We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I stayed from 17/7/13 to 22/7/13, the staff were wonderful, they could not do enough for you. The room was exceptional with a very comfortable king size bed with a fantastic shower. The breakfast was exceptional with lots of choice. We had dinner there one evening which was also very good. If you wanted to sit out in the garden at the front the staff were there to bring a table and chairs out and to bring you drinks. We were very impressed with how we were treated. On the day we left they had delivery of beautiful garden furniture which we had the pleasure of sitting on before we left. I have seen some negative reviews about this hotel and I cannot understand how anyone would fail to love this hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    223
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
113
508
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Found this hotel on Mr & Mrs Smith website and after reading the reviews decided to stay here for a couple of nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Very good 'Lazy Sunday' deal which included b&b, 2 glasses of champagne and a 3 course dinner.
We stayed in their master double, which was fab! Liked the fact we got complimentary water in the room throughout our stay. Dinner was very good due to quality of ingredients. Breakfast was ok... again, quality of ingredients very good but unless you're having the full english, some of the other cooked options are just ok.
Being a 'green' hotel there's no air con so very hot during the night in summer time. Had to sleep with windows open so come early morning it was very noisy.
In summary, lovely boutique hotel, good food, good staff & service and close to the beach. Only complaint will be that we found it very noisy, especially in the early mornings, around 6ish with cleaners (or guests?!) making a lot of noise (guessing sound insulation not very good). We usually prefer boutique hotels as we found them more relaxing but unfortunately we left here tired... this is the only reason why we wouldn't come back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were not residents but had heard the hotel had recently relaunched its restarant and so thought we would try it. We had no trouble booking and were warmly welcomed. The waiters are all very young and a bit inexperienced (if they had asked us if we wanted pre starter bread ot oilves we would have said yes!) but service was attentive and fast. What really made the experience special however was the quality of the food - although my initial starter choice was sadly not available (waitress very apologetic) the starters were delicious, the main courses surprisingly robust (that was one amazing steak!) and the sweets quite honestly some of the most delicious we have ever had (Peanut butter souffle amazing!) Again we could have been asked if we wanted side orders or coffee afterwards, a wasted opportunity for the staff, but we came away feeling looked after and happy. The bill was less than we had been expecting too. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosetree304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had stayed in Bournemouth a couple of years ago and thought it time to go back as the forecast was good and they were not wrong. The hotel is in a leafy residential road 300 yards from the sea just 10mins walk from the hustle and bustle of the centre. We were very warmly greeted on our arrival and taken up to our room , which in itself is rare from my experience ( nice touch ) the room like all mr & mrs smith hotels was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was so nice I had 5 showers in 2 days ( really ). The grounds ie the front garden had tables and chairs so breakfast could be served alfresco which we did . The breakfast menu gave you several hot or cold options all of them very tasty. We only booked for 1 night originally but had such a great time on the Friday that we stayed Saturday as well. Can't wait to go back maybe at Xmas. We were made to feel special. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Try to get room at the front facing garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very relax and organic but the hotel doesn't have air conditioner or fan , the weather was extremely hot , no refrigerator as well. If you want to come and relax , you should come, it't very fresh , peace and relax.But the facilities for the hotel are not enough ,no gym or swimming pool. Very near the beach .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huong P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked a large double room for a short family break, based on good reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and all the staff we encountered were very helpful, polite and nothing was too much trouble. We have a 3 year old and they had set up a little bed for him. There was a fridge on the landing outside our room where you could top up a flask they gave you for milk. Bottles of water were available whenever you needed them and home baked biscuits! We had no problem parking at the front of the hotel. The only downside was the slow wi-fi connection and because it is a 'green' hotel, obviously no air conditioning so very hot in the room during the rare UK heatwave. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Arrived Sunday morning early enough to have breakfast which they were more than happy to arrange. Sat on the lawn until the remainder of our party arrived and had lunch on the lawn. Very peaceful and quite relaxing especially as the sun was shining. We are 3 aging couples one of which upgraded to a 6' bedded room which along with the roll top bath in the bedroom corner was quite delightful. The room had seperate shower and usual facilities was very comfortable and I would highly recommend the "copper beech" as it was nice and cool in this heat wave we're having. The other couples were at the top of the building and did find it hot as there isn't any air-con.
Sunday evening they set up tables for diner on the lawn and we had a great evening as talking was more important than eating which was just as well as the meals were delayed due to chef shortage in the kitchen. When the food was served it was definitely worth the wait and the waiting staff Aga and Michael did their very best to keep us informed. The staff generally were very friendly and more than helpful.
Monday and Tuesday mornings as we were sitting outside waiting for our party to arrive, we were offered breakfast outside. Breakfast was more than adequate with a reasonable selection of both cold and hot food cooked to order.
We had a lovely couple of days of relaxation in a newly refurbished hotel which was helped immensely by the staff and all those involved.

Room Tip: Copper beech highly recommended as protected from the direct sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOUGAL_London_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing