We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food shame about the service”
Review of Valentino

Valentino
Ranked #15 of 754 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Friendly informal Italian Restaurant
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice food shame about the service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Over priced Italian food in a cramped setting, but the service was sooooo slow- I know it was busy, but seriously, summer holidays, Bournemouth, evening attractions going on in the town- not rocket science- get more staff, then you won't have to wait 2 hours for a main course- if it wasn't for the fact we were part of a big party we would have left ...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    174
    63
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“top notch food - good location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

found this restaurat on trip advisor and what a great find. it was well located close to the pier. even though it was packed with diners, buzzy atmosphere and all food ordered by our family was traditionally italian, delicious, tasty and hot. the staff were helpful. i would definitely go back there if visiting bournemouth again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniSimon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“!!! TO AVOID!!! junk food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Worst pizza I have ever had!!

What is described as a pizza in the menu is actually a big toast topped by 300gr of grated cheese.

No need to be a chef in a 3 stars restaurant to see that the pizza are not prepared in the premises.
They are ready to eat bottom of the range frozzen pizza that you can food in any supermarket.
As read in a previous comment they are probably microwaved.

I would not recommend that restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nipfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe F, Owner at Valentino, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Our pizza dough is made each day on the premises and each pizza is prepared when ordered , they are NOT frozen or microwaved .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Having read reviews claiming its microwave food we were a bit sceptical about going.But best choice ever the calamari was great and the chicken and trout was finger licking good

Helpful?
Thank weasels79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Pizza I have had in ages”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visited Bournemouth for the first time recently and pretty much noticed straight away that the town was dominated by Italian style chain restaurants. We decided to go here as the menu was better than the other non- chain italian places we'd seen. The service was excellent. The waiters were all very friendly and welcoming. The food was great value too. Everything was really fresh and full of flavor. The pizza was really delicious and a million miles better than the usual home delivery versions! We asked to share so they brought extra plates and cut our pizza in half for us without asking... cutting hot pizza at a dining table is always a tricky affair! We also noticed that a lot of the other diners were return visitors from previous trips to the town so that can only be a good thing! Would definitely recommend if you are looking for decent food at a decent price in a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandabeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valentino also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing