We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, service and ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent value, service and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We noticed a few negative aspects in reviews for this hotel but the positives persuaded us to book up. And were not not disappointed at all. Noisy rooms was one of the things mentioned but we found this no better or worse than other hotels. Sadly, slamming doors is down to the occupants not the hotel! The service from front desk to restaurant was exceptional and very friendly. The staff seemed extremely well trained and helpful. The room was very comfortable and airy. The food in the restaurant was also of an extremely high standard and very well priced, with an eclectic mix of wines. We are already planning our next trip and hopefully you won't read this review so it won't be full up!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    217
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
112
493
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bubbenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have just spend two very pleasant nights at The Green House. It is a very stylish, very "green" and boutique with beautiful attention to detail and traceability. Location is fine and our breakfast was of a very high standard. All of the fitments and decor are of top quality, particularly when one considers that this is Bournemouth, not Belgravia.
If I had any critisism I believe that the pricing may be a little over ambitious for the area and because of seasonality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingsto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My Husband booked the "lazy sunday break" as a birthday treat, and what a treat it was! We arrived to a warm welcome at reception , where we were shown the restaurant with its lovely chic decor and the bar , lounge room which was equally decorated to a high standard. Drinks were served by the friendly professional bar attendant.
We were then shown to our room called , Cedar room ( A Master Double) which was everything it had been advertised as. Very impressive and spotless! Fab bathroom.
Our evening six course Taser Menu was superb as was the service we received. In the morning following a good night sleep (comfy bed!) breakfast was served again to the highest standards one of the best we have had!
We hope to return in the not to distant future. Thank you to all the staff at The Green House Hotel for a Wonderful "Lazy sunday Break"

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We picked this hotel, due to being a bit more unique, and it's proximity to the town centre - within 5 minutes walk, so we could easily stroll back after an evening out in Bournemouth.

On arrival, we were taken to our room (a complementary upgrade) where all the room's facilities could be pointed out. The room was clean and fresh, tastefully decorated and together with the fixtures and supplied bathroom products, the experience felt very luxurious. There were nice thoughtful touches like handmade shortbread, complimentary house water, fresh milk and a plentiful supply of tea and coffee (no stingey sachets!)

Every member of staff we talked to was friendly and helpful, especially reception and the proffesional french staff serving the excellent breakfast. The breakfast was cooked to order, with cereals, juice and pastries on a buffet. I had the best black pudding, and every other element was locally sourced for a unique taste, excellently presented.

We initially had trouble parking, due to no noticeable reserved guest parking and a wedding reception in progress at the venue, but it didn't spoil anything, and once the wedding was over we moved our car back off the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

went for the weekend with friends, very friendly excellent hotel, rooms are fab, all different, ultra modern contemporary, extremely clean, the shower in our room was a wet room, eating fab, service great, location is ideal, staff could not do enough for you, bit on the expensive side but you get what you pay for and this is one hotel I would pay to go to again..if in Bournemouth, parked the car in their carpark, no probs... would highly recommend - even cater for the disabled and wheelchair bound.

Room Tip: all rooms different, but fab..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

A truly delightful experience from both accommodation to service that was second to none.
We arrived on the Friday evening and our rooms were shown to us. All spotless and well appointed.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff an absolute joy.
We were recommended an Italian restaurant on the Saturday evening as there was a wedding reception. Although we did manage a cream tea during a busy period for them with the wedding.
Again service first class.
Sunday morning breakfast was busy but all staff were keen to uphold the standard and nothing was a trouble for them.
Stay here if you want a very good quality hotel with excellent service and attention to detail.
We will return here for sure.

Room Tip: All good depending on size required, the larger the more finesse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very agreeable lunch. Slightly restrictive menu so perhaps check it out before booking but very good quality. Service very good. Wine and other drinks in bar served with smile. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood-Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing