We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and uncheerful”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“cheap and uncheerful”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by the receptionist / manager.
I travel on business a lot and of course all my hotels are prebooked before I arrive by my office.
I was in fear that I would not have been able to stay as I did not have the card originally booked and paid for even though I had all the confirmation emails etc.
This has never happened in my whole time travelling around for work.
Eventually after whipping out documents with my work address on I was allowed to stay.

I was also advised that if I was going out it would be best to be back before 12am as I would have been locked out over night- not that I had any intention of staying out past 11 on a Thursday night but feel these terms should be stipulated when booking as I have been to Bournemouth before and would of been severely dissapointed if I had time restrictions whilst on holiday.

Room was pokey and small and the blind kept bashing against the radiator every time the bed moved.

Shower fluctuated in temperature and also pressure making the experience very uncomfortable.

Used condom on roof outside window

Have asked my office to never book over night stays here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflyer8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest, we are sorry you have not enjoyed your stay.
For security reasons we must check the identity of every customer who is staying at the hotel. Sorry if our rules bothered you.
Doors are closed after midnight and until 7am but there is a bell at the door for guests can get in the hotel during these hours.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. Please accept our apologies for our late response.
Regards.
Yaiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    102
    63
    45
    45
See reviews for
25
200
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a fantastic gem, just a stone throw away from Bournemouth beaches and it's town centre.

My hotel room which was great value, was a good size and was cleaned every morning. The staff were very polite and hardworking. With a good sized car park, CCTV and a 24 hr concierge service. I felt very secure leaving my belongings while I went out about my business in the day.

The downstairs entertainment bar was more the satisfactory for me to have a drink and be social with the other guests. As well as the two owners, who were always very friendly tans respectable.

The establishment also provides fasts and Free Wi-FI - which I found to be less common in hotels these days.

Overall my stay was very enjoyable and I will be coming back. We'll done guys, keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoftwareArc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear customer. We really appreciate your review and we would like to say thank you for your positive opinion.
We hope to see you again at West Cliff Inn,
Sincerely

Yaiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I cannot list all the superlatives for this hotel, so here are a few...
Firstly this is a family run hotel, who have been in the business for a very long time and it shows! The location is a stone throw away form Bournemouth beaches and then atone centre. The staff are hard working and always greet you with a warm, friendly smile. The rooms are a good size and are cleaned regularly every morning. The establishment has a 24 hr concierge service so security is not a issue.
During my time I have been treated with nothing but respect and kindness and would honestly recommend, West Cliff Inn to my friends and family. Really well done guys!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear customer, your review helps us to work harder because we would like to make the same impression in every guest that stay with us.
We hope to see you soon again and give you our best service.
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
Best wishes.
Yaiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked this Hotel as a last minute booking, as we were visiting our grand children. We found this Hotel to be of exceptional value, with full amenities, Iron, Hair-dryer and full tea and coffee making facilities.
The rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable, and the Manager more than accommodating, as due to a noisy neighbour, the Manager moved our room for the second nights stay without any hesitation.
Thank you for such a wonderful 2 night stay, we will be back, and highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are of high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelecara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear customer, thank you very much indeed for such a kind review.
We're glad you have enjoyed our services and we're looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Had such a lovely weekend stayed in the West cliff for two night's for the first time and was a lovely clean hotel and great memeber of staff me and my partner was up till 11pm -12 chatting away with the two gentle men who own it and they were lovely and very welcoming. The receptionist was lovely too she was very kind and bubbly. Hotel was a perfect stay for a weekend away its very close to everything you need and about 5 mins walk to the town. I will defiantly be coming back to West Cliff Hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is good. I had a basic double room and done us brilliant. Slept lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Sarah,
It was our pleasure to have you as our customers.
Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review. We're glad you have enjoyed our hotel and service and we hope to see you soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

As always, my stay at the West Cliff Inn was enjoyable thanks to Mans and his wonderful team who look after the guests. The rooms are always well kept, the towels and bedlinen are spotless and tea and coffee is supplied along with a good sized TV. All the the rooms are spacious and the location is excellent for the town and beach.
Thanks for a lovely warm welcome!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much indeed for your review. We are glad you have enjoyed our hotel and services once again and we hope to see you again at West Cliff Inn.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Loved west cliff inn, staff made the stay extra enjoyable. Our room was a decent size, very modern and extremely clean, the bathroom was also a good size and clean. There was free wifi lots of parking and a late night bar! What more could you ask for! Overall enjoyed Bournemouth and will defiantly stay at the west cliff inn again! Thanks West Cliff see you soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your review, dear guest.
We wish a Merry Xmas, Happy New Year and hope to see you again at West Cliff Inn.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#46 of 66 in Bournemouth
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn
Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing