We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.”
Review of Dolphins Hotel

Dolphins Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphins Hotel
Ranked #69 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Cold, no proper fridge, shower not working, one key opens the front door and all the rooms, but the worst thing is we were beaten by bed bugs.
I have stayed in the hotels all over the world, but have never seen the owners to save every penny on everything. The room was so dated and old, pillows, mattress, carpet, even the lampshades. The only thing that was ok was the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinm, Owner at Dolphins Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
The Keys open each room and the front door, not all rooms, as each room has a different lock, but the front door is an X-lock, which allows all the keys in the series to open it. The master key opens all locks and there is only one of them.

The bugs have all been treated, and we have been confirmed clear again. (as of 20.Sept.2013), it is unfortunate that this problem exists, but it can happen to even the best hotels. As soon as we find traces the room is closed and the problem treated within 24 hours.

Some of the rooms are a bit dated, but the mattresses/ bedding are all replaced every 2 years (more often if needed), and we upgrade and fully modernise at least one room every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    27
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
27
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent 2 nights here as I had an event at the BIC to go to, It was very close to the town and a short walk to BIC.
The room was very clean and a reasonable size, The beds were very comfortable. it had a sink in the room and a separate, toilet and shower.
Breakfast was very good and cooked to order, A good place to stay.
The only downside, is that we came on the train and it was rather a long way from the station, so had to take a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great value and location couldn't be better (5 mins walk from the pier, even in heels). Rooms clean and the breakfast was lovely. The only down side was the bathrooms need updating but still excellent value for money. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKettley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I spent two nights here with my grown up daughter, son and daughter's friend. The room was perfect, even with three beds in, and the single room attached was perfect for my son to escape the women! The shower was powerful, the rooms were clean and fresh and we were giving plenty of keys for all of us. Breakfast was...well, perfect! Yummy sausages, everything cooked how you wanted, no request was too small. The dining room was below street level and was cool...definitely a plus as we chose one of the hottest weekends to visit Bournemouth. The owners of the hotel were friendly and chatty and made us very welcome, with useful local information. Near to the shops, the beach, but quiet....we will definitely stay there again!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Got an excellent rate for this B&B and had a very pleasant stay.

The accommodation is older in style, so don't expect the amenities of a 4-star hotel, but the room was perfectly clean and had a very comfortable bed.

The owners deserve special mention for their personal touch and friendliness. They were there to greet me and say goodbye, with breakfast cooked fresh to order. It's worth mentioning the quality of the breakfast ingredients (particularly for a 'cheap' hotel).

Finally, the location was excellent. A few minutes walk to both the town centre and beaches, yet on a quiet road with parking. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Just left bournmouth after a lovely stay at The Dolphins Hotel with the girls, we had a very clean comfortable rooms, breakfast was gorgeous even when we asked for extras as 2 of our party where gluten intolerant. Very welcoming hosts, and very reasonably priced. Looking forward to booking again for our next trip. Thank you x

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Burnsfamily0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We are living in Bournemouth in a small flat and we booked Dolphins hotel for our friends. Good location,very clean, food is lovely. Our friends asked us to book this hotel for the august again.
We can recommend this hotel for anybody to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alla9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#44 of 132 in Bournemouth
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Guesthouse
Bamboo Guesthouse
#22 of 132 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#28 of 132 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#96 of 132 in Bournemouth
69 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#38 of 132 in Bournemouth
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#19 of 132 in Bournemouth
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Hotel

Property: Dolphins Hotel
Address: 19 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Guest House in Central Bournemouth. All bedrooms except singles recently modernised with up to date en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing