We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faulty towers”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
waky
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“faulty towers”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

if you want a poor hotel chose this one!
we arrived friday night,easy check in,got to room,very dated room,clean bedding,that was it,
the floors felt dirt on bare feet,the bathroom i thought was clean until i got in the shower,which then turned into a bath,plug hole blocked with hair and i have none !
the tiles behind me was falling off,felt dirty when i got out,also due to the fact that we only got 1 tiny bar of soap,no shampoo nothing else!
and two towells,1 each !not changed the following day.
for two nights all we could hear was squeeking floor boards above us,very noisy.
overall i would give a miss and stay else ware.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davewaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    102
    63
    45
    45
See reviews for
25
200
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

West cliff inn was quite a pleasant stay, it was very nice, had a friendly staff and was kept very very clean which was a huge plus. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great hotel and a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Amy

Thanks for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Rocio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked what was classed as a suite but was in fact two very small bedrooms put together. They had not even taken the bedhead board and lights out of the 'lounge'. The tv only had half a screen working, it was replaced the next day but still only had a few channels. The double (not king size) bed was up against the wall so you would have to climb over each other to get out, we moved the bed but then could not open or shut the door. The bathroom had a very small sink and no shelves for your toiletries, shower could have done with a clean too. would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cazpet_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry the room did not match your expectations, but you will see the description on the website is very accurate: A lounge and separate bedroom feature in this suite, which has modern furnishings, a 32-inch LCD TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a private bathroom. The website actually features a few pictures in which you can see the room.
Regarding the TV, this suite is equipped with two 32" LCD TVs, and even though one of them was not working 100%, we replaced it as soon as we could.

Again, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the West Cliff Inn for 5 nights at the beginning of June.
On arrival, we were welcomed by the owner, who was very helpful and gave us lots of useful information. All the staff, during our stay were very friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our room was very spacious, comfortable and obviously recently refurbished. The en-suite had a large walk-in shower and very modern fitments. Everywhere was very clean and well looked after.
The hotel is very well situated for easy access to Durley Chine and the beach. and it is also within walking distance to the shopping centre.
We would certainly return to this hotel, and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hilary62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Hilary
thank you so much for your kind review. It was our pleasure having you here. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rocio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enfield
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel was not too far from the town center and only a short walk to the seafront, We have been to Bournemouth 3 times recently so we didn't want to stay in an expensive hotel, and this one was good value (but breakfast is extra) . Our room was small but modern and clean, I did request an en-suite with a bath but we were given 1 with a shower and no apology. Our room had not been serviced by 4.p.m !! and by the time they did get round to us, we said not to worry ( as we were getting ready to go out then). There was very loud talking in the corridor at 3.a.m but no-one came from reception to sort it out! Car parking was free, a bonus in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GINGEREnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Recepcionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear guest
thanks for your review. We would like to apologize for not having an available room with a bathtub on the dates you booked, as well as for not having your room ready by 4 pm. We take all of your comments very seriously and will take them into account to improve our service.
Hope to see you again soon.

Rocio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My friend and I stayed for the weekend. We were welcomed by an extremely friendly man at reception. The room was very clean, it was modern and stylish with a nice toilet/shower room. The street was quite noisy on the Friday night with people passing by but Saturday night was surprisingly fine.
I recommend this hotel. I will return sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandyJaneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Recepcionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Rocio.
Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Very well located with easy access to the center and the beach. The room was spacious and comfortable,all spotless. All service personnel showed willing to help and were very friendly with us. Definitely a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ellissabete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Recepcionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
It was great having you here! Thanks for your kind review, we hope to see you again soon.

Rocio.
Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#46 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn
Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing