We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, would highly recommend!”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 January 2012

For our first romantic weekend away together my partner and I booked into the green house hotel and wow we were in heaven! The staff were amazing and we received a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful stunning room. The little extras and finishing touches were 2nd to none and I could honestly not fault the room one bit. I am used to staying in high end hotels and this was certainly up there with the best. The bed was so amazingly comfortable and the free standing bath set in the bedroom was pure bliss. The town centre was a stones throw away which was great as it was set in a quite road with no late night noise from revellers!!!!! The one and only disappointment was the cooked breakfast as my partners fried egg was so undercooked that the raw white of the egg had run into his fried bread and bacon which made it in edible! My scrambled eggs were ok but not amazing, However the fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and juices were delicious so that made up for the dodgey egg...... Overall wonderful, beautiful, superb boutique hotel which I would definately recommend and go back too. Thank you to all at the green house who made such an effort and gave me a perfect weekend away!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

A nondescript entrance led to the most unpleasant welcome we have ever experienced in a hotel. The curt and unfriendly receptionist did nothing to give us confidence about our stay. However, our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The complementary slippers never appeared, the dressing gowns were skimpy and raggy. We had a barmeal, the fish pie was luke warm. Breakfast was average and very portion controlled - half a mushroom!! 40p delivery charge for the newspaper which was not complimentary. The rest of the staff in the hotel were pleasant and helpful but we would not stay there again nor recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Year to celebrate my birthday. We stayed in 'Wild Pear' with a roll-top bath which was really nice. Our package included breakfast which as lovely the first morning, but on 31st Dec, was a little disappointing, there was clearly someone different in the kitchen the second morning, but this is the only complaint we have, we also had a four course taster meal included on our second night and this was superb, they also threw in the wine tasting to accompany this as a birthday treat which was a nice touch. The hotel is well located not far from the town and sea front. We would most certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is a great hotel made even more special by a superb Chef and excellent service, a hidden gem in Bournemouth

Room Tip: All are great , specify if you prefer a bath or walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freya56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Simply perfect!

Hotel its self is very nice, clean, fresh, modern. Not too much decoration or old crap.I did like Christmas decoration which was simple and natural. All staff was very friendly and helpful, smily all the time and very professional. Other guests were between 30 - 55 (I would say) years old and that was quite important for us as well. We didn't wanted to have party and noisy hotel or to be with much older people than we are. I would definitely come again.

ROOM:

We should have small double bedroom but have been upgraded for Sweet Chestnut (for the same price as small double) which is big double room in 2nd floor. Very nice, and there was no noise from other guests or member staff. I was pleased that bathroom was separate with toilet (no shower or bath in the room). Bed was big but too soft for me (prefer firm one) but my partner was absolutely happy about it.
Some people were complaining about eco kettle .... although I am not technical person there was NO problem with it and manipulation was very easy. I love the luxury toiletries and did buy some to take with me home. Sparkling and still water in room, every day fresh.

DINING:

We decided to have only 3 course meal 24th December as we haven't been to hungry with glass of wine which was very nice as well. First we received home made bread while we were waiting for our order which was nice.
Portions were small on first look but after all ... we were absolutely full and satisfied as it was delicious and fresh. Chocolate cake on the end ... ohhhhhh I wish to have it right now again.
We spend around 2 hours with our dinning as atmosphere was very nice, warm and friendly.

BREAKFAST:

I was happy about breakfast at all. Portion was ok. An egg, bacon, sausage, half tomato, half mushroom, black pudding (so yummy) and fried bread (I didn't like it). Two toasts - white and brown. You could have cereals, yogurt, fruits, pastry (very good and fresh every day), juice (two types), milk when you have been waiting for your order so I can't understand why somebody say that breakfast was too small? It was absolutely OK although my partner didn't like scramble eggs. Strange texture no salt.

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc76cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Spent pre Xmas weekend at The Green House. On arrival the receptionist was helpful and efficient and showed us to our room.

The room, Silver Birch was a luxury double and lived up to it's billing. The bed was large and comfortable and the linen luxurious. The rest of the room was well appointed with a very good tv. The bathroom was amazing open plan with a free standing rolled top reclaimed bath and a large shower alongside. The toilet was separate. We have stayed in 5* hotels with worse bedrooms.

The bar area was very nice following the green theme and using reclaimed furniture but showing through coverings and finishing that luxury did not have to be sacrificed. We had 2 meals and a number of drinks in the bar and the staff were attentive and the area very comfortable. The food was good.

We had the 4 course taster menu one night which was light but flavoursome and i would do this again.

The only disappointing facet was the breakfast. It's the only hotel we have stayed at where porridge is not counted as a cereal and my wife was unable to have porridge and a cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast itself was adequate but nothing special. The speed it came out of the kitchen suggest it was not freshly cooked. The toast was poor being shop sliced when the hotel prides itself on ingredients and you are only provided with 2 slices and have to ask if you want more.

Would definitely stay again but perhaps not with the breakfast option.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Having spent the New year period of 2011 at this excellent hotel, I have been giving serious consideration to returning again for 2012 and must say there is little or nothing to persuade me to do otherwise. The staff are friendly and attentive, the rooms are very comfortable, almost luxurious and for me the highlight of my stay was the menu in the restaurant. A multi course taster menu, where every course was of a very high standard, I include the wine in this also.
If you are considering somewhere for Christmas or New Year then I would recommend whole heartedly and would have to assume that the Green House is of a similar standard the rest of the year too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevMac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oosullivan, General Manager at The Green House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments especially with such a nice recommendation. We do hope you will try us again and I would like to think that we offer the same service all year! We have some availability left for Christmas so if you are tempted please give us a call on 01202 498900 or email me directly on oosullivan@thegreenhousehotel.com

Thanks again! Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £76 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best rates, book direct! The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the 2AA rosette and Michelin Plate, Arbor restaurant. Our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference. Winning the Environment award from the Food Made Good awards 2 years running says it all. Don't miss out on our homebaked afternoon tea or experiencing Arbor for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing