We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value Christmas Break”
Review of Park Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Central Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sandhurst
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Christmas Break”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I booked the Christmas break here, which at under £800 for the two of us for three nights was excellent value. the treats started with hot chocolate and cake at 3pm, which we arrived too late for, but we joined in the cocktail making from 4.30pm which got us in the Christmas spirit. Our four course Christmas Eve dinner was superb. Christmas Day consisted of a champagne breakfast, huge lunch and in the evening there was (very slow) bingo and a scrumptious buffet. A long walk after breakfast ensured we won the Treasure Hunt prize (a bottle of Champers) and put us in the mood for another lovely dinner with a Murder Mystery thrown in. All great fun with a nice crowd of people. Can't praise the staff enough. They worked tirelessly to give excellent service and were always cheerful and friendly. The Crab Restaurant is sister to the one in Chievely and is superb! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieWSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksandra D, Manager at Park Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for leaving your review about us. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your Christmas break - I have passed all your kind comments to our staff across our Reception, Restaurant, Kitchen and Housekeeping teams. I’m glad you will be recommending us to friends and family also, and I hope we can welcome you again to stay with us at a later date or for Christmas again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    383
    93
    18
    11
See reviews for
143
702
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Long weekend at this hotel which fully justifies it's name and position which is opposite Bournemouth Conference Centre.Jools Holland and Wet Wet Wet were in town over the weekend and with the Christmas market situated around the corner there was a super atmosphere and buzz about the centre.What made for an excellent weekend though was the first class customer service provided by every staff member at the hotel starting with the friendly efficient and delightful reception personnel.Breakfasts in the Crab restaurant were superb with all needs catered for and again service could not be faulted in morning and evening.Fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Paying for sea view rooms meant we were allocated substantial large suites,Relatives from Weymouth w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fantastic staff made us feel so special ! The Crab restaurant was great for breakfast and served the best dinner I've had in ages. Lovely suite on top floor, minimalist decor but all comforts provided for.

Room Tip: We had a signature suite with sea view on the top floor....fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathi572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

From booking to the end of our trip,staff we're welcoming and helpful..my husband has mobility problems and they were always watching and aiding in a kind way,much appreciated,the food at breakfast was plentiful and English breakfast fabulous,there are cereals.pastries if you have room. We had wheelchair bedroom which was so spacious and a great wet room.overall experience was great and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeriBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Went to visit Bournemouth with my family in August 2013 and stayed in this great hotel. Very close to the beach, about 2 minutes walk. The staff were very friendly and the property was nicely decorated with modern fittings in the bathroom and the bedroom.
There was a wide variety of choice at Breakfast served by a team of friendly waiters and waitresses. Will definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italia12Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

On arrival the reception staff were very polite, friendly, helpful and welcoming. We was given our voucher at a cost of £7.50 for 24 hours to park opposite in the BIC Centre Car Park. This hotel was in a great position directly opposite to BIC to see "DIVERSITY" perform there the evening of our arrival.
We were given room/ suite 406 overlooking the town centre. When entering the room, with a seperate sitting area, it looked really accommodating, but once living in it, we experienced all the faults and frustrations within it.
The main problem with the suite, was although it had a good floor area space, a lot of it was wasted. NOT PROPERLY THOUGHT OUT ! We kept knocking ourselves into the furniture in the living area when going to the window or wardrobe.
There was no power point for the kettle where it was placed on the dressing table, so we had to boil the water on the floor. ( HEALTH and SAFETY ) would not be pleased we think ?
The wash basin was far to small, and there wasn't enough room for toiletries. The shower was the smallest I had ever been in,and complicated to use.The shower/toilet was also quite dark NOT ENOUGH LIGHTING.
No face flannels were provided, and the bath robes were in a small size. I would have thought in all practicalities a large size should be provided to fit most people. It doesn't matter if should wrap around a smaller person more, than a larger one !
The noise from the extractor fan was driving us mad.
The bedroom has another TV placed on the wall for bed viewing, but again we kept knocking our shoulders on it to pass by. NOT CAREFULLY THOUGHT OUT FOR A SMALL AREA !
The breakfast was first class, but again Rubber Plants were placed in-between tables. so the staff and guests kept knocking against them. The tables were far too small and looked very cluttered once the food etc was being served. Why have large saucers, for such a small table. AGAIN NOT MUCH THOUGHT, to take up so much room on the table !
Overall we can not say this is a 4 star hotel, we have stayed in much better hotels with lower star ratings. BUT FOR ONE NIGHT IS OK , that's if you stay in Room 406. Other rooms may be better, and you might even be able to boil the kettle on the table ???
.

Room Tip: Room 406 overlooks the Town Centre, and is not well planned out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and daughter along with my wife's family went away to Bournemouth for a weekend birthday celebration.
Bournemouth is not one of these towns that are overwhelmed with big brand hotels (one or two exceptions) so you given a wide choice of smaller (and often independent) hotels. The buildings tend to be older and in my experience this is where most of these establishments start to lose points.

From the outside the Park Central Hotel looks pretty seaside familiar. There are a couple of clues what lies inside with some modern touches. However the Park Central Hotel has been newly refurbished and when you step inside you are in a very modern establishment.
The welcome at reception was very efficient. The parking across the road at the multi-story car park was handled very easily and was not really a trouble at all.

We had a family suite room on the top floor of the hotel. There was a lift to the top floor but the walk to up room on the wide staircase was a minor treat as it gave great sea views.

Our room offered a separate lounge / sleeping area for our daughter with a very comfortable sofa bed (and TV). Our room was adequately sized with the bathroom and a wardrobe / small dressing room off that. There was coffee and tea facilitates. an iron and ironing board and just about all the comforts you need for a short stay.

There are two sacred things for me in any hotel. Was the bed comfy? Yes and a good night sleep was had. Was the room clean? Yes and the interim clean maintained the standard during our stay. So no complaints on that front.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and on both mornings the breakfast was good with a choice of buffet continental or a hot breakfast from the menu. I had a very good full English one day (black pudding is always an extra point for me) and smoked haddock with a poached egg the next, again very good.

The location of the hotel is excellent for the city and puts you very close to the sea front, the international centre, the park and the shops.

The only gripe I have about the hotel is public area. Firstly we did not even know there was a public lounge at the hotel until we stumbled across it on our second morning. It is to the right of reception but almost invisible if you go through the main door. Whilst not expecting a bar or large entertainment suite it just seems like a room that is a bit of an afterthought. As our group was split across four rooms it would have been nice to have a central place to meet up and the lounge just felt like an afterthought. There is a bar attached to the restaurant but we had a number of children with us and this didn't feel like the kind of place you could take children to have a game of Pass the Pigs etc. I know this is down to the fabric of the building but if you have a room, no matter how small, make the most of it. It just felt like an apology.

All in all an unexpectedly high quality stay. If it went to Bournemouth again I would be more than happy to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and faced into the town. There was noise from the town but the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tagfcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksandra D, Manager at Park Central Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. All your observations are very important to us and other guests - I’m pleased to hear our central location was beneficial and the room to your taste. With regards to the lounge area – I’m proud to announce that we have taken on board all guest feedback and subsequently, The Crab has been transformed into a more spacious, comfortable dining and lounge area. We hope we can welcome both your families back to return to us, and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel

Property: Park Central Hotel
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Park Central Hotel, the newest four star hotel in Bournemouth. With our 48 unique rooms each with its own individual and modern look, we can proudly offer luxury accommodation which is stylish, sleek and original. Indulge in our accommodation with all the luxuries you will expect from a four star hotel. You could not ask for a better seafront location then the one Park Central Hotel has to offer. With the Bournemouth International Centre adjacent to the hotel and the Bournemouth Pavilion Theatre only a two minute walk away, we have the perfect location for both business and leisure. Crawl into bed for a sound's night sleep in our comfortable beds with Egyptian cotton bed linen, thick duvets and plush pillows. Wake in the morning, relaxed and refreshed to in-room tea and coffee facilities, power shower and deluxe toiletries. With complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and sleek flat-screen televisions, our rooms offer the perfect blend of innovative design and contemporary boutique luxury hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Park Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing