We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“saved”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“saved”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had been booked into a so called hotel up the road see separate review and we walked in to the west cliff hoping for something not too expensive already wasted money on one up the road we greeted by a very pleasant lady who showed us 2 rooms an economy room and one up we opted for the economy but it was very comfortable and clean it was basic but that was fine we had a well needed drink in the bar special thanks to Yaiza she was welcoming friendly helpful cheerful and an asset

Room Tip: location excellent 5 minute walk to the beach which was our purpose for our visit to to get some muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    98
    61
    44
    45
See reviews for
25
195
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me and a friend wanted a cheap stay in Bournemouth for a weekend. The rooms were cleaned every day with the tea and coffee topped up and also towels replaced. Couldn't of asked for more for what we paid great location, helpful staff and will defiantly make a return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly_s_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navalmoral de la Mata, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My boyfriend and myself wanted to have a low cost weekend away on the beach. Really good location, only 10 minutes walking to town centre and 5 minutes to the beach. Staff were polite and helpful at all times, even they recommend us a few nice places in the town to have dinner. The room was very clean and looked up to date and tidy. Really nice flat screen TV! Stayed for 2 nights and had no problems during our stay. Car park is free and it was enough space in the whole stay. Also, they have a nice bar where you can chill out having a drink during the evening. Thank you very much to all the staff at West Cliff Inn. Looking forward to visit soon again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the Standard Room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 160traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

this is a warning to anybody thinking of booking a stay at the west cliff inn, we had a one night stay there and i can honestly say it is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in , the room was dirty and extremely tired but by far the worst thing about this hotel is the manager who is both rude and obnoxious. we found dirty underwear in our room left by a previous guest , our complain was met with insults and aggressive behavior. our message to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in Bournemouth avoid this place and save yourself a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CassyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel was great value, good location for beach front 2/3 minute walk, friendly staff, rooms nice and clean with en-suit, flat screen TV with digital channels, rooms cleaned daily, good bar with live sport. Would most certainly stay again, I recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The West Cliff Inn is fantastic. The owners are mans and malik and they make you feel so welcome, they treat you like family!.
I have to say every member of staff are friendly. The staff are a credit to this hotel.
In regards to the rooms they are of good size, definitely go for standard double room.
I feel so relaxed.!!!
Thank you mans and malik, I am loving my holiday . X

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had a horrible time at the West Cliff Inn overall sorry to say. The room itself was small but nicely refurbished to a decent standard. The hotel location was also great as it was near the beach and Bournemouth town centre. However, I had to shorten my stay due to noise on my floor and from the room next door. And on top of that I was falsely accused by a phone call from staff at midnight to be the one who was noisy. When I tried to phone reception there was no answer. I stayed one week and it was very noisy most nights, with very little control from staff. Also, the hotel advertised a tapas restaurant but it was closed most of the time. Also I nearly stepped into a pan of fresh paint one morning coming out of my room as they were painting next door and staff deemed it appropriate to put the pan there just in front of my door. Also front door of the hotel was locked a few mornings with no explanation and they did not give me a key so I was worried to leave the hotel where I had to return later on. Extremely poor service really. I had to email the hotel and they responded with a one liner that someone was in the office. How was I supposed to know that? As a result of the noise I had to go and stay in a different hotel which added to my costs. Consequently I would not recommend to anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: If you are on the party, are not bothered with noise and not planning to sleep much, this place is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the positive things you say about West Cliff Inn.
Regarding the negative ones you point out we should say this with all due respect:
1. I asked you every day if you were ok and how your stay was going. Just once you replied you hadn't been able to sleep the night before because of a near noisy room and you pointed out that it had happened only that night, the others had been very good.
2. Our staff cares about guests who are being disturbed by any kind of noise at night. We always make a phone call if a guest is making noise. We apologize for the call you received at night by mistake.
3. The restaurant is open just for breakfast, I informed you that from the first day of stay.
4. The front door is locked as a security measure when the receptionist has to leave the reception for a while. There is a bell in the door if a guest ring it, the receptionist opens the door immediately. You were informed about this.
We are sorry you make the decision of shorten your stay.
Thanking you again for your review.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#46 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn
Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing