We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cumberland Hotel”
Review of Ventana Grand Cafe

Ventana Grand Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Ventana Grand Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 810 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Barbecue, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Seafront Brasserie style venue serving freshly prepared British Conteporary food, with large outdoor poolside dining in summer and warm fires in winter, boutique style funky decor.Food is served noon to 9pm or 10pm ( weekends) daily. Vibrant cocktail bar open till late accompanies this unique venue and the menu has something for everyone whilst maintaining its British theme. With fresh Fish, Homemade Steak burgers, Pies,crispy duck salad, steaks and salmon fish cakes. Outdoor Bar B Q 's in summer and traditional English Fayre year round, this Brasserie has the feel of a luxury West Coast USA dining venue and has recently been awarded a coveted AA red rosette and highly commended in the Bournemouth Tourism awards.The venue also serves elegant traditional afternoon teas daily from 3-5pm.
Reviewed 10 July 2014

In Hotel restaurant...not for those on a small budget...but worth a visit for decent food. Recommended for a nice evening out.

Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at Ventana Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Anthony K,

Thank you for your review. Good feedback regarding your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 492 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I love the Cumberland hotel the staff are fantastic and the food is excellent. I Will go again and will always recommend the Cumberland as the best hotel in bournemouth Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsGuest1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at Ventana Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Caroline G,

thank you for your review. Great compliments regarding the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very nice afternoon tea lots of nice cakes sandwiches sparking wine and a choice of hot drinks to finish costa latee

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Traditional Afternoon Tea at The Cumberland Hotel is by far the best I have ever had. My friends and I have tried several of the local hotels for tea, and this hotel comes out top. The sandwiches are very tasty, scones served warm with lots of jam and cream, a generous amount of dainty cakes and pastries, and all served in very attractive surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 206diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at the Cumberland and thought the menu looked good value with 2-4-1 offers on the mains. We were going out so ate early at 5pm. Scallops were overcooked and the fish pie although tasty was a little devoid of fish. Maybe the chef starts later and we were unlucky as other reviews seem positive

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TedDaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at Ventana Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear TedDaffin,

Thank you for your review. We are equally disappointed your experience was not great. It has been brought the Head Chef's attention, but hope it won't deter you in trying us again.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ventana Grand Cafe also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Ventana Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing