We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely refurbished but very noisy and poor service”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nicely refurbished but very noisy and poor service”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had a horrible time at the West Cliff Inn overall sorry to say. The room itself was small but nicely refurbished to a decent standard. The hotel location was also great as it was near the beach and Bournemouth town centre. However, I had to shorten my stay due to noise on my floor and from the room next door. And on top of that I was falsely accused by a phone call from staff at midnight to be the one who was noisy. When I tried to phone reception there was no answer. I stayed one week and it was very noisy most nights, with very little control from staff. Also, the hotel advertised a tapas restaurant but it was closed most of the time. Also I nearly stepped into a pan of fresh paint one morning coming out of my room as they were painting next door and staff deemed it appropriate to put the pan there just in front of my door. Also front door of the hotel was locked a few mornings with no explanation and they did not give me a key so I was worried to leave the hotel where I had to return later on. Extremely poor service really. I had to email the hotel and they responded with a one liner that someone was in the office. How was I supposed to know that? As a result of the noise I had to go and stay in a different hotel which added to my costs. Consequently I would not recommend to anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: If you are on the party, are not bothered with noise and not planning to sleep much, this place is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the positive things you say about West Cliff Inn.
Regarding the negative ones you point out we should say this with all due respect:
1. I asked you every day if you were ok and how your stay was going. Just once you replied you hadn't been able to sleep the night before because of a near noisy room and you pointed out that it had happened only that night, the others had been very good.
2. Our staff cares about guests who are being disturbed by any kind of noise at night. We always make a phone call if a guest is making noise. We apologize for the call you received at night by mistake.
3. The restaurant is open just for breakfast, I informed you that from the first day of stay.
4. The front door is locked as a security measure when the receptionist has to leave the reception for a while. There is a bell in the door if a guest ring it, the receptionist opens the door immediately. You were informed about this.
We are sorry you make the decision of shorten your stay.
Thanking you again for your review.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    99
    63
    45
    45
See reviews for
25
196
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The walls are supperthin and almost non existant. Our next door neighbours were having a blast off to see who can play thair music the loudest. As we happen to stay over the weekend a lot of youngsters were going out, a lot of screaming and shouting all night and then someone decided to blast gangster rap in the room next door at 12 am .. After a long journey this wad torture. It wouldn't be so bad if the walls weren't so thin. Just to top the noise there was a massive loud fan outside the window and cleaners would arrive every morning banging the doors for hours!
There was NO WIFI as promised. Car parking is limited and even the spaces that were available were taken up by idiots who park on the lines. Hotel staff didn't really care about that.
Shower wouldn't stay the same temperature, bedside drawer wouldn't open and the elevator is the ride to remember, you should hang on for your lives.
Location was good. About 20 min walk from the city centre but only 2 streets away from the sea so it wad a very nice stroll.
We stayed 3 nights and its more than enough to never return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stasi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Madam, we are really sorry you have not enjoyed your stay at West Cliff Inn
.
At the weekend the hotel usually is fully booked, this make hard to keep a quiet environment. Our customers are to observe night time peace and quiet from 10pm to 7am. However we cannot know if a customer is not behaving correctly in his room unless someone reports it to the reception. We will tell our housekeeping staff about not to make noise during the morning.

A fully booked weekend can make difficult to find a space to park at the front or at the rear car park that the hotel has. When a car is disturbing to another one we always try to ask the owner to move it but sometimes they are not at the hotel in that moment.

There is WIFI available on the ground floor, I supposed you were informed about this.

Thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel offers extremely good value for money and can't fault any off it given the price that we paid ( £44 for a twin room a night on a weekend!!!) The room boasted a massive flat screen tv and comfortable beds. The best part of the room had to be the shower which was warm and powerful, by the time i came out i felt as smooth as a baby. would definitely stay again, made our dirty weekend in bournemouth even better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again.
Best wishes.
Yaiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Good size room, clean, make sure you don't mind a hike as it's a bit of a walk up the hill from the town. We turned up at 11 and check in wasn't until 3 but they let us have our room. Staff we're really friendly!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluepoppybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, dear guest.
We hope to see you again.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

No WiFi signal in my room plus the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly. The bathroom fixtures were tired and tiles were chipped. The Venetian blinds d control rod came off as I was twisting it. The bedding was clean and the TV worked.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest, firstly, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry you have not enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately Wi-Fi signal was weak but it was working perfectly on the ground floor, as I informed you. I wish you had reported about the bathroom and the blind, both things have an easy solution. We hope these things do not dissuade you from staying with us in future. Thanking your review again.
Regards.
Yaiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chafford hundred
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stay at the hotel as part of my 40th birthday, it's the 2nd time we have been here and not been disappointed at all. Wi-fi works on phones and ipad where u are in hotel, towels changed daily and tea and coffee refill. Manager and staff -especially the female on reception are very welcoming and friendly. Stay before in room 17 and this time room 29 and both rooms could not be faulted, we had a problem with sofa in our room and it was changed straight away. Bed was comfy, seeing as we were on main road side we did not hear any traffic during the night, a wonderful and welcoming hotel and close in Bournemouth beach and town centre, will see you again later in the year

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauldee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear guests, we are very happy for reading that you have enjoyed our hotel again.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards.
Yaiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bour
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

In staying here on our honeymoon in 2010, I rebooked a short break Monday - Thursday of w/c 10.03.2014, for my partners big birthday as part of a treat. I did have anxiety that the experience may not be equal to the first stay., well It was! Suite was good quality, well maintained, there was an unforeseen issue which was speedily resolved. The manager, Malik was very welcoming and chatty, and made us feel very welcome. I will certainly be returning as the location of the hotel to town is a short walking distance to some great restaurants and bars, along with being able to easily get to fantastic towns along the coast, and for me a 5min walk to the beach. Thanks again, and see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your second stay in our hotel and we are glad you have had a good time with us.
We hope to see you a third time.
Regards.
Yaiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn
Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing