We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here back in July but only just got round to reviewing. Its a real gem of a hotel. Rooms really nice, bed really comfortable , toiletries gorgeous and fresh milk and homemade biscuits are great touches. Food was amazing and great value for money. A really wonderful couple of days, going back for New Years!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    218
    58
    20
    12
See reviews for
113
502
13
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed here for 1 night and found the hotel very nice. The staff on check- in were very nice and friendly. The hotel did take £50 from my card for any extras which I wasn't keen on as they told me it wouldnt be back on my card for up to 5 working days after check- out, so make sure you have enough money on your card. I know this can be standard in some hotels.

The room was nice and modern if quite small. It had a lovely shower and no bath which is fine, but they don't provide shower caps! Lucky I had my own with me.

We had one problem with noisy students in the house next door making alot of noise at night which is not the fault of the hotel, but they might need to look into that if it's something that continues. I would ask for a room on the right hand side of the hotel next time. I should have mentioned it to the staff on check out, so they would have been unaware of this.

I liked the fact that they provide a fridge on each landing with fresh milk for your tea and coffee which they provide in each room.

The staff were very friendly and we had a great full english breakfast in the morning and I liked the fact that breakfast is served up until 10.00am and that was a week day morning so probably a bit later on a weekend. I asked if I could have an extra hour after the check out time and they happily agreed.

I would be happy to recommend this hotel on the basis of my stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

recently visited the green house for the weekend with my wife (my 50th!) staff very friendly and helpful, after one visit the barman remembered our room, well impressed with that!
we enjoyed the taster menu, food was realy good apart from the sweet which we thought was a bit of a strange mix(could just be a personal choice thing)
we were on a deal, so our room was not the biggest, but it was very clean and had everything you needed, yes the lighting can be a bit dim, but it's kind on the wrinkles! the bed was fantastic, i have never slept so well, my wife even had to wake me to watch the rugby world cup final!
only negative if i have to be picky is the soundproofing, not a problem if the sound of your neigbour having energetic humpy bump doesn't bother you! but could be slightly offputting.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Greenhouse for a welcome break from work, kids and dogs. Location is great as you can be on the sea front in less than 10 mins walk and a quick decent on the cliff elavator.
On first impressions we were both very impressed with the quality of the hotel, good standard of finish and quality in all aspects of the hotel. The bedrooms were very clean although the layout with the open plan bedrooms took a little getting used to! even after all those years together a little privacy wouldnt have gone a miss.

The staff are welcoming and attentive which was great. The hotel boasts its green credentials at every turn which is commendable, though I have to say they seem to be talking this to the extreme when it comes to the lighting in the room which is terrible, my girlfriend had to open the blinds to be able to see to put in her contact lenses and put her make up on, how you would do this at night is beyond me. The kettle needs a degree to work out how to boil water, which only resulted in a nasty burn to my hand... its a kettle guys, fill with water turn on... end of story. Its all very well being sustainable but you need to sustain the abilty to see... more lights please!!!
The Breakfast was lovely, and even though you get the distinct impression that they are cooking one at a time and portions leave a little to be desired, when they do arrive they are wonderful with the best black pudding I have ever eaten.

Overall I cant say I would rush back to the Greenhouse even though its very good, for me I have stayed in better,or comprable quality for less money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Starkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

For £155 a night, you'd be right in expection the hotel to have a swimming pool? Gym? maybe even a Spa? the Green House has none of these. What it does have is great staff who can't do enough for you, a relaxed easy going atmophere, & the cleanest hotel we've stayed in yet.
Although nearly fully booked, the bar area never had more than a few people in (Saturday eve/night), & the prices were nearly half what we payed at the nearby De Vere a few years back. We never had an evening meal, but the breakfast choice was plentyful, & cooked to order
We booked last minute, for the location (close to our favourite Bournemouth restaurant), so payed more than we wanted too. but for a romantic gettaway, we wasn't disapointed.
I could complain that the kettle didn't work, but when your underlying memory is of your misses derriere climbing into the roll top bath (situated in the bedroom) then a cup of tea wasn't too important ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the larger rooms on the top floor (Holly), glad we payed the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilncrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My boyfriend and a stayed here for the night to celebrate our first anniversary together. From check in to check out our stay was lovely, rooms are gorgeous, staff are very welcoming and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back again, also can I recommend bar 1812 for food and cocktails, very very good!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Booked this hotel on a special offer, the offer was two nights with champagne on arrival four course tasting menu and afternoon cream tea. The offer was a great price for everything on offer glad I found the offer through internet. Location is very central yet very quiet.
We arrived late due to bad traffic and there was a warm welcome from the two men on reception; was handed over to lady receptist who was not as welcoming. She was however slightly later very helpful when showing us to our room which was a great size. We had a large kingsize room on the side of the hotel, beautiful free-standing bath was so comfortable it was a treat to use - well worth the soak,,,,
The bathroom was very tastefully decorated great power shower, the only fault would be the lighting for shaving also if ladies were doing their make-up it needs to be brighter above the sink otherwise perfect.
The bed was so big and very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The furnishing of the room does not have enough space for clothes in the wardrobe and there was no chester drawer which the room needs. We were also dissapointed that there was no sofa to relax on or very comfortable chairs to chill on otherwise we we loved the room.
First night we had a drink in the bar before dinner which was very relaxing. the dinner was very good indeed with great flavours. Service from Ishmail was excellent. Adam Thornton who is manager was great, with wonderful manner and service for the hotel restaurant and bar. Breaksfast was excellent with very good quality and the cream tea which was tea scone and cream was also excellent. Overall we very much recommend this relaxing hotel with excellent restaurant food and service, the rooms were good but not great. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgottenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing