We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me and a friend wanted a cheap stay in Bournemouth for a weekend. The rooms were cleaned every day with the tea and coffee topped up and also towels replaced. Couldn't of asked for more for what we paid great location, helpful staff and will defiantly make a return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holly_s_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

My boyfriend and myself wanted to have a low cost weekend away on the beach. Really good location, only 10 minutes walking to town centre and 5 minutes to the beach. Staff were polite and helpful at all times, even they recommend us a few nice places in the town to have dinner. The room was very clean and looked up to date and tidy. Really nice flat screen TV! Stayed for 2 nights and had no problems during our stay. Car park is free and it was enough space in the whole stay. Also, they have a nice bar where you can chill out having a drink during the evening. Thank you very much to all the staff at West Cliff Inn. Looking forward to visit soon again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the Standard Room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 160traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

this is a warning to anybody thinking of booking a stay at the west cliff inn, we had a one night stay there and i can honestly say it is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in , the room was dirty and extremely tired but by far the worst thing about this hotel is the manager who is both rude and obnoxious. we found dirty underwear in our room left by a previous guest , our complain was met with insults and aggressive behavior. our message to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in Bournemouth avoid this place and save yourself a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CassyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel was great value, good location for beach front 2/3 minute walk, friendly staff, rooms nice and clean with en-suit, flat screen TV with digital channels, rooms cleaned daily, good bar with live sport. Would most certainly stay again, I recommend to all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The West Cliff Inn is fantastic. The owners are mans and malik and they make you feel so welcome, they treat you like family!.
I have to say every member of staff are friendly. The staff are a credit to this hotel.
In regards to the rooms they are of good size, definitely go for standard double room.
I feel so relaxed.!!!
Thank you mans and malik, I am loving my holiday . X

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had a horrible time at the West Cliff Inn overall sorry to say. The room itself was small but nicely refurbished to a decent standard. The hotel location was also great as it was near the beach and Bournemouth town centre. However, I had to shorten my stay due to noise on my floor and from the room next door. And on top of that I was falsely accused by a phone call from staff at midnight to be the one who was noisy. When I tried to phone reception there was no answer. I stayed one week and it was very noisy most nights, with very little control from staff. Also, the hotel advertised a tapas restaurant but it was closed most of the time. Also I nearly stepped into a pan of fresh paint one morning coming out of my room as they were painting next door and staff deemed it appropriate to put the pan there just in front of my door. Also front door of the hotel was locked a few mornings with no explanation and they did not give me a key so I was worried to leave the hotel where I had to return later on. Extremely poor service really. I had to email the hotel and they responded with a one liner that someone was in the office. How was I supposed to know that? As a result of the noise I had to go and stay in a different hotel which added to my costs. Consequently I would not recommend to anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: If you are on the party, are not bothered with noise and not planning to sleep much, this place is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the positive things you say about West Cliff Inn.
Regarding the negative ones you point out we should say this with all due respect:
1. I asked you every day if you were ok and how your stay was going. Just once you replied you hadn't been able to sleep the night before because of a near noisy room and you pointed out that it had happened only that night, the others had been very good.
2. Our staff cares about guests who are being disturbed by any kind of noise at night. We always make a phone call if a guest is making noise. We apologize for the call you received at night by mistake.
3. The restaurant is open just for breakfast, I informed you that from the first day of stay.
4. The front door is locked as a security measure when the receptionist has to leave the reception for a while. There is a bell in the door if a guest ring it, the receptionist opens the door immediately. You were informed about this.
We are sorry you make the decision of shorten your stay.
Thanking you again for your review.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The walls are supperthin and almost non existant. Our next door neighbours were having a blast off to see who can play thair music the loudest. As we happen to stay over the weekend a lot of youngsters were going out, a lot of screaming and shouting all night and then someone decided to blast gangster rap in the room next door at 12 am .. After a long journey this wad torture. It wouldn't be so bad if the walls weren't so thin. Just to top the noise there was a massive loud fan outside the window and cleaners would arrive every morning banging the doors for hours!
There was NO WIFI as promised. Car parking is limited and even the spaces that were available were taken up by idiots who park on the lines. Hotel staff didn't really care about that.
Shower wouldn't stay the same temperature, bedside drawer wouldn't open and the elevator is the ride to remember, you should hang on for your lives.
Location was good. About 20 min walk from the city centre but only 2 streets away from the sea so it wad a very nice stroll.
We stayed 3 nights and its more than enough to never return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Stasi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Madam, we are really sorry you have not enjoyed your stay at West Cliff Inn
.
At the weekend the hotel usually is fully booked, this make hard to keep a quiet environment. Our customers are to observe night time peace and quiet from 10pm to 7am. However we cannot know if a customer is not behaving correctly in his room unless someone reports it to the reception. We will tell our housekeeping staff about not to make noise during the morning.

A fully booked weekend can make difficult to find a space to park at the front or at the rear car park that the hotel has. When a car is disturbing to another one we always try to ask the owner to move it but sometimes they are not at the hotel in that moment.

There is WIFI available on the ground floor, I supposed you were informed about this.

Thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#44 of 67 in Bournemouth
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#35 of 67 in Bournemouth
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
625 reviews
0 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#36 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 67 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £38 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing