We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and great decor.”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ayr, scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great decor.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a short break on the south coast. We ended our holiday with a 2 night stay at The Green House in Bournemouth and I would encourage others to go there.
The dinners were excellent and beautifully presented. (We had the 6 course tasting menu on the first evening and this was particularly good). The decor throughout the hotel is high quality and relaxing. I don't believe we received a bedroom upgrade but the room and en suite were 5 star standard.
Service throughout was friendly and professional with particular mention for Chantelle on reception, our excellent and hardworking bar manager from Slovenia (sorry I didn't get his name!) and the attentive Food and Beverage Manager.
There were very few negatives but maybe the lighting in the en suite could be a little brighter and the duvet weight was a bit on the heavy side for summer. However I would strongly recommend you book in for a few nights and enjoy great food and surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    223
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
113
508
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here late May 2012 for 2 nights and had the best time. Not only were we upgraded to the best room, the hotel staff could not do enough for us. They were very attentive and genuine. It was a very relaxing break with afternoon tea in the garden during the day and a six course taster menu to die for with champagne in the evening. My only regret is I didn't take advantage of the luxury bath in our room...

Room Tip: Get there early and see if they have a top floor room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weddingsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed here recently joining my mother and my sister who had booked earlier benefiting from an Internet deal. There were no problems adding my reservation and a camp bed was added to their room.

Upon arrival we were greeted and booked in very quickly and were asked straight away when we would like our complementary cream tea (part of the deal). It arrived as we sat out on the lawn in front of the hotel. Delicious warm scones with jam and clotted cream.

The staff showed us to our room, pointing out the toilets, lift and milk fridge on the way.
We had complimentary water, tea and coffee and biscuits in the room.

Our room was lovely and luxurious and even with the camp bed, it was big enough for us to move around without any problems.

Our two night stay here was made even more pleasurable by the food, which although quite rich and sometimes including some rather bizarre flavour mixing, was delicious and plentiful.
The only slightly negative I have is about the cooked breakfast which I found a bit under par for such an establishment.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area and the staff make you feel special and the beds are really comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the English Walnut room which had two lovely beds and a rool top bath in the room. a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amclon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We're just home from a lovely family weekend at The Green House. Slightly nervous as arrived with our two small children aged 4 and 19 months (very noisy little boy at the moment!) and we were greeted with a very warm reception and assured that nothing would be a problem. The room was beautiful with a roll top bath in the bedroom which the children particularly enjoyed as they could watch cbeebies from the bath! Everything immaculately clean and fresh. Lovely attention to detail and freshly made biscuits in the room went down very well. The beach was an easy 5 minute walk around the corner yet the hotel is in a relatively quiet road away from the main town noise. We were booked into the restaurant which we found outstanding. (Great for parents of younger children as our baby monitor was easily in range so we had a nice romantic meal while the children slept upstairs). Again the service was lovely, the food was DELICIOUS and easily worth a Michelin star in our opinion - extremely tasty and beautfully presented. The lounge bar was a nice mix of chic and friendly. The breakfast in the morning which was also included in our £250 was delicious. I recommend the porridge with honey!! The staff made a fuss of the children and spoilt them with special hot chocolates, and didn't show they minded even when our son was getting noisy again. The reception staff helped us later with directions and said to call if we were lost. This kind of service for tired parents of two little ones is just invaluable. We would not hesitate to rebook. This is a beautiful boutique hotel - a little gem and perfect for a weekend treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had a really lovely stay at The Green House. The staff are really friendly and professional. The breakfast is amazing. The rooms are very clean and stylish.
We were given a complementary upgrade to a double from a small double. I have to say the only negative is that the double was a little pokey so I can't imagine what the small double is like. Having said that the room was fine for us and I was impressed when I read how each individual thing in the room is green. It explains everything and I found this very interesting.

The bar and dining room look lovely. We spent some time relaxing in the bar and the room was very ambient. The lighting and the soft music was perfect. I'm hard to please when it comes to hotels but this hotel ticks all the right boxes.

Location was great, a short walk to the beach and centre.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We noticed a few negative aspects in reviews for this hotel but the positives persuaded us to book up. And were not not disappointed at all. Noisy rooms was one of the things mentioned but we found this no better or worse than other hotels. Sadly, slamming doors is down to the occupants not the hotel! The service from front desk to restaurant was exceptional and very friendly. The staff seemed extremely well trained and helpful. The room was very comfortable and airy. The food in the restaurant was also of an extremely high standard and very well priced, with an eclectic mix of wines. We are already planning our next trip and hopefully you won't read this review so it won't be full up!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bubbenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have just spend two very pleasant nights at The Green House. It is a very stylish, very "green" and boutique with beautiful attention to detail and traceability. Location is fine and our breakfast was of a very high standard. All of the fitments and decor are of top quality, particularly when one considers that this is Bournemouth, not Belgravia.
If I had any critisism I believe that the pricing may be a little over ambitious for the area and because of seasonality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing