We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, Friendly and Hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Living Room Bournemouth
Ranked #17 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming, Friendly and Hospitable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Living Room for 1 night only and were extremely pleased with our selection. We had never stayed at a guesthouse before as we had always selected hotels. However, the Living Room changed my perceptions of guesthouses!. We were warmly greeted by Teresa and made to feel at home. The atmosphere is relaxed and the service is commensurate with any 5 star hotel we have visited. The room was very clean and bright and I loved the kettle! The brownies were a welcome and thoughtful addition as was the information pack. The breakfast choice is amazing and I would defy anyone who couldn't find something to suit their requirements. We loved the quirkiness of the dining room/lounge and the location of the property. We will definitely visit again and have already recommended it to our friends. Good luck for the future. Your hard work is clearly evident and appreciated!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRM_3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak118, Owner at Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are pleased you came over to the dark side of 'guesthouses'! It meant that we were lucky enough to meet you both as well as you sample us! Hopefully you will visit again so that you get more time to relax & support Bournemouth in a winning match! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
162
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a great stay at thus B&B.
The room was beautifully decorated with lovely touches such as homemade brownies, the bottle of water & the most original kettle I have ever seen. The ensuite was lovely with its glorious red tiles and with a bonus of a good shower too.
I loved the decor throughout especially the dining area with the different collection of furniture especially the side boards that had been adapted.
As for the breakfast what a delight as the choice was fantastic especially if you are a veggie like myself. It is so nice to have different options as normally menus are predominately for meat eaters. My husband loved the homemade granola.
The food is also cooked to order & it is so worth it. The corn fritters were delicious!!!
Staff were friendly throughout our stay with an excellent sense of humor.
I would certainly return as this place is far superior to any previous hotel I have stayed in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak118, Owner at Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are so pleased the kettle has got a mention - we spent 2 days arguing, I mean debating which ones would suit the room & then someone used it as a teapot! Thank you for taking the time to describe us as superior to other places in the area as we think we are too! I hope you are feeling better!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Despite having to be greeted by the lady who cleans, who by the way is really charming and superb at her job, I was bowled over by almost everything at the Living Room. Bedrooms have been modernised whilst downstairs has a sort of charm in a shabby chic sort of way which frankly is not my particular taste BUT the service, the food (lots of choice and freshly prepared) more than made up for it. Wonderful location close to beach (10 minute walk through picturesque woods brings you right onto the beach) and close to Westbourne village and an excellent array of places to eat. With any luck I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak118, Owner at Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Sonia the cleaner said you 'made her day' with this review. We loved the fact that even though you don't personally like the shabby chic/vintage look you still gave us 5/5! Ironically we were not here to greet you because we got trapped in traffic when we went to buy a vintage ebay find, sorry! Thank you for the review & choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in the Living Room in July and would like to say what a lovely place it was. Myself, husband and two young children stayed in a family room which was light, spacious and charming. It had a separate little room for the kids which they loved within the room. The breakfast was fab with a huge choice to suit everyone and the staff were lovely and very helpful. It's in a lovely area of Bournemouth and would highly recommend it anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak118, Owner at Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
It was lovely to meet you & your relations in our other rooms. You were all really lovely & friendly. We appreciate you writing a review especially as it was such a flying visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had a truly delightful stay here after booking a room for a local wedding. The staff were attentive, fun and really quite charming. The room was immaculate and had real character, very comfortable and a perfect space to relax in after a long day. The breakfast was spot on and the full menu was full of delicious options (I was disappointed that I didn't have time to sample them all during my short stay!). I will definitely be returning here on my next trip to Bournemouth!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak118, Owner at Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Our cleaner Sonia is really happy to hear that you will definitely be returning because you took all the bedding off before you left! Thank you for choosing us & writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the "Living Room Bournemouth" in June, and would like to share what a lovely friendly accommodation if was! The room was bright, light, and very spacious with a large en-suite, the owners were really friendly as it's family run and we were very warmly welcomed on arrival. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and there was plenty of choice given (my husband loved the homemade granola). There was even the personal touch of homemade brownies in the bedroom which were gorgeous and much nicer than a pack of dry biscuits! I would definitely recommend anyone staying here, it's really close to the shops and the beach so you can truly relax without driving to these destinations. The price for the room was absolutely great and I will be staying there again for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak118, Owner at Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We love it when people make the most of the The Living Room & the area & really relax (while we do all the work for you!!). It was lovely to meet you & to know that you will be returning. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked very last minute, so hadn't really researched the area, relying on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Firstly, the bonus of a 'living room' coffee shop was great, then our room actually matched with the photos (so often with B&Bs the rooms don't quite live up to expectation!), with a spacious, immaculately clean bathroom. Secondly, the owners were really helpful in sorting out some towels for us to take to the beach (part of our last minuteness!) and in recommending excellent local restaurants. Proximity to the beach is fantastic, as we were only a 10 minute walk down a wooded path from Alum Chine, with it's pretty beach huts and wide, clean sandy beach. Also, the high street of West Bourne was full of bars/restaurants to keep meals varied if you were staying for longer than the one night we did. We'd thoroughly recommend this B&B and will definitely stay here again for another last minute seaside fix!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingSifakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak118, Owner at Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
It's good to hear we could provide you with a 'seaside fix' along with the beach towels! We work really hard to live up to expectations of our marketing because we know it can be really disappointing arriving somewhere & it's nothing like the portrayed images-so thank you for making the effort to show your appreciation as well as to promote us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.2 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Room Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Room Bournemouth

Property: Living Room Bournemouth
Address: 2 Drury Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HA, England (Formerly Thanet House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Living Room Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique vintage boutique award winning Bed and Breakfast and Coffee Lounge in Alum Chine, Bournemouth. Winner of Bournemouth Tourism Guest Accommodation of the Year 2012 & 2013 as well as Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013 & 2014. The B&B has seven spacious, individually styled rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms. As a family run business we specialise in providing a friendly, informal service tailored to individual requirements. The AA Breakfast Award winning breakfasts offer delicious full cooked options from the classic to the more unusual like Ham Hock Hash, homemade granola and plenty of tasty vegetarian or gluten free options. We promise you, you will not find anywhere else like The Living Room in Bournemouth for value for money, quality food, its unpretentious quirky environment or the pleasurable experience. Our emphasis is on helping customers feel relaxed by offering comfortable beds, clean and well maintained rooms, amazing food and caring, attentive service. The experience is added to by us being situated in the undoubtedly best part of Bournemouth ten minutes' walk in between the glorious Alum Chine beach (accessed by the peaceful chines) as well as the boutique and independently run businesses of Westbourne. As Bournemouth has been voted one of the happiest places to live in the UK we feel that we have no option but to pass on the infectious and rejuvenating vibes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Living Room Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing