We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it if you can”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I booked this room over a busy and very hot weekend in July, so I can appreciate that the stay would not be 100% perfect.
However, our room was located not too far from the Hotel Kitchen and I could clearly hear 'Euro Pop' being played loudly from that area at 7am on a Saturday morning, which I did not appreciate being woken up by.
The manager is very rude, unprofessional and unhelpful. When requesting a non alcoholic beverage I was laughed at, which I found ignorant. I then requested an ice coffee shouldn't be an issue on a hot day when it is on the menu on the front of the bar. The manager responded with "supply and demand", I responded that I felt he should remove anything he couldn't supply to his customers off of the menu.
I was also disappointed to find no help with pre booking a cab with one member of staff, fortunately the Westcliff Inn has a female receptionist who was polite, considerate and helpful. She is one of very few good things about this hotel.
I also found it odd that there was no soap option for the shower, no plastic cups for water and no biscuit available with tea and coffee.
I stay in Bournemouth a lot and have never felt the need to publicly complain about any other hotel/ b&b...this establishment really deserves this negative review.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthernBelleobvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear guest
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We will take your comments into account to help us improve our service.
Please accept our apologies, we would love to have you back sometime.

Rocio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

if you want a poor hotel chose this one!
we arrived friday night,easy check in,got to room,very dated room,clean bedding,that was it,
the floors felt dirt on bare feet,the bathroom i thought was clean until i got in the shower,which then turned into a bath,plug hole blocked with hair and i have none !
the tiles behind me was falling off,felt dirty when i got out,also due to the fact that we only got 1 tiny bar of soap,no shampoo nothing else!
and two towells,1 each !not changed the following day.
for two nights all we could hear was squeeking floor boards above us,very noisy.
overall i would give a miss and stay else ware.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davewaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

West cliff inn was quite a pleasant stay, it was very nice, had a friendly staff and was kept very very clean which was a huge plus. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great hotel and a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Amy

Thanks for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Rocio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked what was classed as a suite but was in fact two very small bedrooms put together. They had not even taken the bedhead board and lights out of the 'lounge'. The tv only had half a screen working, it was replaced the next day but still only had a few channels. The double (not king size) bed was up against the wall so you would have to climb over each other to get out, we moved the bed but then could not open or shut the door. The bathroom had a very small sink and no shelves for your toiletries, shower could have done with a clean too. would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cazpet_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry the room did not match your expectations, but you will see the description on the website is very accurate: A lounge and separate bedroom feature in this suite, which has modern furnishings, a 32-inch LCD TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a private bathroom. The website actually features a few pictures in which you can see the room.
Regarding the TV, this suite is equipped with two 32" LCD TVs, and even though one of them was not working 100%, we replaced it as soon as we could.

Again, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the West Cliff Inn for 5 nights at the beginning of June.
On arrival, we were welcomed by the owner, who was very helpful and gave us lots of useful information. All the staff, during our stay were very friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our room was very spacious, comfortable and obviously recently refurbished. The en-suite had a large walk-in shower and very modern fitments. Everywhere was very clean and well looked after.
The hotel is very well situated for easy access to Durley Chine and the beach. and it is also within walking distance to the shopping centre.
We would certainly return to this hotel, and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hilary62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Hilary
thank you so much for your kind review. It was our pleasure having you here. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rocio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel was not too far from the town center and only a short walk to the seafront, We have been to Bournemouth 3 times recently so we didn't want to stay in an expensive hotel, and this one was good value (but breakfast is extra) . Our room was small but modern and clean, I did request an en-suite with a bath but we were given 1 with a shower and no apology. Our room had not been serviced by 4.p.m !! and by the time they did get round to us, we said not to worry ( as we were getting ready to go out then). There was very loud talking in the corridor at 3.a.m but no-one came from reception to sort it out! Car parking was free, a bonus in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GINGEREnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Recepcionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear guest
thanks for your review. We would like to apologize for not having an available room with a bathtub on the dates you booked, as well as for not having your room ready by 4 pm. We take all of your comments very seriously and will take them into account to improve our service.
Hope to see you again soon.

Rocio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My friend and I stayed for the weekend. We were welcomed by an extremely friendly man at reception. The room was very clean, it was modern and stylish with a nice toilet/shower room. The street was quite noisy on the Friday night with people passing by but Saturday night was surprisingly fine.
I recommend this hotel. I will return sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandyJaneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Recepcionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Rocio.
Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
992 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £37 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing