We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in excellent location”
Review of Park Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Central Hotel
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire/Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for three nights with my Mum and Daughter. The hotel is to a good standard and the staff very attentive and helpful. Upon arrival the lift was out of order so the male receptionist carried all our luggage up to the fifth floor!

We were allocated a spacious room with one double bed and a sofa bed in a separate room for my daughter. Both rooms had wall mounted flat screen tvs. There was a nice en suite bathroom with white towelling dressing gowns. Towels are changed daily on request.

The breakfasts were served in the Crab Restaurant and are all cooked to order. There was a good choice of cereals and juices but limited choice if you wanted a continental breakfast. Avoid going for breakfast between 9 and 9.30 as this is the busiest time and if there aren't any tables available you have to wait in the bar area.

The hotel doesnt have its own car park but all guests are allocated free parking spaces in the multi storey opposite.

It would be to nice to have fans supplied in the rooms as the weather was very warm and we struggled to sleep.

We would recommend this hotel as it is in a very good spot for walking to the beach and is directly opposite the BIC theatre and lovely park.

If you are looking for a lovely restaurant to dine in we would recommend the Print Room, A la Carte food, quite pricey but well worth it for a treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brollyandhoneybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    376
    92
    18
    11
See reviews for
140
689
35
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We'd booked this four star hotel as it had good reviews on Tripadvisor and sea views. Our room did have a sea view but it also had very small windows and was situated at the top of the building so was incredibly warm. There was a fan provided which was essential especially overnight.
The room was small and had insufficient storage space - no drawers apart from small bedside ones. The bathroom was definitely not four star - more like 2 star - comprising a small basin, loo and a shower in a cabinet. The room itself was a reasonable size and could have been made so much nicer with a little imagination and flair. Again there was no storage for toiletries apart from a very small shelf over the basin. The shower had nowhere to put shampoo, shower gel etc. There was also no worktop to place makeup when applying.
However, what truly made this a good holiday despite the above was the lovely staff, who couldn't do enough to help. In particular, Francesca on Reception, who always remembered our names and was smiling and friendly at all times. Also John who again was really friendly and helpful especially with restaurant recommendation and bookings. Thank you to both of them for making this a super few days for us! We'd go again but ask to see the room beforehand as I believe some are better than others.

Room Tip: Ask to see before accepting. Top rooms are good for views but some have limited space. Front rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Pleasantly surprised, we booked the executive room, separate room with sofa bed for the children, nice touch was colouring book and crayons, their own supply of drinking chocolate, biscuits, shampoo and shower gels, tv in both rooms, small compact shower but nice and modern. Good night sleep! Good breakfast although a little disorganised.

Room Tip: executive room is good for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coupleguildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel opposite BIC and 2 minutes from the beach. Staff are excellent, very helpful and friendly. Yes, there is some outside noise but this is a seaside/holiday town!

My niggles:
- Room 304, although immaculate and modern (with iron, hair dryer and tea/coffee facilities) felt pokey. The bathroom was small, the shower tiny. There wasn't enough room in the shower to wash my hair properly and the 'rainfall' shower means you're constantly under water.
- There were only sandwiches and 3 salads on the room service menu. Ok, most people staying here will be holiday makers but as a business traveller the last thing I want to do at night after a long day is head out alone so a bit more choice would be great (even having access to the Crab Restaurant menu?). Saying that I ordered the crayfish salad and it was lovely.

Overall it's a good value option and I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyLou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just come back from a fantastic weekend at the Park Central. Fantastic location just a few minutes away from the beach and the town centre. On arrival we were welcomed by very friendly reception staff and we stored our luggage and parked our car across the road in the multi storey where the hotel has a section on the third floor for guests, fee paid direct to hotel. The receptionist took my mobile number and then phoned me when our room was ready, which was great as it allowed us to return knowing that there would be no delay. We were celebrating our 29th Wedding Anniversary and the hotel had written a lovely card and left it in our room with some complimentary snacks. The room was very clean and we had a sea view which was a bonus. The hotel prides itself on service and John on reception was very friendly and helpful recommending places to go and things to do in an extremely friendly manner. We had breakfast included in the price and again the service was personal. The range on offer each morning was great with juices, pastries, cheese, ham, fresh fruit salad, yogurt and if you wanted cooked, you could choose a full English, salmon and scrambled egg and more, all waiter served direct to your table. The quality of the food was fantastic and fresh and presented well. We never ate in the Crab Restaurant in the evening as my wife doesn't like sea food but it was always busy and I would recommend booking in advance especially at weekends and it looked very atmospheric.
As and when we return to Bournemouth we will definitely stay at the Park Central, not just because of its great location, convenient parking and great breakfast, but for that very friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevandCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Just come back this sat after a 2 night stay. We don't normally write reviews on our stay just read them but we feel that they deserve to be complimented on this 1 as our stay was 1 of the best experiences with had with a hotel stay. The staff were great, the rooms were great and the food was great. Not a bad word to say about they guy. We stayed in a double room (411) and loved every bit about it. Differently booking up for next summer. Thank you park central.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Wonderful, friendly staff, upon arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room with fantastic sea views, this is the first time we have stayed in a hotel and not wanted to leave, breakfast was delicious (scrambled egg and salmon, YUMMY) there was plenty of choice. Parking was opposite the hotel, which was fine. The room was spotless and clean and stocked up each day with drinks and toiletries. The reception staff were fantastic and helpful as were the breakfast staff. Free wifi, wow not many hotels I've stayed in offer free wifi so for me that was an absolute bonus. I booked this hotel because of the good reviews and believe me Park Central Hotel gave us the best stay they deserve the best review, thankyou, Mrs Julie Michael and family.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room if you can, the windows are really big, great to watch morning surfers,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMichael44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,417 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel

Property: Park Central Hotel
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Park Central Hotel, the newest four star hotel in Bournemouth. With our 48 unique rooms each with its own individual and modern look, we can proudly offer luxury accommodation which is stylish, sleek and original. Indulge in our accommodation with all the luxuries you will expect from a four star hotel. You could not ask for a better seafront location then the one Park Central Hotel has to offer. With the Bournemouth International Centre adjacent to the hotel and the Bournemouth Pavilion Theatre only a two minute walk away, we have the perfect location for both business and leisure. Crawl into bed for a sound's night sleep in our comfortable beds with Egyptian cotton bed linen, thick duvets and plush pillows. Wake in the morning, relaxed and refreshed to in-room tea and coffee facilities, power shower and deluxe toiletries. With complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and sleek flat-screen televisions, our rooms offer the perfect blend of innovative design and contemporary boutique luxury hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Park Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing