We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roll Top Bath!”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a suite with a roll top bath and a walk in shower. It was amazing. Cannot fault the room at all. The bed was perfect too with egyptian cotton sheets. My Husband and I were going out for the evening in Bournemouth however we wished we'd stayed in our room to enjoy it for longer!
The reception area was a bit sparse with no atmosphere. There were only four couples at breakfast yet the service was below par. The quality of the food did make up for the service though. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a suite with a roll top bath. It's worth paying a bit extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milla_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Booked The Green House for one night for a family visit to Bournemouth - having tried to book several other local hotels first but they all had a minimum two night stay in the summer - aargh, why is it so difficult to stay anywhere for one night? I was pleased to have come across this hotel and was looking forward to our visit. I was also pleased to have found accommodation for our family of 5 (3 children) - again always difficult to accommodate. We had a master double with double bed, sofa bed and z bed - perfect for our needs. We had a warm welcome and the room was lovely. Being an eco friendly hotel there are none of the hotel room extras - such as the take home toiletries and sewing kits etc and the towels were a little ragged round the edges. The room was spotless and our double bed was sooooooo comfy. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were all very helpful. Having read a number of other reviews I note that a few stays were spoilt by poor sound proofing in the rooms - as was ours by the couple next door spending all night having a row. So annoying - apart from them, loved the visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I must start with price. Its important because it categorises the standards you expect. The Green house is a lovely, comfortable hotel in a great location, 5 mins from the cliffs and beach. Its pricey, at £420 for 2 nights in a luxury superior double. The standard of the room and bathroom was as you would expect at this price. Very comfortable, huge bathroom. Didnt exceed expectations, but met them. You must also factor in the excellent breakfasts which are part of the price. There is a buffet, but they will cook you anything from a cooked menu, in any combination- and its to a very high standard. You would easily pay £20 for this elsewhere so should be taken into consideration when judging the room rates.

The hotels eco credentials are admirable and on the whole dont detract from your stay. As much complementary filtered water as you want is welcomed, but the rediculous eco kettles that only boil to little over room temperature need a re think. Whats more there is no air conditioning- a problem on the incredibly hot weekend we were lucky enough to enjoy.

The main problem with our stay was a very loud and boisterous wedding party we had to share the hotel with.
There is a lovely garden where you can enjoy drinks and food in. We couldnt becuase the oarty had spread themselves all over the grass, taking all the tables but not even sitting at them.
Theres also a small but nice bar . We couldn't even get a drink pre dinner because despite the wedding party being in the basement, most of the very loud and very drunk party had decamped upstairs. The bad language as we came down the stairs into reception told me not to even bother trying.

Finally the party had a live band. A very loud band.Despite it being in the basement of the hotel and our room being on the second floor the noise levels were rediculous and the room was shaking. The heat meant the fire doors were frequently opened making the noise even worse. At 11.45 pm the music was still going strong and i had to ring reception and wait a further 10 mins for quiet.
I appreciate weddings are lucrative, but the hotel is small and really not large enough for guests to share with a party.
If at time of booking id have been informed, i probably wouldn't have stayed.

The heat probably accentuated the problems, but i dont see why i shouldnt be able to enjoy my stay as much because of a wedding.
Like i said at the beginning of the review- the price is important. This isnt an ibis or a travelodge- you are paying a high price and expect a perfect stay..

Id recommend the hotel, but they really should be warning guests of weddings prior to arrival so its there choice whether to risk it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrisb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you are holding any sort of function, get "Sarah" to organise it - very professional.
Excellent food, well laid function room out, marvellous band (for musical wallpaper during the meal: "Jacob Sanction").
Guests from Spain, Holland, Belgium, Ireland and Germany stayed over. ALL agreed rooms were very comfortable.
Staff very accommodating; always seemed to be "there" without being intrusive.
Good selection of beers and wines, mostly locally sourced.
Location very good: within 10mins walk of Bournemouth town centre, pier and beach. Just off major bus routes and taxis very easy to get. 5 minute ride from Bournemouth station.
Previous reviewer had said it was noisy - I suppose it could be but the function room, with it's own bar, is down half-a-floor (not really the basement as there are windows and doors up to the grounds). Reception, restaurant and public bar on the ground floor (which is actually up half-a-floor from the grounds), then the bedrooms start above that. Basically any function noise is two floors away wherever you are and if you are not part of the noise-generating group, the hotel puts you higher up and on the other side of the building. If you prefer silence except for the sound of sparrows coughing, I guess no hotel in Bournemouth is going to measure up!
Car parking's a bit limited but it's not a big hotel. Difficulty arises if there's a function on; suggest you get them to reserve you a space before you arrive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA30075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked 2 nights here last minute to celebrate our anniversary and came back feeling really treated. It is a lovely hotel, great location and is beautifully decorated. The beds were so comfortable we didnt want to get up in the morning. The restaurant is ace with an inspired menu - and the locally sourced produce makes it even more enjoyable. And the staff we're friendly offering top service.
We would recommend and come back, its a lovely weekend getaway, not too far from london and a stones throw from the beach. If you get the chance get the steam train to Swanage for the day - really quaint little trip for some lovely walks along the coast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia_A_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just noticed I stayed here inthe same weekend as a previous reviewer, what can I add! The hotel itself and it's position are great. When we walked in there was nobody behind reception, three different members of staff glanced at us from the resteraunt and bar but nobody came to see to us until I asked, not what I'm used to at all. The other huge problem was the noise levels, totally unacceptable. The wedding party that was in the hotel contained a lot of children who have to be the most noisy bunch I'd ever heard, they ran up and down the stairs and along the corridors shouting until about midnight, our 9 year old son was with us and wanted to get to sleep but it was impossible. If the parents were so insensible to the effect the noise was having on the other guests surely the hotel staff could have asked them to at least stop running around past the bedrooms all night. If they had taken the whole hotel that would have been fine but other guest had been booked in! Then in the morning, people with the loudest voices I've ever heard kept convening outside our room for a good chinwag!! Lovely place but never again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pengriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is the hotel where my husand asked me to marry him! We stay every year on the anniversary of his proposal. Its such a lovely place to stay. I can not fault the hotel and the rooms are all beautifully decorated. We dont eat here though, we tried one year and it wasnt our cup of tea so opt to eat out but of course this depends on your taste, there is plenty locally - the reception staff helped us find a lovely indian restaurant not too far from the hotel.
Abit of a pricey hotel but for a special event or occasion i would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £69 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best rates, book direct! The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the 2AA rosette and Michelin Plate, Arbor restaurant. Our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference. Winning the Environment award from the Food Made Good awards 2 years running says it all. Don't miss out on our homebaked afternoon tea or experiencing Arbor for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing