We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Maria

Da Maria
Ranked #75 of 729 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We use this restaurant quite regularly. A lovely family run restaurant. Fresh homemade bread baked daily. Delicious authenic Pizza. Pasta and risotto very tasty. We cannot fault this restaurant. The staff are always warm and welcoming. Very reasonable price. What more can you ask for? Worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaitlinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    25
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford,England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A really pleasant surprise for us all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I went to visit my daughter to take her out for her 18th birthday and she decided on Italian, found and booked up Da Maria in Bournemouth. She was a little worried as the area was a couple of miles away from the main area of Bournemouth and the outside of the restaurant did not look spectacular, but the food was supposed to be excellent.

There was 5 of us booked in on a Friday night and the restaurant was cosy and comfortable. We all had bread on arrival and the bread was really lovely. We were told after the meal that the bread was freshly made by them every day.

The menu is not fussy or extensive, but nobody had any problem choosing their food. The service was excellent. I had a pizza that was really good, although too big for me to eat in one go. They offered for you to take your food home to eat it later if you wanted to.

Overall, after a couple of bottles of wine and some excellent food, we were ready to go. It was a very successful evening and I ended up giving the waiter a large tip because he made my daughter’s 18th birthday meal something we will remember for all the right reasons.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lived up to the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This place isn't in the slightest bit overrated on here. The freshest, crispiest calimari I've ever had and the best pizza I've eaten outside of Italy. My partner's carbonara was equally as authentic and very generous in portion size...take away box was provided for what was left over. Service friendly but not overpowering...I love it when you are left alone to enjoy your evening but staff always on hand for anything further you require. Great value too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tomav84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanks guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Another gorgeous meal at Da Maria, we where 4 people last saturday, the food was very tasty and planty, the service always good. please guys never change. Hi reccomanded

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giusy7i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best pizza in town !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

amazing food but you need to bring your own pesto ! lovely menu, great atmosphere and always a good laugh.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Maria also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Da Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing