very warmly at reception, check in was quick. Upon entering the room I was taken aback at how small it was and having stayed here before, knew most of the rooms were bigger than this. I rang reception and they were so nice, and didnt make me feel embarrassed at all at requesting a room change - not something i had ever done before. They changed my keys and rang me shortly after to make sure the room was okay. This is a well located hotel with a lovely foyer and lounge area. We were really impressed with the staff and customer service and based on this alone we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#46 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn
Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing