We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice and comfortable guest house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pinegrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pinegrove
Ranked #32 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very nice and comfortable guest house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We've just come back from here and we had a very nice time indeed.
The room and shower room were clean and functional for what we needed.
Freeview in the room kept us up to date with the Olympics.
Great parking availability and within reasonable walking distance into the nightlife area and only £5 in a cab on the way back (although one stupid cabbie wouldn't take us there are loads of cabs)
They don't do a cooked any more but they do do a breakfast for £4 based on a continental breakfast of Fruit, Cereal, Yogurt, Pan au chocolat, a good cereal selection, toast and preserves, juices & coffee.
My only niggle (if it can be called that) was the lack of a cooked breakfast as they've stopped doing them but I can understand why they would cut them out.
David and Rachel are lovely hosts, I would recommend this to anyone wanting a break in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Room 8 was nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magicmerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
45
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice overnight stay at The Pinegrove. The room was tastefully decorated, clean and quiet with a high ceiling. Basic but functional bathroom with good water pressure on shower. Located on a quiet residential road with plenty of free parking. 10 minute walk to coast, 25 minutes walk to Pier. Owners very friendly and helpful. Free wifi was a nice touch. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We booked to stay here for one night. The guesthouse was lovely. The owners were very pleasant and welcoming. On arrival they offered us a free upgrade due to a cancellation which was very thoughtful as was 5 months pregnant at the time of staying.

The room was modern, large and clean, the bed extremely comfortable and the linen of good quality. The decor was also quite pleasant...quite hotel boutique-y.

There was decent free parking facilities and the location was nice and quiet at night.
I would recommend as a get-away guesthouse for couples.

There are so many overpriced, bog standard hotels and guesthouses in Bournemouth, so we were pleased this was neither. I would say good value for money and definitely somewhere we would stay again in Bournemouth.

The only slight negative I would say would be that the bathroom could have done with a mirror, although there was a dressing table with mirror in the room. You would also ideally need a car. Although not far from the main town or beach, it was maybe a little too far to walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the larger double rooms to the front of the building. It is a room pictured on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L4R4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We booked a night here on the strength of TripAdvisor reviews, and were very happy with our stay.

The room was clean, spacious and light. Tea/Coffee/Biscuits were provided, as well as digital TV.

The hotel is on a quiet street, 5ish mins walk from the beach, and not far from town.

Breakfast was delicious and extremely reasonable. £6 for full english, with cereal, yogurt, toast and fruit.

The hosts were lovely, genuinely friendly and warm.

Note: Take cash if you are planning on paying for breakfast on the day, as there is no cash machine.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

This was a last minute trip, booked online, & was greeted with such a warm welcome, and was upgraded free of charge. What can i say but, you cant fault the place, excellent breakfast, quality & choice of food was more than adequate. Nothing was too much trouble. Clean, friendly & genuine hospitality, We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelecara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed here and were very impressed with the place. Very well positioned for our needs and the owners were very pleasant even setting us up a table in the breakfast room when we arrived back withtakeaway fish and chips for supper. A very positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thehenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley. Surrey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

A nice little guesthouse tucked away from the hustle and bustle of town. Good service, just the sort you would expect from an establishment of this type. Plenty of roadside parking in front of the hotel. Not really for those that want to walk into town so check the map out before you book.
My only criticism ? Maybe a little overpriced for the class of guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogman5139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#46 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#43 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#12 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cransley
Cransley
#8 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#24 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinegrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinegrove

Property: The Pinegrove
Address: 11 Spencer Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pinegrove 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guest house is situated in peaceful surroundings overlooking the pine trees of Knyveton Gardens in East Cliff. Bournemouth's award winning 7 miles of sandy beach is just a short and pleasant walk away through tree-lined roads and accessed via either Boscombe gardens or the zig-zag path that leads to the beach front. The Travel and Interchange and town centre are also within walking distance. All our rooms are en-suite, and a Scandinavian breakfast is included in the price. Medi Yoga courses, at an extra charge, can also be provided. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing